Gastonia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chakchouka (Shakshouka)

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love shakshouka (??????) and this is the recipe that I use. In Israel, this is usually served in the pan and some restaurants cook it right at your table. A great thing about shakshouka is that you can make it "your own" with personal additions of vegetables that you like to the sauce. Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Raisin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious pie. I've already made three of these pies for friends who requested them after trying it. It's certainly a hit with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Nom nom nom. I love this cake. I didn't make any changes to Cindy's recipe. It's great even without frosting and with frosting, it's excellent. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hasty Chocolate Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is so easy and so delicious! I couldn't believe microwave pudding could taste so good. Microwave it in a deep bowl 'cause it bubbles up a bit when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Dot's Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was a really good recipe. I thought it could have used a little more spices than it had. I may try to tweek it a little next time I make it. My boyfriend totally fell in love with it. He said is was one of the best meals I've ever made him. He's happy with it, but as a cook I can taste when something needs to be added or not added. All in all it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Wow! I tried this recipe about a month ago and it turned out so amazing! My boyfriend went on and on about this dish. He didn't stop. He said it was one of his favorites. I changed it up a little bit. I used extra Marsala and Sherry wine and added cornstarch and water to make the sauce thick so I could pour it over angel hair pasta. I also used a whole container of mushrooms around 2 1/2 cups maybe. It turned out amazing! We both loved it! I also simmered the sauce and the chicken and mushrooms for about 25 minutes. It made the chicken melt in your mouth plus it absorbs some of the strong wine taste to which leaves you with a rich, tangy sauce. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking)

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Great! I was more than a bit skeptical about the ease of this method but it is absolutely spot on. Great taste, cooked to perfection, and no silk. After I mentioned this to a friend, she told me that she has microwaved corn this way for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I have used this recipesfor a long time and its better in the crock pot. It's more tender. Just pour your ingredients in and let them cook for 4 to 6 hours or 8 hours and I always cook rice with this dish. Its amazing! It works well with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was so good! The meat was so tender and the cream cheese made it taste so much better than sour cream. My boyfriend loved it too! This is going down as one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe was so good! I added garlic powder and dale's seasoning sauce to it and it was amazing! It gave off. Great flavor and the ripping sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I like this recipe because it's basic and delicious. I had never even heard of broccoli rabe (rapini)until my best friend served it to me at dinner a few years ago using this same recipe. I became a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this recipes a few days ago and I tweaked it a little bit. I used Cajun seasoning instead of Cayenne Pepper. I didn't use the lime juice either. I took some minced garlic and rubbed it on both sides of the chicken. It tasted amazing! It had a spicy taste and a tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Fast, easy, and deee-licious. I love making different kinds of quiche and I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaica Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Yummy yummy yummy. I used half white and half brown sugar. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil. I'll be whipping this up again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Custard

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is easy to make and tastes great. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread Biscotti

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Easy and very good. I cut the cornbread slices into squares. Great with soup or with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Really good. I added some bacon bits...hey, I'm a guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did try this recipe but unfortunately I don't like spinach so I used Broccoli I cooked the broccoli's and the potato's together after coming to a boil after 10 minutes I took the broccoli out and I set them on a paper towel to drain then I cooked the rest of the potato's until done, I mashed the potato and broccoli's, half stick of cream cheese, butter add some salt and pepper to your taste and also added very small pieces of red pepper uncooked for extra color one all mixed put this all together in a pan set the oven at 350' add some chedeer cheese over the top slide the pan into the oven for 25 minutes and serve and enjoy. My name is Cosmo and I love to cook Buon Apetito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I made a batch this morning. With the addition of 1/2 tsp. vanilla flavoring as others suggested. I love this recipe. The pancakes had a good flavor and were light and fluffy as described! Next time I'll add fresh blueberries. Excellent recipe. Additional: I did taste a little bit of salty taste, nothing horrible but next time I will try 3/4 tsp instead of the 1 tsp in the original. You have to have salt to get the baking powder to rise so don't delete it or take it too low! This will be my Go To pancake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Perfect fluffy pancakes, good flavor. I made them with the addition of 1/2 tsp. vanilla flavor and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelThePracticalBBQr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States