North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Greek-Style Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
as far as fishiness is was not to pronounce and especially good with raw green salads!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best White Icing Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
followed directions to the T. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Tasted more like cake than bread, which is fine with me. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Jackson Neuman
Home Town: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Was looking for a recipe to use zucchini, tomatoes and basil from my garden and this is absolutely delicious. I only had Progresso Italian bread crumbs on hand and will definitely be using them rather than plain bread crumbs. Will be making this one a lot over the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I did as other reviewers suggested and went with 1c peanut butter, 2c brown sugar, & 3c powdered sugar. I also used vanilla almond milk, (because its what I had) so I omitted the vanilla. I have made this several times, a few times I tossed in some homemade marshmallows (Alton Brown's) those batches were lighter in color, and everyone who didn't see me cook it said that it tasted different, but they weren't sure how... It still tasted good. Delicious actually, but the marshmallows did make a difference ;) thank you for this recipe :) will be made for years to come :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Club Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Thought this was pretty good. A very nice subtle rosemary flavored cream sauce. I made it because I happen to have most of the ingredients and didn't have to use cream of chicken soup! Changes: used orzo (because I didn't have rice)...I thought the orzo was good with it. Used fresh mushrooms (didn't have canned). Doubled the amount of green pepper and cut in strips. Added more rosemary (I'm sure fresh rosemary would be wonderful!). Was tempted to add onion, but, thought it might fight with the subtle rosemary flavor....so, left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Noodles

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The sauce was kind of thin, so I also would recommend decreasing the amount of broth. It is kind of bland, for those who like spice. Some cracked black pepper available on the table should take care of that, for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wonderful! I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't miss that small amount at all. Also, don't forget to temper your eggs! My daughter was helping me make these and dumped the eggs into the warm pot, which was still hot enough to cook them. I was able to salvage the brownies, but had some scrambled eggs with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Have never made rice in the oven before & after this-may never make it in the stovetop again! It was great! It turned out perfect! We are rice lovers & this is the best! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Pasta with Tomato Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made this for my Dad & family for his Fathers Day dinner-what a hit! I did add zucchini to the mix & just a dash of crushed red pepper, otherwise pretty much stayed with the recipe. It was so good! Will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Empanadas

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I halved the recipe and modified it a bit. I added chorizo, used half a pound of ground beef (80/20), used about 2/3 of the spices after I had measured them out together in a small bowl, added a little garlic powder, and brushed them with eggwash and baked them. I baked them at 350 degrees but they took a long time, next time I would bake them at a higher temperature for a shorter amount of time. The crust came out a little too crunchy - but good, nonetheless. I LOVED the filling as I made it - the raisins and egg were actually great additions; I admit I was skeptical! This made 8 empanadas for me - I always tend to oversize things, though. Great dinner, would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beckie

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love risotto and was excited about trying this one since it was in the slow cooker. I was not expecting it to have the same creamy texture as one cooked on the stove top, but, was still intrigued to give it a try. The plus side was that the flavor was wonderful! You could taste a perfect blend of garlic, white wine, & parmesan cheese. I would give the flavor five stars. The downside for us was the texture. We did not care for the texture at all. I kept checking it to be sure it did not overcook. It seemed to be the perfect texture, but, had not absorbed the liquid and was still runny. I cooked until the liquid was just absorbed - about 2 hours. The rice was very mushy. It was so mushy it seemed more like mashed potatoes. I would rate the texture one star. Although the flavor was a big hit, I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Beckie

Italian Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I typically like to make my own marinades because I generally have everything in the house and I can control the sodium content of what goes in it. I needed something quick to marinade my chicken breasts in. I used Kraft Zesty Italian and this took literally minutes to get together. I did pound out my chicken breasts to 3/4" before marinating for even grilling. I only used 8 oz. of dressing, 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder and no additional salt. I was very surprised at how much flavor they had and it made for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Refrigerator Pickled Carrots

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. Even those who don't like pickles will love this recipe!! Give it a try . . .You're going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Barbecued Pork Kebabs

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This was incredible! It made enough to share with a neighbor and her family too and we both agreed that the flavor was strong throughout, even after only a 4-hour marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Aside from omitting the sugar, I never change a single thing, and this is a staple for all of our birthday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Barbie

Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made this for my girlfriend's office. I followed the recipe to a T, with the exception of using preserves. I didn't have any on-hand, but I did have a 6 oz. container of fresh raspberries. I smashed them with a fork, added two cups of sugar, brought it to a boil for five minutes until it started to become gelatinous, then let it cool. I used the entire pan of homemade preserves instead of the 1/2 c of preserves the recipe called for. I left it in the spring form pan and let it cool, then covered it tightly in foil and refrigerated it overnight. The next morning it easily came out of the pan. I drizzled it with a confectioner sugar glaze and topped with fresh raspberries. I cooked it for 45 minutes. It looked gorgeous but since I had never made it before and didn't want to cut it to sample it (I know, bad cook) I went on the reviews here and on faith knowing I followed the recipe exactly that it would be edible. I asked my girlfriend if she heard any feedback from the office staff and she told me the entire cake was gone within minutes so I am going to assume that it was a hit. I will definitely make this again and be sure to have some myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made a couple substitutions. 1) I used applesauce in place of the pineapple. I only had 1c of applesauce, so I added an extra cup of grated carrots, also to try and mimic the pineapple texture. When the cake came out, I thought it looked dry, so I brushed it with orange juice, thinking that would also add a citrus flavor that was lacking without the pineapple. When I tried the cake after frosting it, it was completely moist and not dry at all. 2) I used neufchatel cheese in place of cream cheese and it was fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pattypan Squash Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
My husband brought home some pattypan squash that a coworker gave him. I had never seen them before. So I hunted down a recipe and found this one. My husband won't eat squash, so since he was out tonight I decided to try this recipe. The pancakes were absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryjane Bradshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I'm not a fan of kale but this is a way for me to eat it. I added way too much salt as I didn't think the teaspoon would be enough (free pour to be honest) but I still enjoy it. I cooked mine in an electric oven at 350º for 14 mins (two sheet pans, with a rotation and level change at the 7 min mark). Some got a bit brown, the others stayed nice and green. It's a good flavor and I can see how I can build upon this. I used two different kinds of kale since that's what I had and both turned out extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States