Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Yay! I am brand new bread maker. I did not use a bread machine. I was able to get 4 hoagie rolls. They may not have been shaped perfect but they were really good! I will never have to buy rolls again! They had lots of air pockets giving a crisp outside and just the right amount of chewiness in the middle. Next time I will use the tip to put pan of water on oven bottom rack to make crispy crust. I used egg white on top of loaves. If you are brand new like me....go to YouTube to look at what yeast proofing and dough rising should look like. My husband thinks they taste like the chain, Jimmy Johns Sub french rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
These are great! 4 oz of saltine crackers is 1 sleeve; 1 cup of butter is 2 sticks; 2 cups of chocolate chips is the whole regular size bag. Hope this helps because I misunderstood some of the directions but made a save by making a double batch. Also, make sure these bake in the center of the oven....my one cookie sheet was too close to the oven wall and burned about a 1/4" in. Put in refrigerator 2 hrs to chill/harden very well. Will be a regular cookie I will make for bake sales and holidays!!! Oh....almost forgot....I topped my chocolate/nuts with tiny sprinkling of Sea Salt which complimented the cookies very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good....I used regular old white sandwich bread...I did add nutmeg because I love nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring. I did not have AP flour so used self rising flour which made it more crispy over fluffy which is what we prefer. I got 13 servings instead of 12 maybe because my bread was thinner??? I will never make French Toast any other way. We are going to a remote cabin this weekend with friends and I am going to pre-make the batter to take with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Garlic Shrimp & Broccoli Couscous

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was a variation of the member recipe, 'Simple Garlic Shrimp'. I wanted to serve it as a family meal, so I added the broccoli & couscous. Drizzled with the garlic sauce, this was delicious! My family loved it and we will make this again. For variation, we might try is to use a sweet element to the sauce, for a 'sweet/sour' taste. The shrimp recipe is a great foundation for any meal, using various grains and vegetables. Or, possibly even as a fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows and Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good...memories from childhood...my Grammie called it Wash Day supper because it is easy and all in one pot. DO NOT USE SPAGHETTI SAUCE! Do not pre-cook the macaroni....just put it in the pot dry to soak up and cook in the tomato, pepper and beef juices. I used 1 can beef broth, 1 can tomato sauce and a can of condensed tomato soup, can of Rotel, jar of canned garden tomatoes from last year, garlic and a little Italian seasoning (1 tsp). Delicious and cheap meal. Used a potato masher to break up the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Vietnamese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very good. I marinated the cukes with carrots/onions in a dressing of rice wine vinegar, cilantro, and honey. Then mixed the mayo with the chili sauce and assembled. The mixture of crunchy/chewy with spicy/sweet is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygirl22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

Ice Cream Base

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was incredible. It set up so quickly and was very creamy-no ice crystals like some of the uncooked versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flygirl22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

Funnel Cakes I

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I was craving a doughnut but had no yeast so I thought...mmmm, funnel cake! The batter was too thick to go through my funnel so I used the ziploc bag tip. My first batch burned. These cook real fast! I did better with the second one which satisfied my sweet craving. It was good but I will need practice cooking them because mine didn't get as crispy as the ones at the fair. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Apple Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was really good and really sweet. I did not make the butter sauce to add on top, and actually I am kind of glad I did not. The cake was moist, which I was worried about but it surprised me. I followed the directions exactly as written. I looked over all the reviews and noticed that not one did a review without some sort of modification to the recipe. I followed the recipe - Great cake, super moist, but a little sweet for my taste. I'm sure you will be very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Grape Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
YUM.... My hubby could not get enough of this salad. I didn't weigh/measure the grapes. I just bought a bag of red and a bag of green grapes that are already in the plastic zipper bags from the grocery store. I am going to make another batch later in the week to take into work....the guys are going to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Taco Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I have made this dip for years. I like putting 1 bell pepper and 1 tomato both chopped and pushed down into the beans, then add the other layers....it gives the dip a freshness and additional crunch. Do Not skip the step of mixing the taco seasoning with the sour cream....that is the main point/secret to this wonderful dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Just made this...quick and easy. Made the dressing while macaroni was cooking. Tastes great! Completely forgot the mustard and now the salad is all in Tuperware chillin in the fridge and the mixing bowl is already in the dishwasher so I will have to add it next time because THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME! UPDATE: Used this dressing w/ only 1/4th cup of sugar to make CHICKEN SALAD...OMG...so freakin good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Butterscotch Monkey Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
YAY! I lost this recipe years ago and have been looking for it ever since....this is one of my favorites too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Didn't cange a thing and it came out perfect! I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe was good. Hubby enjoyed the recipe more than me. I give it 4 stars and hubby gives it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Southern Dill Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very good. Did not have eggs so used Hormel Bacon Pieces. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Pasta Salad a la Honeybear

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I have made a similar pasta salad for years but never added the peppers and artichoke hearts. It was very good. Did add 4T of McCormick Salad Supreme and a little bit of French dressing. But it is 5 star as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I love LOOSE MEAT! I did brown the meat in butter with onion, add some mustard and served in hot dog rolls (all I had) which kept the meat in & less messy. I put white American cheese on and baked until cheese melted and rolls became slightly toasty! I used a POTATO MASHER to help break up the meat!! If your meat is too soupy....boil a little longer until it evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Loosemeat Sandwiches III

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
THESE are great! My husband does not like dill pickles so put hot pepper hoagie relish on his. I put the pepper relish and pickles on mine. I did brown the meat in butter with onion, used chicken broth instead of water and served in hot dog rolls (all I had) which kept the meat in & less messy. I put white American cheese on and baked in foil for 10 min. Tastes like a poor man's Philly Cheese Steak.....this will be a regular lunch item in our house. Next time I might try a little bit of pizza sauce on the roll before baking. USE A POTATO MASHER to help break up the meat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Even my picky eaters ate this and asked no questions about what was in it. It was a nice change to our ordinary menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States