Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Campbell's Kitchen Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Had egg noodles,chicken,1 big fresh mushroom, a can of mushrooms, milk, 3 tBl of sour cream,feta, dried garlic (okay I was lazy) ran next door to get mushroom soup and fresh parsley. I found the recipe, threw this altogether, crumbled crackers on top and baked. Lovely meal. One less restaurant meal and I'd make it again tomorrow but I'll have left overs which I will gobble up at work!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
That was awesome and so simple to make. I like my Thai a little more spicy so I added more red pepper flakes. we had ours over white rice and I made Ramen noodles with soy sauce and sesame oil(lo mein) for the kids to eat with it.. it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Egg Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used Miracle Whip and Greek yogurt. The taste was great, and consistency perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Ketchup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Pretty good, but a bit too sweet. Next time I would reduce the sugar and increase the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
OMG!! These ae to die for. My husband and I both said these are the absolute best cookies we have ever tasted. Seriously. I followed the recipe exactly and used some Smuckers Black rasberry Simply Fruit spreadable fruit and it worked perfectly. The first time I made them I used another kind of preserves and it was a little more runny. The spreadable fruit is perfect for these cookies. I made the indentation with a 1/2 tsp spoon and filled it with about 1/2 tsp in each cookie. I normally might eat 1 or 2 cookies after I make a batch but these I just can't stop eating. Not sure if that's a good thing. Even the kids kept asking for more and I had to stop them and tell them they have had enough and that is unusual for my kids. Only thing I did was put the dough in the fridge for about 3 minutes which I thik helped keep them from spreading a little and made sure there was a nice deep crater for the jelly so it doesnlt overflow over the side. I baked them about 14 minutes and they are perfect. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made this with frozen and thawed Brussels sprouts, and that may have been a mistake. I think it would have been better with fresh because these turned out mushy. But the taste was very good, and I want to make again with fresh brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best PB cookie recipe ever. I have made these numerous times now. sometimes changing it just a bit each time. I usually add a TSP cvanilla and use half white half brown sugar. Also tried it with some chocolate chips which is great too. The last couple times also added a couple TBS flour and 1/2 TSP baking soda and I found that makes them even better for us but is great just as written as well. I never knew I was a PB cookie lover until I made these. The simplicity of making them is an added bonus. From Start to finish and able to be eating a fresh baked delicious cookie in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Original Ranch Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This gets 5 stars from me because of how invredibly simple it is. Trust me when you are exhausted after taking care of 3 toddlers all day a quick easy meal that actually tastes great definitely earns 5 stars in my book. Made exactly as recipe stated with boneless chops about 1/2 thick. They were a little salty. I used a seasoning packet that said Ranch Dips. Not sure if that is the exact same thing as the regular ranch packet but it was great. next time I may use a few more pork chops or a little less seasoning. Still 5 stars though. Thanks for the recipe. Definitely will be making this again. I almost felt like I got to take a night off from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Mis Vaper

Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I would give this 6 stars if I could. This just might be the absolute best cookie I have EVER had. I did make a couple small additions. I added about 1/4 cup flour just to make it a little less like straight peanut butter, a tsp baking soda, and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Other than that everything was the same. I used red rasberry preserves and the whole family can not stop eatting them. I may never get into a bathing suit this summer with these cookies around. The first batch I flattened them a bit too much with the fork criss cross pattern. The second I just barely pressed them down and make sure you do not make the divit for the preserves too deep or it will go right through the cookie. I used a 1/4 Tsp to make the hole. seriously the best cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great cookie. My husband and I love butterscoitch and I love oatmeal cookies so it was a perfect combination. Only thing I changed was cooked at 350 andused a whole cup of butter as well as greased the pan a little with som pam. I did find that when I used a cookie scooper for the first batch the edges browned while the center was still a little runny so I flattened them down a little for the next 2 batches and they