Gastonia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Ginger

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is good simple recipe for Peanut Butter cookies..soft, rich and moist. It's a keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Photo by Ginger

Baking Powder Biscuits I

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
They tasted great ! In my own recipe, I use self-rising flour and omit the baking powder and salt..a lot easier..I also sour my milk with a tablespoon of vinegar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

Best Friend Doggie Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Wow my dog,Brownie absolutly loved them! He would not eat the dough but after I baked them he loved them! He couldn't wait for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe was very very good!! We cut it down to 2 servings for my husband and myself. Followed everything exactly. I've made it twice now and was licking the plate! Thanks Chef John :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjayrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is a good recipe, the one thing I found was to buy the biggest sweet potato, big as a softball. Boil until potato is soft, very soft, all the way through, cut off not just the skin but almost the first quarter inch deep, which may be brownish, by doing so you eliminate most all of the stringy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Roasted pork butt would be better flavor and less expensive cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pollo (Chicken) Fricassee from Puerto Rico

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
First, Fact; half the human population taste's cilantro as the taste of soap! If you've never delved into the world of cilantro, i suggest you snip and eat a leaf off a bunch at the grocery first. Cilantro comes from the Coriander plant. You can try Parsley or Italian Parsley as a substitute. I'm one of those in between as I taste some of the soapy taste but I tolerate it well. Anyway, I made it and I believe it to be a good recipe. Very healthy too. But I don't see why some rate it as difficult to prepare! All the veggys are rough cut and made in two batches in the blender or processor. I used Paul Masson White Zinfidel wine. Let me suggest substituting yucca for the potatoes! I will use the yucca next time I make it. My wife is New-Rican (I'm Scot/Irish) and says her mother (born /raised in Puerto Rico) added tomato paste and she wants it served with white rice. In summary, Bravo, great contribution to our community!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
mmm!!! I tried 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was still really sweet so I tried it again and added 1 cup and it was great!!! I also used skim milk instead of half & half and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Tomato Basil Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is light and delicious. I made a few changes. I sauteed the garlic and onions in the olive oil. I then added 1 pint of grape tomatoes, added salt and pepper, and let them cook until they started to burst. This really adds a punch and thickens the sauce a little. I rolled the basil leaves up together and julienned them instead of leaving them whole and added this to the tomato mixture. I let this sit until I cooked the pasta. I drained the pasta and ran cold water over it to get it to room temperature. Put the pasta in a bowl and added the Parmesan Cheese. I buy marinated feta cheese from a local stand. Mix the parmesan and feta with the pasta and then add the tomato mixture. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rory's Most Wonderful Corn Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Oh man, this is good. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I'M FROM THE SOUTH. MY GRAND-MOTHER SHOW ME HOW TO MAKE.GRAVY. ITS THE SAME AS YOUR BUT INSTEAD OF OIL. WHEN I FRIED OUT BACON OR SAUSAGE. I USED THE GREASE FROM THEM. TO MAKE MY GRAVY. ALSO IF YOU MAKE HOME MADE BISCULT USED FRESH BUTTER MILK. ANY WAY IT GOES BISCULTS& GRAVY IS GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genellep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls II

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delish! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Bean and Mushroom Medley

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I haven't made it yet but can tell it will be good. I will steam green beans and carrots. I agree with others about olive instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudgy Brownies I

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy no brainer recipe, whipped it up in no time and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
my grand-daughter love's these marshmallow treats she enjoys helping me make them.my whole family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genellep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Made this for a party and it was a hit! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornmeal-Coated Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
A Deacon at my church only fries his chicken in cornmeal. So I wanted to try! This was a GREAT surprise! I made it once before tonight and my husband AND kids LOVED them. I ended up turning half the wings into hot wings. I mixed 1 cup Franks Hot, 1/2 c butter, and a few "shakes" of A1 Sweet Hickory Steak sauce for a 'different' flavor. Put them in the oven on broil for me and the hubby. He's been asking for them since. I'd thought I had lost the recipe and was lucky enough to have saved it in my Recipe Box!!!! Hubby's gonna be surprosed tonight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinkyqt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Red BBQ Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Growing up in Shelby NC, BBQ was a way traditional Christmas dinner. My grandma always made BBQ with all the fixing's. To me, its just not BBQ with out the red slaw. It does seem like an odd combination of flavors but we LOVE it!! It is better if allowed to sit awhile, flavors meld together for a better taste. I have used, store bought, barbecue sauce instead of ketchup, seems to give it kind of a smoke flavor depending on the variety of sauce used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Maria's Pepper Steak

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My boys loved this! My 9-year-old son said it was the best thing he's ever had. I did use round steaks because that is what I usually use for pepper steak and marinated the beef for about an hour, stir-fried the veggies separately, then drained and stir-fried the beef in two batches, simmered in the sauce for about 30 minutes, thickened the sauce with cornstarch/water and added the veggies back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Saute

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I found your recipe while looking for a new & different way to prepare cabbage. I must say this was delicious! I will make this again and that says alot. I try a lot of new recipes but not too many are keepers. This one is! My husband liked it too. Did I mention he's picky about new recipes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Champion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States