Charlotte - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by KPatt05

Spinach Bacon Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this recipe for brunch today. I added red & green peppers, green onions, spinach, turkey sausage and bacon with fresh garlic. #Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPatt05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Fish Sticks with Malt Vinegar Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I Enjoyed putting this together ! It seems to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Brined Pork Loin

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The meat eaters in our family loved it, and even the two other picky eaters ate some of it. That's a winner in my book! I followed the recipe exactly, except was out of garlic so used garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good, but no cayenne for us (kids and hubby wouldn't be able to hang with that). Decent flavor but fairly tame (no tanginess or zing). The smokiness of the turmeric, coriander, and cumin is well balanced with the salt, onions, garlic and cilantro. I didn't really notice the mustard at all. I added my own spice to my plate and I really liked it. The kids didn't really love it but hubby agreed that he would eat it again if served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Not sure why but we just didn't care for this much. I mean it was edible, but not very good. We have had more success with 2 avocados and the packet of seasoning from the store. :( Perhaps I did something wrong, but I don't think so. We probably will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent! Used several times now on the Sugar Cookie Cutouts recipe on this site by GLJCAT and the two compliment one another beautifully, producing an attractive and tasty cookie that is not too sweet. Is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very tasty! I did make alterations: used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to batter, and made 1 1/2 x the topping recipe to have enough to go around. I also threw in 1/2 c chocolate chips (because we are chocoholics in my house) Made 20 standard size muffins, baked at 360 for 17 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean and Squash Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was ok. I just don't think me or my family like squash enough to ever make this again. By itself, the soup itself was mediocre and somewhat bland. The condiments are necessary make this dish good. The lime is essential, but the cheese and sour cream round out the flavors quite well. I added some pickled jalapeños to my bowl which played well with the lime and Chipotle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great, I trimmed the ends and cut the brussels sprouts in half, carmelized the onions with the garlic first and added kosher salt instead of regular salt. Plus, topped with crushed butter and garlic croutons at the end. I like my vegetables crisp / tender- if you don't, simply cover for five minutes at the end. Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have made this bread twice now and both times it was absolutely delicious. So easy that anyone could make this. I did let my dough rise longer the second time I made this (only because that is what suited my schedule!) and did not notice much difference from the first time, so this is not a terribly fussy recipe, very forgiving for bread Try it, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are awesome brownies! I did make a few changes: I used half white sugar and half brown, added 1/2 tsp baking soda, coated the chocolate chips with flour before adding and sprinkled coarse kosher salt over the top. Served these warm with whipped cream and it was heavenly!! Will definitely be making these again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is my first time to cook lamb chops and I am so happy! Five bright stars for ease, presentation and deliciousness. Didn't have shallots so I used some minced onion. I was out of the"good" balsamic and the Target brand did taste a bit too vinegary, so I added a bit more butter and just a quarter teaspoon or so of honey. Still didn't like the sauce by itself but it was great on the chops. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bowties with Italian Sausage in a Cream Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I really enjoy this dish. I absolutely hate tomatoes but in this dish I use stewed tomatoes or diced tomatoes. I sometimes cut them up more so the pieces aren't as big. I have made this about 3 times at home and it's a hit. This week is my week to make lunch for my department and this is what I will be making. I hope they enjoy it as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imcxs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Tasty but nothing spectacular. I felt that it was heavy on the cumin and needed maybe some tomatoes to brighten it up. if I make again I would add stewed tomatoes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Super quick, easy, and absolutely DELICIOUS!! I serve with tortilla chips, shredded cheese, and sour cream! Mmmmm Mmmmm Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmi3girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Greek Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Really good as written. I made my own marinated artichokes (Easy Marinated Artichokes by KnifeForkandaSpoon) to use in this recipe. It turned out great, def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
the hamiltons loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
worked perfectly, all i took from elsewhere was to lay the hot waffle on a paper towel for moisture to make em crispier. Perfect as a base recipe, ladle out a serving at a time and stir in your topping (flavor chips, jelly) or just eat them as is (or use them for a sandwich ;)) Keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was my first soup ! Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Beignets with Eggnog Creme Anglaise

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I had some difficulty in cooking the beignets in the oil but that's something I've not really done before. The finished product was much tastier than I expected. I would recommend sprinkling the sugar and cinnamon mixture on while they are still hot. In my case, most of it slid off since I waited too long. The anglaise also took much longer to thicken for me. I turned the burner to medium after the 10 minutes has passed and then it started to thicken in another couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Loberg Cooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States