Charlotte - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kentucky Derby Pie Version II

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made it for the 2015 Derby. I thought it tasted good, but could have had a lot more nuts. The men didn't particularly care for chocolate in their nut pie, but that's their opinion, lol. The filling had a slight mush quality to it, but this could have been the homemade pie crust, or perhaps I'm just used to a pecan pie type filling without the flour. Might try adding more nuts and pre-baking the pie shell a few minutes next time. I like that unlike pecan pie, this recipe does not call for corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This is SO GOOD!!! Perfect for a low carb pizza. The flavor was great, and I added a few Italian herbs into the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was delicious! Very easy and fast to prepare. I added mushrooms which were perfect for this dish. Used 1 1/2 lbs of top sirloin and there was plenty of marinade to go around. This will become a regular menu item for us especially when the weather prevents us from grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Simple and Tasty ! I love ginger and salmon. This will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This dish came out just right. we will meet again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Love this recipe! Even better...so does our entire family! Never had any problems with the sauce. Always perfect! It is so very nice to find an incredibly easy and terribly tasty recipe that pleases all! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco in a Bag

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
If you think Fritos are good try this with a bag of Doritos!! It's fabulous more flavor, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I have made several pineapple upside down cakes. However, this recipe did not work for me. There was too much sugar and too much butter so it did not melt. They turned in to a thick sugar crust. I think I will go back to my old recipe. If I make this again I will definitely adjust the sugar and butter accordingly. Maybe I should not have used real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIpassion99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made recipe as is, only adding vanilla to the box mix. But I do that to all boxed mixes. I love cream cheese frosting and it was really good with the extra kick of spices. My family and friends loved them little change in cupcake flavor. Will definitely make again. Nice cupcake with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KPatt05

Spinach Bacon Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this recipe for brunch today. I added red & green peppers, green onions, spinach, turkey sausage and bacon with fresh garlic. #Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPatt05

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Fish Sticks with Malt Vinegar Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I Enjoyed putting this together ! It seems to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Brined Pork Loin

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The meat eaters in our family loved it, and even the two other picky eaters ate some of it. That's a winner in my book! I followed the recipe exactly, except was out of garlic so used garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good, but no cayenne for us (kids and hubby wouldn't be able to hang with that). Decent flavor but fairly tame (no tanginess or zing). The smokiness of the turmeric, coriander, and cumin is well balanced with the salt, onions, garlic and cilantro. I didn't really notice the mustard at all. I added my own spice to my plate and I really liked it. The kids didn't really love it but hubby agreed that he would eat it again if served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Not sure why but we just didn't care for this much. I mean it was edible, but not very good. We have had more success with 2 avocados and the packet of seasoning from the store. :( Perhaps I did something wrong, but I don't think so. We probably will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent! Used several times now on the Sugar Cookie Cutouts recipe on this site by GLJCAT and the two compliment one another beautifully, producing an attractive and tasty cookie that is not too sweet. Is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very tasty! I did make alterations: used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to batter, and made 1 1/2 x the topping recipe to have enough to go around. I also threw in 1/2 c chocolate chips (because we are chocoholics in my house) Made 20 standard size muffins, baked at 360 for 17 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean and Squash Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was ok. I just don't think me or my family like squash enough to ever make this again. By itself, the soup itself was mediocre and somewhat bland. The condiments are necessary make this dish good. The lime is essential, but the cheese and sour cream round out the flavors quite well. I added some pickled jalapeños to my bowl which played well with the lime and Chipotle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Great, I trimmed the ends and cut the brussels sprouts in half, carmelized the onions with the garlic first and added kosher salt instead of regular salt. Plus, topped with crushed butter and garlic croutons at the end. I like my vegetables crisp / tender- if you don't, simply cover for five minutes at the end. Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I have made this bread twice now and both times it was absolutely delicious. So easy that anyone could make this. I did let my dough rise longer the second time I made this (only because that is what suited my schedule!) and did not notice much difference from the first time, so this is not a terribly fussy recipe, very forgiving for bread Try it, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are awesome brownies! I did make a few changes: I used half white sugar and half brown, added 1/2 tsp baking soda, coated the chocolate chips with flour before adding and sprinkled coarse kosher salt over the top. Served these warm with whipped cream and it was heavenly!! Will definitely be making these again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States