Silver Spring, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegan Carrot Curry Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I made it as directed except substituting chicken broth for vegetable broth, which I did not have. (At that point of course it is no longer vegan, but that isn't a concern for my family.) The soup was the perfect consistency and the coconut milk gave it a delectable creaminess. It tasted reminiscent of pumpkin pie- probably because of the ginger and cinnamon- and the curry was not overpowering. I suppose that could be different depending on the potency of the curry powder and the soup taster's pallet sensitivity, but it was fine for us. The recipe calls for about 7 cups of liquids plus the pureed carrots. I think I wound up using more than two pounds, maybe closer to four pounds, since I just used about 10 medium to longish carrots and didn't weigh them first, but I had about 12 or so cups of soup when all was said and done. Not that I mind though because the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean, Corn and Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This turned out well and my family liked it so much that I made it twice this week. However, next time I might tone down the chili pepper because it was too much for my preschooler. As per another reviewer's suggestion I omitted the sugar, which could explain why it was too spicy for my daughter. I know sugar helps take the edge off of spiciness. I've made it with and without corn and both work well. The one major difference though is that I used chick peas instead of black beans (because I didn't have any cooked black beans ready). Next time I will try to plan ahead and use black beans because I imagine that would taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Baked Lentils

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I think the initial cooking time for the lentils is too long. I followed the recipe and what I wound up with was more like lentil mush. The flavor is alright, but kind of distracting. It's odd tasting sweet lentils and the baby food like texture I got from this recipe wasn't that appealing. I might try this again but cook the lentils for less time initially so that they hold their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars because had I not added sugar to this, it would have been extremely bland. The key to making this in a slow cooker is that you have to constantly stir it. Otherwise it will burn! I added three teaspoons of sugar and made this with 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown rice and it came out great. I love sweet and salty combos, so I paired this with some sauteed shrimp lightly salted. Simple, but good! Next time, I will add some mango on top for extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Chowder II

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I thought this was excellent! I knew right off the bat that 4 cups would be too much water!! So I only added 2 1/2 cups of water. I also used 1 1/2 cups evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Very good, will add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Dijon Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I decided to make these as directed amidst the reviews of it being to pungent from the mustard and ginger, though I found that wasn't the case for me. Instead of boiling the carrots I steamed them in the microwave to reduce nutrient loss through osmosis in the cooking water. I made the sauce on the stove and had no trouble making a nice glaze. **Learn from my mistake--remember to drain the carrots before adding the glaze, or else you'll wind up with more of a carrot broth instead of a glaze** I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe for easy homemade applesauce. I don't bother to peel the apples- the peel adds color and fiber to the end product. Also you don't need to add sugar at all. When I make it I just use apples, cinnamon and water and it tastes almost like apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miso Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good and so comforting in the winter! Next time I will use tofu that is a bit more firm..personal preference. I added straw mushrooms and roasted seaweed. Tastes just like in the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Absolutely deeeeelish! We doubled the sauce and use a couple whole cloves instead of ground (couldn't find ground in the store). We used regular orange juice instead of zesting an orange and it came out fine. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jo's Rosemary Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent bread! My only change for next time is that I will use a little less pepper! I used the 1lb. light crust setting on my bread machine and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I really enjoyed this, but will probably add some brown sugar next time to step up the sweetness. I made with thinly sliced chicken breast and made some additions! I added corn, broccoli, and day old rice and turned this into a stir fry. It was great! Didn't have time to leave in the oven. It was still good and very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Mango Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the best chicken recipe I have had EVER. No leftovers, to my disappointment, so I wont be able to take some for lunch. Everyone had seconds. Next time I will have to double the amount. Thank you cheri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Mango Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the best chicken recipe I have had EVER. No leftovers, to my disappointment, so I wont be able to take some for lunch. Everyone had seconds. Next time I will have to double the amount. Thank you cheri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I love, love, LOVE this dip! I'd searched everywhere for a recipe for Spinach & Artichoke dip that was close to restaurant style, and this is the best so far! I made a huge batch for a small get together I was hosting (a whole 9x13 in pan!) and it was GONE in no time flat! I did make one big change to the recipe; I cut out the Romano cheese, and added about 1- 1.5 cups of Monterey Jack instead, because I really wanted this dip to have that cheesy texture, and the Monterey Jack is mild enough and has enough moisture to be, in my opinion, the perfect 'dip' addition. I also took the liberty of adding a bit more garlic, but that's a personal preference. Great recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyschrantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing. It was very flavorful. My husband loved it very much and asked to make it a staple meal in our family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Casserole IV

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'll be honest...I wasn't expecting much with this recipe but WOW....we ate this for during Thanksgiving dinner and I was officially assigned to make this for Christmas lol. This recipe is FANTASTIC! I especially like the sugar topping, gives it a nice sweet crunch. The only thing I changed (and it was a matter of personal preference) was that I added about 2/3 more evaporated milk. I also added marshmallows on top just for a nice look. Highly recommend, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Rosemary Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The orange flavor was way to strong in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic South Indian Biryani

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making south indian biryani. I added a few modifications to this recipe such as adding more cloves and cardamum. I also added a bay leaf to add more flavor and aroma. I also added the store bought biryani mix which made it tasty but extra spicy. I did not have any mint but it still came out flavorful. Overall this was a good biryani but I will make sure not too add too much of the biryani mix or find a more milder one. I think next time when my parents come to visit I may make it for them. I think they would be proud. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
The butter made it a little greasy for me. I think I'll leave it out next time and use sour cream. Overall, a great side dish (we served with a roast chicken on a rain day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njthayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup V

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Made w allvegan substitutes and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States