Cary, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Another addition to our family favorites! I used turkey sausage vs pork and per another reviewer a can and a half of diced tomatoes drained instead of fresh tomatoes. Served with focaccia bread and it really was a perfect meal. Thanks Mary P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sclarkgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Debary, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Turned out great, but took longer than the recipe. Maybe I'm slow at chopping and simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Maybe I did something wrong? I just made this... I doubled everything per other reviews but sauce was way too thick. It was also too spicy, my lips are still burning! Flavor is good though so ill make again with some altercations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme Waters
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Toffee Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
So good and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wilson
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
My bf and I love, love, love this! We make as directed minus salt, add onion! It's our go to recipe at pot luck dinners.. People always want the recipe! Btw, I use Dukes mayo.. The best! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme Waters
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cheese Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These were perfect for my family. Even my 6 and 5 year old liked them. I followed the directions exactly and they came our perfect. I've actually made them twice already, the first the way the author suggested and the other in a chicken stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm going to give this one 4 stars because the outcome could quite possibly be my mistake somewhere in preparing this. It was easy to make and the taste is not bad, but it didn't rise and it didn't taste as banana-like as I like in a banana nut bread. But it was still good tasting and perfect with coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaNC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Hummus III

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Great basic recipe. I encourage everyone to be creative and experiment with this one. I used 1 cup of dried garbanzo beans, which I soaked and cooked till tender (you can easily Google to find directions of how to do this). I would much rather do this than used canned beans - the cans contain BPA. I didn't have any fresh parsley, so I added 1 tsp of dried to the mix. I did add some cumin - maybe a 1/2 - 1 tsp or so, and a good size hunk of roasted red pepper or 1 fresh red bell pepper, cored and cut into chunks. I increased the garlic as well - about 2 to 6 cloves can be used depending on your taste. I also added a dash or two of smoked paprika to the mix. I used the juice of two lemons rather than the 1/4 cup called for in the recipe. Delicious and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I baked this last night and it is terrific. It's just moist enough and just sweet enough--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaNC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very good side dish. Added whole buttom mushrooms. Cooked covered for one half time then removed. Will make again. Maybe add onion with the mushrooms next time:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I love how easy this dish was too make! Its' a great quick take version of traditional chicken and dumplings. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper with some fresh parsley. Absolutely love this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
very good. Added black olives, pepperoni, mozz cubes. Perfect for long holiday weekend:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Pork chops can be so boring but not with this dish. My husband and I loved it! I wasn't sure about adding the cream of mushroom soup but it was a hit! The texture on the chops was crispy and I loved the sauce! I will making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops & Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Don't waste your time. Bland and boring. A million better ways to make pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I loved it! I normally don't do the lemon zest, due to not having fresh lemons handy but I'm so happy I made it a point to grab one for the recipe, the juice and the zest made this dish complete. I'm a spicy girl so I added red pepper, tabasco, fire roasted sesame oil and a splash of lite soy sauce before microwaving the asparagus for 1 min. I also made extra sauce and added italian bread crumbs to the Panko crumbs, oh and used Miracle Whip instaed of mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krusette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sister Schubert's® Chicken Pot Pie with Bread Topping

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
With all due respect to Sister Schubert's dinner rolls, I much prefer this with a puff pastry sheet as the crust. It's really no harder to make a lot, than a little, so I make it in a double or triple batch, freeze the extra filling and assemble with the puff pastry when I pull it out for a relatively easy meal down the line. I've used any number of different vegetables in the mix, and everything I've thrown in has worked well. This has become a standard in our dinner rotation and one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe! Succulent flavor! I used bowtie pasta because I didn't have any elbow pasta on hand. The salad was pretty with it, and because the pasta texture was softer, it worked well. I only put in 1/2 of the milk; do that too, and add more later if you need to, or else you might find the salad too watery. I made my own honey mustard by combining 1/3 mayo, 1/3 honey, and 1/3 brown mustard (like Grey Poupon)--just eyeball it in the 1/3 measuring cup if you are making the full 12 serving recipe. That means you will need to add more mayo because the recipe calls for it as well. My husband said I should have added more peas, but I told him there weren't any in it (we realized that he thought the green pepper was peas--haha). So I added some peas (frozen and thawed) to the leftovers and it was even better! I think salad shrimp would also be a nice addition, and then the salad (maybe with bread) could be a meal on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMTRINA
Home Town: Ripley, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is a good basic cornbread recipe. I used 1/3 cup of sugar (half of what the recipe called for) and substituted vanilla coconut milk for the regular milk - yummy! I also baked it in a greased muffin pan and shortened the baking time by approx. 5 min. Yield: 12 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I always make too much sauce, but it's still the best chicken pot pie that I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States