North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by traceyposner

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I just found another incredible recipe for lamb! This recipe is so good! My package of chops had 3 in there so I made those and didn't alter the sauce or anything. I happened to have a tiny bottle of rosemary EVOO, so I decided to use it. I also had a few different flavored balsamic vinegars to which I thought the pomegranate would go well with the sauce. I was right! Amazing flavor and not at all too strong. I did everything else the same and I am certain that when I make this again(and I will) and I use the regular evoo and balsamic that it will be just as incredible! The lamb is so moist and cooked to perfection. I served this with some fresh, roasted asparagus. Thanks for this recipe! It is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome!! I only used 1/4 cup Butter and 1 cup + 1 splash of Heavy Cream. I had plenty of frozen pesto that I had saved from making a big batch last summer, so I added about 1/2 cup of Pesto. I didn't measure the Parmesan but it was probably only 1/2 cup, not a full cup. Other than the measurements (of high fat ingredients) being lower and Pesto being higher, I made it exactly as written and everyone LOVED IT. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! I used only 3/4 of the rice vinegar and it was tangy enough for me. Thank you chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by traceyposner

Ragu Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
The chicken was moist and delicious. Very easy and I had everything on hand. I pounded out my chicken breasts and made them nice and thin which cut the baking time down by half. I also served mine over a bed of spaghetti and sprinkled with parmesan cheese and fresh, chopped parsley. I am cleaning out my freezer, fridge, and pantry for an upcoming move and this was a great choice for today's dinner. Normally, I would make mine with a homemade sauce, but for what this is, it is great! I try to keep a jar or 2 of Ragu in my pantry for times when I don't have any of my own in the freezer. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was really lackluster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EADoby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Berdean's Cube Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was very easy and delicious. Hubby announced he wanted leftovers for dinner tomorrow before we were even done! I added lipton beefy onion mix for the gravy and let simmer on low in the slow cooker for 3 hours. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photophenom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker

Tortellini Minestrone Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is DELICIOUS! Restaurant-quality. I was afraid of the ketchup, but the red wine adds so much body to the flavor that it just works. My family devoured it, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by kriley71

Chicken Katsu

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriley71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Creedmoor, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caprese Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Yum! (I only had 6 eggs, though. So I did use 1/2C heavy cream and 1/2C skim milk.) The caramelized onions really made a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstabler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe was so good! The meat was so tender and the cream cheese made it taste so much better than sour cream. My boyfriend loved it too! This is going down as one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsGrl2014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This is the first time I have made white bread and I found a winner! The recipe was fail proof for me - it rose perfectly and baked in the exact time of the recipe. I used rapid rise yeast because that is wheat I had in the house. I actually added the yeast to the sugar and then added the water. I was afraid the water would cool down too much if I mixed the sugar and water first. I ended up using not quite - 5-1/2 cups of flour to get to the correct consistency. I have a hard time distinguishing what sounds like "hollow" to check for doneness, so, I just checked it with an instant read thermometer. I took out about 190 (based on what I read on the King Arthur flour site) and it rose to about 198 degrees. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfect side dish for just about any protein, but, I served with grilled "Unbelievable Chicken" from this site. I made as the recipe stated, but, only used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup butter in the potatoes. I also used green onions instead of regular onions and we like the flavor and texture much better than a similar casserole I had made in the past. Based on other reviews I cooked a little longer - about 50 minutes and the potatoes were perfectly cooked. Big hit with the family! My niece packed up all the leftovers to take back to college with her for her dorm - that is winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was my very first attempt at making risotto and it was a smashing success. I didn't even watch the video so I can say the instructions are very well written. I made a few modifications based on what I had on hand...fresh flat-leaf parsley instead of chives and only Portobello mushrooms. Very, very delicious with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by jrbaker

Spinach, Bacon, and Mushroom Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
You cannot go wrong with this flavor combination, but I substituted sliced sausage links for the bacon and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by jrbaker

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These are SO GOOD. They are easy to make ahead, and reheat well. My kids love them! These would be great for a crowd also, just double or triple the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Ray's Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was great! I forgot the Sherry; I was going to substitute wine when I opened a bottle that evening, but got the chicken marinating in an airtight storage bag in the fridge before I thought of it again. I marinated it for 24 hours and it had a very nice flavor. I'll use it again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very easy to prepare and taste is awesome! Wonderful flavors from beer cooking veggies and meat. For the colcannon, I was in a rush and since just for DH and me, I just used part of a bag of pre-cut coleslaw mix and it worked out great. Will be making this again, specially during March and St. Paddy's Day. Thanks for the rec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner

Ground Beef Curly Noodle

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
We've all been there, trying to make dinner that is delicious and trying to only use what you have on hand. That is me today. When I went to put this dish together, I knew that I didn't have Ramen noodles in my pantry. Nothing against them, I just don't buy them. BUT, what I DID have is some cut spaghetti (it's curly, right?) I also swapped out the ground beef for Johnsonville Ground Italian Sausage. NICE choice! Since I didn't have a flavor packet that would have come with the Ramen, I used 1 T. Italian seasoning instead. Not only was it an appropriate choice given the ingredients I was using, it was DELICIOUS! You can not go wrong with this combination, I promise. If I had all of the ingredients that this recipe calls for, I wouldn't have known about these tweaks because I would have followed the recipe word for word. Because I did make substitutions to this recipe, I am giving it 4 stars, but ONLY because I made those changes. Give it a try. It's so easy to make, takes just a few minutes to put together, it's very economical, and most of all, It's delicious :-) #6IgredientOrLess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was great! My hubby and son do not like Cauliflower, but they ate a good side dish of this and said, for cauliflower, it was the best they way they've ever had it. I steamed it for 10 minutes, and used a little garlic powder in the Food Processor where I let it mix for about 1 minute. Otherwise made it exactly as written. I personally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States