were perfect. Will definitely be making these again. I think I will use this same recipe for oatmmeal raisin cookies instead of butterscitch for a change when we feel like oatmeal raisin cookies. These were soft and fluffy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Sweet Mustard Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I cut the butter in half as suggested by other reviewers. It tasted good, but the sauce seemed thin. Next time I think I would add a little cornstarch to get it to thicken and glaze better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe. I did add 1/2 cup white wine and 3/4 milk and used 2 small cans of mushrooms because I didnlt have fresh on hand and this turned out incredibly good! I also cooked the onions and sauted mushrooms with some garlic in a seperate pan just to speed things up again and then after deglazing the pan with the white wine and simmering the alcohol off a bit, tossed in the mushroom onions mixture and then tossed in the soup. Next time I may try serving over egg noodles. Definitely a keeper and love how fast it was to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The whole family loved this recipe. Even my 3 extremely picky kids, including my oldest who rarely eats any dinner I make so that says a lot. My husband said "Wow this is really good chicken," and the best part about it was how quick and easy it is to make. I did use half butter and half olive oil in the oil dipping mixture and used about 6-8 minced garlic cloves which I simmered in the butter/olive oil before dipping the chicken into it and I used Panko instead of bread crumbs and then turned up the heat to 425 durung the last half of cooking thinking that might give it a ccrispier crust. This turned out great and will now be a regular meal for us. My only issue was I didnlt spray the pam with cooking spray and it stuck to the pan so I would recommend spraying the pan before cooking. Thanks so much for posting. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great, easy recipe especially if you have a stand mixer with a dough hook. I thought it turned out best when I used 3 cups all-purpose flour and omitted the bread flour. I made regular pretzels, pretzel sticks and pretzel bites. All turned out great. Even my daughter who isn't big on pretzels ate one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this twice now in the last 2 weeks and LOVE it!! So very good. The first time I did nlt have beef broth or sherry so I used 2 bullion cubes and 3 cups water to ake a little extra gravy and I used white cooking wine instead of Sherry and it was very good. The gravy is great on potatoes on the side also which is what I did. I also shortened the baking time to about 20 minutes and an additional 15 because I think I cooked it a little longer when I pan fried it. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet which i just used to put straight into the oven and made making the gravy easy. The second time I used fresh button mushrooms aand actual beef broth but still used the white wine since it was so darn tasty the first time. Definitely a kepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My family loved these meatballs. I thought they were a little on the spicy side but they made great meatball sandwiches and I have enough left over for spaghetti and meatballs tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was ok as is. It had an odd taste and smell to it. After looking at some similar recipes on here, I added 1 cup Thousand Island dressing, 1 cup apricot preserves, 1/4 cup red wine, 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then I cooked the sauce another 1/2 hour or so. That made it taste a lot better, but I'm not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Wow, this really works in the slow cooker! I've been making this same thing for years, but by tossing cut up chicken with dressing mix to coat, brown it in tbsp. butter and tbsp. olive oil in skillet, meanwhile heat cream cheese and soup in microwave until cream cheese melts, stir to combine, and then add cooked chicken to sauce. So I had some doubts about it turning out as well with the slow cooker method, but it worked great! The chicken pieces did brown a little, and I used 2 tbsp. butter not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe as is! However, if you get upset with reviewers who make changes, then read no further :) I've made this several times, and have adjusted to accommodate what I had on hand. I use frozen, cubed bacon "lardons" with some chopped up carrot and celery as the first step, rather than adding bacon at the end. Once the bacon has rendered and the carrots are starting to caramelize, then I add the broth. I didn't have green onions on hand or wild rice, so I used long grain rice. I used seasoned salt instead of regular, omitted the poultry seasoning and used milk instead of half-and-half. The sherry adds great flavor, so don't skip that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Simple Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this as a crustless pumpkin pie....just put the filling in a casserole dish and baked it. Topped it with whipped cream while still warm....quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States