North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by happyschmoopies

Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
We absolutely loved this grilled shrimp recipe! I only marinated about an hour, but, it still had great flavor. You definitely tasted both the garlic and the herbs. They were slightly sweet, so, next time I will cut back on a little of the sugar and maybe even through in some red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made this for my husband's faculty at his college. They enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Followed this recipe pretty close. I used it in my Advanced Foods & Nutrition Classes for one of their yeast bread units. I always had successful labs using it plus the kids & faculty loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This is my favorite cornbread recipe, it is so moist! I would not eat cornbread until I tried this recipe. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. My friends always ask to take some home if I have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Gave out recipe at our outing! Used basil instead of cilantro and no avacado due to hubby. Used fresh cooked corn and fresh tomatoes, cumin, garlic and a few other spices, it really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Party Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Make this several times a year using oat, corn and wheat cereal. Also add my own amount of white chocolate to taste. Can be made gluten-free. Add cranberries and white raisins, roasted peanuts, Reeses pieces peanut butter candies; all the things my family likes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Have made with this bread recipe and have used my own. Have made it with bought refrigerated pizza dough. Like this with whatever I have on hand, plus a little pizza sauce on the side. People seem to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made this but used juice instead of water to cornstarch for an extra layer of flavor. Also use this with peach and peach jello. Most of time use sugar free jello. This is a great hot weather dessert enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I didn't have any onion powder but this pimento cheese is still delicious! I did use Worcestershire sauce and added a splash of lemon juice. I read lemon juice in the ingredients of a locally made pimento cheese and decided to throw some in. I confess I don't do a lot of measuring except in baking so the only ingredient I used exactly as instructed is cream cheese. This is good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I liked it fairly well, but next time I will add the butter directly to the cracker crumbs that go on top. That way it will be moist & not super dry! Otherwise, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a pretty good base recipe & super easy to make. I made it exactly as written. Next time I will add more flavors to the beef patties, I thought they were a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Lamb Barley Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Fun putting it together ,made it for my lunches for the week .homemade !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek-Style Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
as far as fishiness is was not to pronounce and especially good with raw green salads!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best White Icing Ever

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
followed directions to the T. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Tasted more like cake than bread, which is fine with me. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Jackson Neuman
Home Town: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Was looking for a recipe to use zucchini, tomatoes and basil from my garden and this is absolutely delicious. I only had Progresso Italian bread crumbs on hand and will definitely be using them rather than plain bread crumbs. Will be making this one a lot over the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I did as other reviewers suggested and went with 1c peanut butter, 2c brown sugar, & 3c powdered sugar. I also used vanilla almond milk, (because its what I had) so I omitted the vanilla. I have made this several times, a few times I tossed in some homemade marshmallows (Alton Brown's) those batches were lighter in color, and everyone who didn't see me cook it said that it tasted different, but they weren't sure how... It still tasted good. Delicious actually, but the marshmallows did make a difference ;) thank you for this recipe :) will be made for years to come :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Club Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Thought this was pretty good. A very nice subtle rosemary flavored cream sauce. I made it because I happen to have most of the ingredients and didn't have to use cream of chicken soup! Changes: used orzo (because I didn't have rice)...I thought the orzo was good with it. Used fresh mushrooms (didn't have canned). Doubled the amount of green pepper and cut in strips. Added more rosemary (I'm sure fresh rosemary would be wonderful!). Was tempted to add onion, but, thought it might fight with the subtle rosemary flavor....so, left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Noodles

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The sauce was kind of thin, so I also would recommend decreasing the amount of broth. It is kind of bland, for those who like spice. Some cracked black pepper available on the table should take care of that, for those who want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wonderful! I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. I didn't miss that small amount at all. Also, don't forget to temper your eggs! My daughter was helping me make these and dumped the eggs into the warm pot, which was still hot enough to cook them. I was able to salvage the brownies, but had some scrambled eggs with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States