Gastonia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My whole family, even my picky 5 year old, ate this up!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Herb Wine Sauce

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
THIS TURNED OUT TO BE A REALLY GOOD RECIPE. I didn't have any white wine in the house, so I had so improvise. I used homemade chicken stock, fresh sauted mushrooms, and deglazed the pan after cooking the chicken. The whole whole family loved dinner tonight. I even caught my hubby licking the spoon as he cleaned up the dishes from the stove! We will definately be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Awesome Cornbread!! I am so glad I have finally found a recipe from scratch that rivals any mix I've ever tried. This is the best cornbread I've ever eaten. I made it last night and it was a super hit. I will put this recipe in my "KEEPER" file. I must confess I didn't have any heavy cream so I followed the suggestion of another member who used milk and butter mixture. It worked out fine. I can't wait to try it with the heavy cream. Thanks again for sharing this with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Champion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I love this recipe. It has the right balance of flavors that makes it a hit. I make it on Christmas Eve and serve it Christmas morning and my entire family went wild over it. I did change it just a bit. I omited the onion powder and used 1 teaspoon of dijon mustard instead. If you like onion with your eggs I would definitely use it as well. The taste of the dijon mustard with the eggs and milk (custard) really adds an extra zest. Thanks for a wonderful breakfast casserole that always leaves an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Champion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Sea Scallops

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
YUM! I used bay scallops & got a great result. Next time I will only use the eggs as they are needed as I had a whole omlete left over... but otherwise really terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Sweet Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Not that great, was bland & nobody in my family liked it...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Carrots

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Excellent! A great alternative to the sweeter recipes I have used in the past. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Cabbage Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Excellent. I made this in the slow cooker. Browned ground beef & onions. Then used 4 beef bullion cubes with 4 cups of water & added everything else & cooked on low for 6 hours. Topped with a dollop of sour cream, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very good, everybody enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather May Hinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Oh my gosh this is so good! I thought the combination of chilies and gravy mix would be odd. Oh but to the contrary!! Everyone in my house gives this one a big 5 stars. It was exactly what I was looking for, tastes just like (maybe better) than the corn chowder from the sandwich shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
kind of bland... be sure to make double or triple the sauce if you want gravy, will probable make again with some spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I have made this cake several times and everytime it's a hit. It's very moist and yummy. I do substitute a few ingredients. I use 1 tsp. of allspice and 1 tsp. cinnomon. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. I add raisins because to me carrot cake isn't carrot cake without them. As for lining the pan with paper towels...I didn't. I just prepared my pan with oil & flour and baked as directed. I baked it a bit slower than the directions assuring even cooking. I make this a two layer cake and doubled the frosting recipe to have enough to cover both layers. I sprinkled chopped pecans over for garnish. It taste great and makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Champion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Date-Marshmallow Waldorf Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
very tasty... i didn't peel the apples,used raisins instead of dates, that's what i had and i really like raisins. i also threw in extra of some of the ingredients just because i like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Patties I

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good recipe, basic but very easy, good, simple. My kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Smothered Green Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good recipe, I'm not a huge green bean fan but I really liked these. I even got my children to eat some. Its a keeper. The only slight change I made I added fresh mushrooms with the onions, just because I had them and had to do something with them. They didn't change the taste of the beans, I don't believe and they tasted really good. I can't think of anything that wouldn't be good saute in bacon fat, onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Very nice recipe, easy, creamy, rich. I like the fact that it is no bake, the bananas didn't turn that yucky grey color they sometimes do when heated. This is a keeper, I'm taking it to my family reunion this weekend, I am sure it will be a hit. I do think next time I'll use neufatel cheese instead of cream cheese. I think it might cut down on the richness a bit. It set up beautifully, great presentation! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Oh My Goodess! This roast was soooo yummy! I let it cook all day in the slow cooker while I was at work and it was still tender and delicious. I poured the juice through a strainer to get out all the particles, then added cornstarch and water to make a gravy. My family loved it! Thanks for a great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Wow! This recipe was fantastic. We eat Tilapia a lot, and it is good to have a different way to eat it. My husband loved it, and even my kids enjoyed it. I took the advice from some of the other reviews and added the Old Bay. Thank you for this quick and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My family really enjoyed this meal. The cheese helped keep the porkchops moist. They were delicious on the grill. It was so easy to make. I will try this again when we have guests over for a cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
So so good, I added more brown sugar than called for and mine were a tiny bit sweet,for me. But I sill loved them and so did my whole family. I can't wait to make them again. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States