Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Apple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Apples, cabbage, and whole pork loin were on sale so I went looking for a recipe using all 3 and found this. Since many reviews complained of dry meat and a lack of flavor I decided to cut a roughly 2 lb roast off my whole loin instead of cutting chops, and I doubled the spices. I did not use meat tenderizer, and did salt and pepper the meat before browning it on all sides. The meat was so tender and delishious. The cabbage was flavorful. I would make it again just as a roast not as chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Potato Candy

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
When I was a child my mother would make this candy if we had leftover mashed potatoes. I don't remember her using vanilla extract, but that was a very long time ago. For Christmas you can roll it in red or green colored sugar to coat the outside and make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
OMG I love this!!! These were the alterations I made. Used vegetarian bouillon (Better than Bouillon is the best and vegetarian flavor tastes better than the chicken flavor)for quinoa. I used roasted red tomatoes in herbed olive oil because I had no fresh tomatoes. I had no lime so used fresh lemon. I used fresh parsley and some dried cilantro. I steamed some kale and added (great colors and nutrient rich) and I love crunch so I added slivered almonds. It was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti Squash Lasagna Style

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very good! I am a new vegetarian and am trying to find fresh meals for my family to eat that will please all of us. This was easy to make and a different use of Spaghetti Squash. I did add Lasagna noodles because I was worried it would not hold its shape. My children are asking me to make it again so it must have been a hit. I think next time I am going to add a layer of spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Mozzarella Bites

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Turned out very good. I made these for a Halloween Party and everyone loved them. I used cherry tomatoes, mozzarella balls and sprinkled basil with a little salt and pepper on top. I did not have basil leaves so I just used what I had in my spice cabinet. They all turned out very good and the display was eye catching. Thanks for a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cheesecake I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used a springform pan and made a graham cracker crust instead of baking 2. It was still done in 50 minutes as recipe states. Everybody at our Thanksgiving dinner loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
So simple and easy yet still delicious! I followed the recipe exactly exept (hahsm isn't that what everyone says)I used only 1 stick (1/2 cup)butter and almost 1/2 cup applesauce. I found this recipe while looking for a recipe I could use to replace some butter with applesauce to make a less fat recipe. It turned out incredibly delicious, I made it this afternoon and there is only about 1/4 left. My kids and hubby devoured it. Ok Ok I heloped. I think I have cut myself a 1 inch piece almost every time I walked into the kitchen this afternoon too. I just couldn't help myslef. Personnally I would give the taste 4 stars but being that it was so incredibly simple to make I gave it the full 5 stars. It doesnlt gt much easier. Next time, maybe tomorrow, I am going to try it with half butter half applesauce and will post teh results. Also I may add just a little more of the rasberry preserves. Probably about 1 1/4 cups. I felt it could use a little more. If you are short on time or are just looking for a super simple recipe that still tastes great this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Mis Vaper

No Fail Bean Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious!! I have made this about 10 times now. My husband loves them. I actually use 3 cans of beans now and increse all the other ingredients accordingly because I like my pie crust to be full to the brim. I then also have to ccok it a little longer. We use to get bean pies in the city of Baltimore but we now live an hour away so I was looking to try to make my own and this recipe is perfect. People think a "bean pie" does not sound like it would be good and are always pleasanytly surprised when they try it. I usually say it is similar to a sweet potato pie. If you like sweet potato pie you will probably like this recipe. Great with a little whipped cream or cool whip. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Pretty good! We used melted butter instead of oil, and 2 cups of buttermilk rather than powdered and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Apple Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This has become a family favorite. Even people who normally don't like cole slaw like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great gravy, but this recipe has errors so I couldn't give it a 5. First, it calls for twice the milk needed and would be very runny made as stated. 2 cups is plenty, 2-1/2 if you like it thinner. Also, I have never cooked a roux longer than 3-5 minutes. The reviewer who complained of burnt bacon taste should try greatly reducing roux cooking time, and stir constantly. As a general rule for nice, thick sauces made with a roux (fried flour) you should use a ratio of 2 tbsp. fat to 2 tbsp. flour per 1 cup of liquid. Stir constantly and have patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Cakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made as written. Loved it. Will add a little cayenne and a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Creamed Spinach from Oikos®

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It has a different taste then what we usually expect for creamed spinach. For us the tang of the yogurt didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Great especially considering how quick and easy they are. Only mmodifivacations were using garlic powder and I flipped half way through as well as took the foil off the last 15 min and even broiled last couple minutes. Definitely not for those looking for a low cal meal. I used regular butter crackers, generic brand, and 6 boneless 1/2 inch chops. Only used half the butter and it was still plenty. I would say DEFINITELY Flip chops half way through and broil the last 5 minutes or so until crispy unless you want them soggy. It was incredibly good. I did need to add a touch of salt to mine after I cooked them but I think that is because I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt cause that is what I had on hand, but they were perfect. 5 stars because it was easy and tastes good. That gets 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Worked like a charm with no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Boy was this thick! I'd always heard a basic ratio of 1 part oil to one part flour when making a roux, so I was hesitant but went with the 3/4 cup flour. Next time I will reduce the amount of flour. I took the advice of several reviewers and used bacon grease. The taste was good. Some people had said there was a strong taste of flour; that happens if you do not cook the flour long enough before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made as stated, except added a little turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Had egg noodles,chicken,1 big fresh mushroom, a can of mushrooms, milk, 3 tBl of sour cream,feta, dried garlic (okay I was lazy) ran next door to get mushroom soup and fresh parsley. I found the recipe, threw this altogether, crumbled crackers on top and baked. Lovely meal. One less restaurant meal and I'd make it again tomorrow but I'll have left overs which I will gobble up at work!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
That was awesome and so simple to make. I like my Thai a little more spicy so I added more red pepper flakes. we had ours over white rice and I made Ramen noodles with soy sauce and sesame oil(lo mein) for the kids to eat with it.. it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Egg Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used Miracle Whip and Greek yogurt. The taste was great, and consistency perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States