Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

My Kid's Favorite Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I read over this recipe really quick one night and made it for dinner, without the beer since my husband recently had a liver transplant. It was still really good! Then I called my sister and told her about it and she made the same recipe only with chicken, and she said it was awesome! Tonight the hubby did not eat dinner with us so I actually followed the recipe with the beer and it was way better! I love this one, thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookies III

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These were really good but super sweet! Brown Sugar, sugar and honey was a little too much sweet for me, I will be making these again for sure! But, next time I am cutting back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pad Thai

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is an excellent recipe that will become a regular in our house. I made it twice; with shrimp and with chicken. I tripled the sauce, added extra heat using red pepper sauce, and added just less than a tablespoon of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Pepper-Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Chocolate-Port Sauce

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
The sauce was good, not sweet with a ruby port and 72% cacao chocolate. Be sure to use a quality balsamic vinegar. Taking the extra time to caramelize the shallot is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Strata

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was good. I used a multi-grain bread, light cream cheese, and light vanilla silk. In order to reduce the calories, I decided to skip the blueberry syrup on top. But with the base strata, I thought it was very good and the maple syrup added a nice amount of sweetness the blueberries and cream cheese needed. The vanilla silk may have helped with that also. I also added about a teaspoon of salt to the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was very good. I enjoyed the background heat of the chili paste. I used chicken broth and I also blended the finished soup in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wonderful! The only thing I did differently was to slice a small onion and break it into rings rather than using the diced onion called for. My guest and I both felt that the onion made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlueSadie

Chelsea Buns

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
As a new variation, I like to substitute pie cherries and white chocolate chips in place of the raisins. It makes for a great dessert bread that isn't too sweet. I'm glad you all liked the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueSadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna-Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We love this for an easy and healthy lunch or light dinner. Best in summertime, when avocado is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Delicious. I pretty much made this recipe as is (this was the first time making it), but I added my secret ingredient I add to my Banana Bread recipe. My secret ingredient? A 1/4 cup of Apple Butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Housewives of Frederick County

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Thank you so much for this recipe! My husband who will only eat his family's banana bread recipe loved this recipe. I included it on my blog. Here is the link to the post http://housewivesoffrederickcounty.com/chocolate-chip-banana-bread-recipe/ Thank you! Pam www.housewivesoffrederickcounty.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie I

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was a really easy apple pie recipe. Honestly, you just toss everything into a pie shell and bake. I cheated and used a store bought pie crust, which I know took a lot of the taste away. I normally bake my own pie crust and that makes all the difference. It was a little on the sweet side, so next time I will not use as much sugar. I had the same issue with the pie being a little runny, but the next day it was fine. Next time, I will wait a full day before I cut into the pie, if i can wait that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I'm new to using my bread machine and was nervous about using a recipe that went against the instructions that came with my machine. However, the bread is amazing! I've taken to making one loaf at the beginning of the week and then another loaf at the end of the week. My family has been able to avoid buying bread from the store for a whole month! Awesome! The last two weeks I started to use honey instead of sugar to activate the yeast and then used 1 c. of wheat flour along with 2 c. bread flour. I've been using olive oil the whole time and I put in about 1 t. of kosher salt. The results are spectacular! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family has been making a similar dish for years. We use bone-in, skin on thighs and legs, carrots cut into 1 in. pieces as well as potatoes, and thyme instead of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach-Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Sweet & Tart! Best with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Fruit Tart

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Pineapple Sliders

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great Recipe! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Pineapple Sliders

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great Recipe! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States