North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Made these for a large crowd. Didn't really make any changes in recipe. Super easy to put together and I also liked the fact that I didn't have to use Cream of Soup mixture! It isn't my favorite enchilada recipe, but, it was great for a crowd. I actually made ahead in 9x13 pans and froze, unbaked. Everyone raved about how good they where!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCabrera75

Tomato Basil Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was really good! Couldn't find fresh basil at the grocery store, so I used basil paste (it tastes so good!), but that is the only change I made. I did slice my tomatoes a little thinner than I should have this time, but I will correct that next time. I will be making this again! I served this over rice with green beans. It was a hit and even though I just made this last night, I'm putting it on next week's menu as well! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doswell, Virginia, USA

Cheesy One Pan Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
A quick and easy mac and cheese recipe and it tastes good too? What's not to love? Until now I have avoided making mac and cheese because of the time and effort that goes into it. Using Barilla's newest pasta in their product line, Pronto Pasta, turned this dish into 10 minutes to table AND only 1 pan! Give this recipe AND the Pronto Pasta a try. It's a wonderful solution to busy weeknight dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Vegetables and Herbs

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I liked the simplicity of making this dish in one pan, but, the flavor fell through. It was very bland and definitely needed more seasoning on both the chicken breading and on the vegetables. The chicken was tender and the vegetables were perfectly cooked, but, if you make I would definitely recommend adding salt and more seasoning to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Meghan Telpner's Rhubarb Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
SOOO GOOD!! puree *after* the fruit is softened... very prominent rhubarb flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Best sugar cookies I have ever made. Easy to roll out and taste delicious. I did add an extra teaspoon of Vanilla Extract and an additional 1/4 teaspoon of Baking Powder. Have already shared this recipe with my sisters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Parmesan Garlic Cauliflower Mash

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This was super easy & delicious! I had never made mashed cauliflower before, but it truly is like the consistency of smooth mashed potatoes. I added extra garlic (we love it in our house!) and made it the day before, which further infused the garlic flavor into the dish! Definitely a keeper, and I can't wait to make a triple batch ahead of time to freeze into individual portions for even faster access to what will now be a regular side dish during those hectic weekday school nights. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I've been making these since my brother came home with the recipe from Home Ec class!! We love them! I've added chocolate chips or topped with Kisses. I've also added cooked (crispy) crumbled bacon (my favorite!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doswell, Virginia, USA

Penne with Pink Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This is an amazing recipe. My husband took leftovers to work and one of his coworkers asked for the recipe when he gave her a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Cabbage Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
This is a simple and delicious recipe. I do add some garlic powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lumpia (Shanghai version)

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I love this recipe. I didn't add the extra salt and it was perfect! It is time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

Best-Ever Spicy Spaghetti with Corn and Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I cannot praise the Barilla Pronto pasta enough! This is the third recipe from their collection I have made and I absolutely love this product. The pasta cooks perfectly in 10 minutes with no boiling water and no draining. I did use a homeade marinara "Best Marinara Yet" from Allrecipes that I had in my freezer instead of the Barilla sauce, but, made everything else as is. I served with grilled chicken which was good cut up and added to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shirleytemple

Philly Cheese Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I didn't do the teriyaki sauce I cooked the steak in worcestershire sauce and kens zesty Italian sauce. I used provolone cheese slices for the cheese too. But very delicious. I cooked both the onions and peppers and steak on medium high heat. I toast the hoagie rolls too (or sub rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirleytemple

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Wow! This was really good. I made as directed except I had to substitute poblano pepper for the red pepper because my supermarket was out of red chili peppers. As others have noted, cook on low, not high. Over cooking in a crock pot can dry out your meat. I served this with Trader Joe's frozen brown rice and fresh green beans. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Dip II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I've made this twice in one week, because my family demolished it. It's delicious. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly, and the second time, I left out the cumin (as it had too strong of a flavor for my taste last time) and added lime juice. Even more perfect. Will be making this many more times in the future. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Duncan Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

Pineapple Pecan Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
This was a quick and very easy cake to make. I made it as the directions stated, but next time I will cut the sugar in half because it was a little sweet but it was delicious. I also made a cream cheese frosting to go on top which made it even better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Wow! These were fabulous! Deep, dark chocolate and ultra fudgy. We loved the brownie part, so, I am rating this recipe on the brownie. I did have some problem with the icing. It was very dry and never became creamy. I added some heavy cream to it so I could spread it. I thought something was wrong with it as I tried to spread it on the warm brownies because it was melting and not spreading well. After they cooled though the frosting set up perfectly. I liked the frosting, but, my husband said he would prefer them without. Either way, they are a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Taco Bell® Seasoning Copycat

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I made this tonight and I think it really does taste like taco bell. I have tried several recipes from this site and I like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
This is a more than competent take on Chicken Tikka Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Starkenburg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cornbread Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Delicious! Not too sweet, my husband ate half the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apoohneicie
Living In: Burnsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States