Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Mustard Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I cut the butter in half as suggested by other reviewers. It tasted good, but the sauce seemed thin. Next time I think I would add a little cornstarch to get it to thicken and glaze better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe. I did add 1/2 cup white wine and 3/4 milk and used 2 small cans of mushrooms because I didnlt have fresh on hand and this turned out incredibly good! I also cooked the onions and sauted mushrooms with some garlic in a seperate pan just to speed things up again and then after deglazing the pan with the white wine and simmering the alcohol off a bit, tossed in the mushroom onions mixture and then tossed in the soup. Next time I may try serving over egg noodles. Definitely a keeper and love how fast it was to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The whole family loved this recipe. Even my 3 extremely picky kids, including my oldest who rarely eats any dinner I make so that says a lot. My husband said "Wow this is really good chicken," and the best part about it was how quick and easy it is to make. I did use half butter and half olive oil in the oil dipping mixture and used about 6-8 minced garlic cloves which I simmered in the butter/olive oil before dipping the chicken into it and I used Panko instead of bread crumbs and then turned up the heat to 425 durung the last half of cooking thinking that might give it a ccrispier crust. This turned out great and will now be a regular meal for us. My only issue was I didnlt spray the pam with cooking spray and it stuck to the pan so I would recommend spraying the pan before cooking. Thanks so much for posting. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great, easy recipe especially if you have a stand mixer with a dough hook. I thought it turned out best when I used 3 cups all-purpose flour and omitted the bread flour. I made regular pretzels, pretzel sticks and pretzel bites. All turned out great. Even my daughter who isn't big on pretzels ate one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this twice now in the last 2 weeks and LOVE it!! So very good. The first time I did nlt have beef broth or sherry so I used 2 bullion cubes and 3 cups water to ake a little extra gravy and I used white cooking wine instead of Sherry and it was very good. The gravy is great on potatoes on the side also which is what I did. I also shortened the baking time to about 20 minutes and an additional 15 because I think I cooked it a little longer when I pan fried it. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet which i just used to put straight into the oven and made making the gravy easy. The second time I used fresh button mushrooms aand actual beef broth but still used the white wine since it was so darn tasty the first time. Definitely a kepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My family loved these meatballs. I thought they were a little on the spicy side but they made great meatball sandwiches and I have enough left over for spaghetti and meatballs tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was ok as is. It had an odd taste and smell to it. After looking at some similar recipes on here, I added 1 cup Thousand Island dressing, 1 cup apricot preserves, 1/4 cup red wine, 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then I cooked the sauce another 1/2 hour or so. That made it taste a lot better, but I'm not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Wow, this really works in the slow cooker! I've been making this same thing for years, but by tossing cut up chicken with dressing mix to coat, brown it in tbsp. butter and tbsp. olive oil in skillet, meanwhile heat cream cheese and soup in microwave until cream cheese melts, stir to combine, and then add cooked chicken to sauce. So I had some doubts about it turning out as well with the slow cooker method, but it worked great! The chicken pieces did brown a little, and I used 2 tbsp. butter not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe as is! However, if you get upset with reviewers who make changes, then read no further :) I've made this several times, and have adjusted to accommodate what I had on hand. I use frozen, cubed bacon "lardons" with some chopped up carrot and celery as the first step, rather than adding bacon at the end. Once the bacon has rendered and the carrots are starting to caramelize, then I add the broth. I didn't have green onions on hand or wild rice, so I used long grain rice. I used seasoned salt instead of regular, omitted the poultry seasoning and used milk instead of half-and-half. The sherry adds great flavor, so don't skip that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Simple Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this as a crustless pumpkin pie....just put the filling in a casserole dish and baked it. Topped it with whipped cream while still warm....quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I'm a big fan of Indian food and this is the BEST homemade tikka masala I've tried. The only change I made was using regular butter instead of ghee. I love that I could easily find the ingredients in my cupboard or fridge and didn't need to go to a specialty shop. Thanks so much for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is the best tartar sauce I have ever had! I sometimes substitute finely chopped dill pickle for the relish, and that's pretty good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Banana Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Delicious! I had to rate it right away. We ate some straight out of the oven. I followed the recipe for measurements but I had to change a few things because of what I had in the house. Used old frozen bananas that I'd let thaw over night in the fridge, and since I wanted to use all three, it was more than a cup of bananas. I left the "juice" in from those, too. I shredded the apples with a box grater (easier than I thought it'd be.) I used granny smith apples. I used butter-flavored shortening since that's all we had. Didn't have vanilla (what?!?!) so I used almond extract and a tiny bit of cinnamon extract since the almond was gone too. We also had no buttermilk, so I used a tablespoon of vinegar and filled to 1 cup of milk in a measuring cup, then let that sit 5 minutes and used 1/4 of it. Seemed weird, but our "cupcakes" turned out awesome! They were perfect after 22 minutes. Perfectly moist, as well. The ones in my baking stone muffin pan were perfect, the ones in the tin didn't rise as much. I had two 3 year olds help with this, and they loved it and loved the end result, too! Going to hit the store and make some caramel-like frosting for them to finish them tomorrow evening :) I really hope these are as amazing cooled and day-old as they were tonight (I think they will be!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fuller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Just OK as written, with a change from garlic salt to 2 cloves minced garlic (sautéed in the butter first) and 1/2 tsp. salt. If I make this again I would double the basil and reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Honey Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made the recipe as is before serving a added a simple sugar glaze to the top. I took this to a church function and the cake was gone within minutes. Everyone raved about it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was very good. I added a stalk of celery finely chopped and omitted the carrots and pimento. I used olive oil mayo and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is stupendous... Thought I'd give it a shot despite the fact that not many people had rated it. It's wonderful. Chef John scores again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasTon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies V

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Well... These "No Bake Cookies V" were definitely a notable recipe, granted they were not the best No Bakes' I've ever tried but they were good. The Cocoa powder was a smart addition and gave it a chocolate bite. All together it was great and quite easy so make and consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Beef Noodle Skillet Gluten Free

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Worked great with Tinkyada Brown Rice Spirals with Rice Bran to make it gluten free. These noodles cooked perfectly as directed. The only diced tomatoes I had were Rotel mild with green chilies, which gave it a nice little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Beef Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Worked great with Tinkyada Brown Rice Spirals with Rice Bran to make it gluten free. These noodles cooked perfectly as directed. The only diced tomatoes I had were Rotel mild with green chilies, which gave it a nice little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States