Cary, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Butternut Squash Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I don't like butternut squash all that much. That being said, I really enjoyed this recipe. We followed the recipe exactly, but it needed a tad more cooking time. I am looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Flavored Liqueur

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This has become a real holiday tradition for us. The basic recipe is wonderful as is, but I usually reduce the sugar and add a drained can of crushed pineapple (in juice, not syrup). I've used Triplesec and Grand Marnier. In my opinion the GM is better, but either is good. I've added nuts, chopped apples, and just about anything else that struck my fancy. As the kids would say, "It's ALL good!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Oatmeal Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic cake and so easy to make. It is my son's favorite. He doesn't like coconut so I substituted pecans and he can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic cake and so easy to make. It is my son's favorite. He doesn't like coconut so I substituted pecans and he can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The meatballs are amazing. I would suggest doubling the sauce recipe if you like, as my kids put it, a "wetter" spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've made this 3 or 4 times now and absolutely love it. Instead of using fresh fruit, I just thaw some of the frozen berries from the grocery store and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cool and Refreshing Cantaloupe Drink

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I wanted to wait until a really hot day to make this. It was so refreshing and the taste was amazing. I didn't like the chunks of cantaloupe in the drink so I might strain the drink next time and drink just the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
really easy pie to make - I made it with blackberries, strawberries and blueberries. Very good! Great consistency and again, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good and easy. Just made it and will be serving tonight in cream puff shells with fresh blackberries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEILFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Bolivian Saltenas

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yes, they are a lot of work but they are SO worth it. The only change I made was I used beef tips cut up into very small cubes instead of ground beef. My husband's family is from Bolivia and they love these. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is the same recipe that my mother passed along to me. It believe it been around since 1950 or earlier. Still a great recipe and so versital
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Chicken and Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. I served it with spaghetti. I love the taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Red Wine Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this cake was good but too dried and dense. I made a chocolate red wine ganache to put on top and it helped moisten the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Key Lime Coconut Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
OH MY!!! This recipe is amazing. The taste is exactly what I've looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and found it needs no change. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Made 2 tenderloins using this recipe for 5 people...hardly ANY was leftover. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soy and Honey Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Well, I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Didn't need any other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It's fast and my family loved the texture of it. Exactly what I was looking for. I added some Italian Seasoning to it which added all the flavor we wanted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Espetadas (Portuguese Beef Shish Kabobs)

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love this recipe! It's so simple and delicious. The only thing I changed was that I added a little more salt (I like my food really salty). The meat is so tender and is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Southern Lemon Shortbread

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
WOW! Talking about a perfect blend of flavors. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I gave this a 5 star because the taste and consistency was perfect. I did have to do a few adjustments. The first pie I made I doubled the recipe and separated the eggs beating the whites until firm and then folded them in. The total time of beating for this pie was 50 minutes (I beat the heck out of it at each step). The finished product was a perfect consistency pie with a very grainy taste. So, I did it again only this time, instead of using the 3/4 cup of sugar, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar (actually I used 3 cups since I doubled the recipe the second time as well). The end result? A perfect, delicious, smooth pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States