Silver Spring, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dough Ornament Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I love making these, and giving ornaments is nice but you can do other things too of course! I put the hole in the bottom and made some markers for a friends garden. I had some old wire hangers so I cut a piece from that to put through the hole, it works great. I am going to add the cinnamon, its a great idea. I have used food coloring and some I paint. I also use the polyurethane to seal them and give them a nice glossy look. I may try the different flour next time for more color options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LezKaySkinsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Berry Crisp

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Followed the recipe and it was excellent and a big crowd pleaser! I think any one berry or combination of berries would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Though I didn't include the coconut, since my family doesn't like it, we loved it! However, the icing was too sweet and on making it a second time we completely omitted the icing. My daughter made it a third time and cut down on the oil and sugar and it was too gummy. In trying to reduce our sugar intake, I would keep most of the oil and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Very tasty! I've made this several times since my first try! Great easy recipe. I make a whole bunch, then we eat them over the next couple of days. These are great leftovers! I do go easy on the red pepper flakes though. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This was really very good and a hit with my party guests! I didn't have time or money for raw shrimp, so I used already cooked shrimp and warmed them up in a skillet. Still came out perfectly!!!! My only regret was that I didn't make more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is my first time making chicken parmesan. My changes were: dredge the chicken in egg with a little salt and pepper and coat with finely crumbled Town House Crackers. I omitted the croutons. Served with fettuccine noodles and a summer salad. It was perfect. My husband is an executive chef by trade - he loved-loved it. Will definitely make it again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADONNA1958
Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I am going to say I loved it, but I did not use vegetarian "crumbles". Instead I crumbled extra firm tofu. I also had some bean sprouts that were crisp and I threw them in. I ate mine with vegetable chips and it was definitely a tasty meal. I also put in some salsa since I had no red pepper flakes or chili powder. Never let not having all the ingredients stop me from trying out a recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This did not come out as I expected.perhaps I did something wrong? I will attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was a stellar recipe! I forgot to add the wine, but it was still phenomenal without. I did season to my taste and added a generous amount of old bay and garlic, and a tablespoon more of butter. I used fat free half and half and it was perfect. We ate this with rosemary bread. I was afraid I would net have enough liquid, but it was perfect for 2-3 people if your generous with the portions. Recommend doubling the recipe if you're cooking for more people. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I did this using stewing beef for the meat and served it with quinoa (I didn't have any regular pasta on hand.). I liked how simple it was. The flavor and consistency were good. For me this recipe gets bonus points for having few ingredients, all of which were readily available in my kitchen when I needed a quick dinner in a pinch. I'll probably use this again, though perhaps not too frequently because it is somewhat rich. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fast, easy, delicious. My husband loves it. I've been using olive oil that's already infused with garlic to either save a step or make it extra garlic-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Chicken Burgers with Avocado

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
These were excellent! I wasn't sure what to expect, but needed something quick to make that tasted good. I didn't go so heavy on the cilantro. I only added about a 1/4 cup. Also added a dash of cumin. We are watching our carbs, so we ate these patties on a bed of fresh spinach with the avacado and italian dressing. Very very good. Also great tip from another reviewer...don't even bother trying to handle the meat with your hands to make patties! I simply mixed everything with a spoon, then spooned into the pan and patted them into my desired size with the spoon. Never touched it and it was hassle free! Nothing came apart at all so don't listen to the voice in your head telling you to add breadcrumbs or egg! I will definataly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Wonderful! How lucky am I to find the best possible recipe with one search? I pretty much cooked it as written but I did sprinkle some poultry seasoning over the top. Next time I may try it with garlic powder instead of onion powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneWeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great recipe! Omitted the pine nuts and added a bit more garlic in their place (I'm a big fan of garlic); I also used very light olive oil- just my preference. I followed the instructions and it turned out great. It's light, creamy and very 'fresh' tasting (thank you, basil!) The perfect compliment to my oven baked salmon- so yummy! Oh, Caution- this makes a HUGE amount of sauce! Not too much of a problem for us, because it Does reheat without issue and, it turns out, is also tasty on rice and chicken :). Maybe next time I will halve the recipe or just be ready to freeze the leftovers for later. **And yes, this *is* a basil sauce- naturally the primary flavor is basil, so if you're not looking for that, I'd steer clear. (Not sure why you'd make a basil sauce if you don't like basil, but hey- no judgement here! :) ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyschrantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I've never made salmon that turned out so beautifully! A big bonus was that it was ready in the exact time the recipe said which so many recipes aren't. I left out the lemon juice (personal preference, as it wouldn't have gone with the sauce we had the salmon with) as well as the parsley. I see endless possibilities as far as spices and herbs with this. Thanks so much for an awesome way to cook salmon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyschrantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Soy Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We really enjoyed this. I added some toasted sesame seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everyone in THIS house loved this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Chef John's French Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Best fries I've ever made at home. I will make them like this (double fry) every time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam James
Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I thought this was wonderful!! I used everything called for in the recipe, just added mushrooms and corn. I did add waaaay more curry and sugar than the recipe called for, but that's what suited our taste. Made me think I was a world class chef, it tasted so good! I told my husband, "See, if we would have gone out to eat tonight, this would have easily cost us $30!". Great recipe that doesn't take too long to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Appearance was strange, but tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njthayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States