Frederick, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mis Vaper

No Fail Bean Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious!! I have made this about 10 times now. My husband loves them. I actually use 3 cans of beans now and increse all the other ingredients accordingly because I like my pie crust to be full to the brim. I then also have to ccok it a little longer. We use to get bean pies in the city of Baltimore but we now live an hour away so I was looking to try to make my own and this recipe is perfect. People think a "bean pie" does not sound like it would be good and are always pleasanytly surprised when they try it. I usually say it is similar to a sweet potato pie. If you like sweet potato pie you will probably like this recipe. Great with a little whipped cream or cool whip. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Pretty good! We used melted butter instead of oil, and 2 cups of buttermilk rather than powdered and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This has become a family favorite. Even people who normally don't like cole slaw like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great gravy, but this recipe has errors so I couldn't give it a 5. First, it calls for twice the milk needed and would be very runny made as stated. 2 cups is plenty, 2-1/2 if you like it thinner. Also, I have never cooked a roux longer than 3-5 minutes. The reviewer who complained of burnt bacon taste should try greatly reducing roux cooking time, and stir constantly. As a general rule for nice, thick sauces made with a roux (fried flour) you should use a ratio of 2 tbsp. fat to 2 tbsp. flour per 1 cup of liquid. Stir constantly and have patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Cakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made as written. Loved it. Will add a little cayenne and a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Creamed Spinach from Oikos®

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It has a different taste then what we usually expect for creamed spinach. For us the tang of the yogurt didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Great especially considering how quick and easy they are. Only mmodifivacations were using garlic powder and I flipped half way through as well as took the foil off the last 15 min and even broiled last couple minutes. Definitely not for those looking for a low cal meal. I used regular butter crackers, generic brand, and 6 boneless 1/2 inch chops. Only used half the butter and it was still plenty. I would say DEFINITELY Flip chops half way through and broil the last 5 minutes or so until crispy unless you want them soggy. It was incredibly good. I did need to add a touch of salt to mine after I cooked them but I think that is because I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt cause that is what I had on hand, but they were perfect. 5 stars because it was easy and tastes good. That gets 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Worked like a charm with no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Boy was this thick! I'd always heard a basic ratio of 1 part oil to one part flour when making a roux, so I was hesitant but went with the 3/4 cup flour. Next time I will reduce the amount of flour. I took the advice of several reviewers and used bacon grease. The taste was good. Some people had said there was a strong taste of flour; that happens if you do not cook the flour long enough before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made as stated, except added a little turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Had egg noodles,chicken,1 big fresh mushroom, a can of mushrooms, milk, 3 tBl of sour cream,feta, dried garlic (okay I was lazy) ran next door to get mushroom soup and fresh parsley. I found the recipe, threw this altogether, crumbled crackers on top and baked. Lovely meal. One less restaurant meal and I'd make it again tomorrow but I'll have left overs which I will gobble up at work!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
That was awesome and so simple to make. I like my Thai a little more spicy so I added more red pepper flakes. we had ours over white rice and I made Ramen noodles with soy sauce and sesame oil(lo mein) for the kids to eat with it.. it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Egg Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used Miracle Whip and Greek yogurt. The taste was great, and consistency perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Ketchup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Pretty good, but a bit too sweet. Next time I would reduce the sugar and increase the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
OMG!! These ae to die for. My husband and I both said these are the absolute best cookies we have ever tasted. Seriously. I followed the recipe exactly and used some Smuckers Black rasberry Simply Fruit spreadable fruit and it worked perfectly. The first time I made them I used another kind of preserves and it was a little more runny. The spreadable fruit is perfect for these cookies. I made the indentation with a 1/2 tsp spoon and filled it with about 1/2 tsp in each cookie. I normally might eat 1 or 2 cookies after I make a batch but these I just can't stop eating. Not sure if that's a good thing. Even the kids kept asking for more and I had to stop them and tell them they have had enough and that is unusual for my kids. Only thing I did was put the dough in the fridge for about 3 minutes which I thik helped keep them from spreading a little and made sure there was a nice deep crater for the jelly so it doesnlt overflow over the side. I baked them about 14 minutes and they are perfect. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made this with frozen and thawed Brussels sprouts, and that may have been a mistake. I think it would have been better with fresh because these turned out mushy. But the taste was very good, and I want to make again with fresh brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best PB cookie recipe ever. I have made these numerous times now. sometimes changing it just a bit each time. I usually add a TSP cvanilla and use half white half brown sugar. Also tried it with some chocolate chips which is great too. The last couple times also added a couple TBS flour and 1/2 TSP baking soda and I found that makes them even better for us but is great just as written as well. I never knew I was a PB cookie lover until I made these. The simplicity of making them is an added bonus. From Start to finish and able to be eating a fresh baked delicious cookie in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Original Ranch Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This gets 5 stars from me because of how invredibly simple it is. Trust me when you are exhausted after taking care of 3 toddlers all day a quick easy meal that actually tastes great definitely earns 5 stars in my book. Made exactly as recipe stated with boneless chops about 1/2 thick. They were a little salty. I used a seasoning packet that said Ranch Dips. Not sure if that is the exact same thing as the regular ranch packet but it was great. next time I may use a few more pork chops or a little less seasoning. Still 5 stars though. Thanks for the recipe. Definitely will be making this again. I almost felt like I got to take a night off from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Mis Vaper

Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I would give this 6 stars if I could. This just might be the absolute best cookie I have EVER had. I did make a couple small additions. I added about 1/4 cup flour just to make it a little less like straight peanut butter, a tsp baking soda, and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Other than that everything was the same. I used red rasberry preserves and the whole family can not stop eatting them. I may never get into a bathing suit this summer with these cookies around. The first batch I flattened them a bit too much with the fork criss cross pattern. The second I just barely pressed them down and make sure you do not make the divit for the preserves too deep or it will go right through the cookie. I used a 1/4 Tsp to make the hole. seriously the best cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great cookie. My husband and I love butterscoitch and I love oatmeal cookies so it was a perfect combination. Only thing I changed was cooked at 350 andused a whole cup of butter as well as greased the pan a little with som pam. I did find that when I used a cookie scooper for the first batch the edges browned while the center was still a little runny so I flattened them down a little for the next 2 batches and they were perfect. Will definitely be making these again. I think I will use this same recipe for oatmmeal raisin cookies instead of butterscitch for a change when we feel like oatmeal raisin cookies. These were soft and fluffy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States