Cary, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

One Egg Lemon Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The cake was yummy. I added some chopped candied cherries to the recipe for color. Lighter option to the typical pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I just tried this for a new spin on broccoli. It's really fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Style Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an awesome Jalapeno' cornbread recipe! I've been using the same one for years. I found my on the back of Tenda Bake self-rising cornmeal. You can always make it spicier by adding more peppers. I receive request all the time for this recipe at parties and family funcitons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Easy Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious. Even my wife, who almost never eats vegetables, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarrett Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Such an easy, quick appetizer to make, and it's always a crowd-pleaser. I make this recipe as it is written, but also add about 1/2 cup of blue cheese crumbles to the mixture - try it out, it's a great addition! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEKLEI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wassail Punch

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a great punch, not too sweet. It was a great hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by un4g8abl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pineapple Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love this recipe! I add an 8 oz can of pineapple and omit adding brown sugar. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

World's Best Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I didn't think I could make fluffy biscuits without shortening but this recipe proved me wrong. A few things I did was that I used a metal bowl and after mixing the dry ingredients in the metal bowl (before the milk) I put the bowl in the freezer for 15 minutes. I also put the milk in the freezer for 15 minutes. I then cut the butter in and put it in the freezer for another 10 minutes while the oven was preheating. I then mixed the milk in and mixed everything together, patted it out, cut it and put it in the oven quickly. The result was amazingly, fluffy, beautiful biscuits. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Butternut Squash Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I don't like butternut squash all that much. That being said, I really enjoyed this recipe. We followed the recipe exactly, but it needed a tad more cooking time. I am looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Flavored Liqueur

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This has become a real holiday tradition for us. The basic recipe is wonderful as is, but I usually reduce the sugar and add a drained can of crushed pineapple (in juice, not syrup). I've used Triplesec and Grand Marnier. In my opinion the GM is better, but either is good. I've added nuts, chopped apples, and just about anything else that struck my fancy. As the kids would say, "It's ALL good!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Oatmeal Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic cake and so easy to make. It is my son's favorite. He doesn't like coconut so I substituted pecans and he can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fantastic cake and so easy to make. It is my son's favorite. He doesn't like coconut so I substituted pecans and he can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The meatballs are amazing. I would suggest doubling the sauce recipe if you like, as my kids put it, a "wetter" spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've made this 3 or 4 times now and absolutely love it. Instead of using fresh fruit, I just thaw some of the frozen berries from the grocery store and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cool and Refreshing Cantaloupe Drink

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I wanted to wait until a really hot day to make this. It was so refreshing and the taste was amazing. I didn't like the chunks of cantaloupe in the drink so I might strain the drink next time and drink just the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
really easy pie to make - I made it with blackberries, strawberries and blueberries. Very good! Great consistency and again, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good and easy. Just made it and will be serving tonight in cream puff shells with fresh blackberries. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEILFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Bolivian Saltenas

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yes, they are a lot of work but they are SO worth it. The only change I made was I used beef tips cut up into very small cubes instead of ground beef. My husband's family is from Bolivia and they love these. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is the same recipe that my mother passed along to me. It believe it been around since 1950 or earlier. Still a great recipe and so versital
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Chicken and Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for. I served it with spaghetti. I love the taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States