Ellicott City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chili Cumin Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I usually don't care for chicken breasts because they have a tendency to be very dry. However, cooking the chicken breasts this way, in a crockpot, made them very moist. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crabless Chicken Cakes

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good. I browned them using coconut oil and they came out crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Banana Yeast Bread - Recipe Detail - BakeSpace.com

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
used 3 large bananas, very delicious, but wished the banana flavor was more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren11

Cheater Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
After Thanksgiving I wanted something quick and easy to make with the leftover turkey. This recipe was the winner. I used about 1 cup of turkey as opposed to chicken and instead of frozen vegetables, I used can green beans (since I had no peas) creamed corn (since we didn't have regular corn) baby carrots and mushrooms. I opted to cook everything in the sauce pan and added 1 can of creamed chicken (since I used a can of creamed corn) as well as milk to get the desired consistancy. For the pie portion of this recipe, I rolled out a defrosted frozen pie crust (A leftover, since its mate was used in a pie the night before), cut shapes with cookie cutters and baked in the oven per package directions to make pie crust cookies to serve on top of the pot pie. Definitly a cheater pot pie. I must say. I enjoyed the slight sweetness the creamed corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Photo by lauren11

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Only change I made to this recipe was to substitute 2 cups of white sugar for 1 cup white 1 cup brown. Since I didn't want a cake, I made 24 cupcakes and must say they are delicious. *For the icing I only needed 2 cups of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Caramel Apple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Made this recipe with the suggestions (marinated in soysauce/apple juice mix and baked on 350 for 25 min) of others and was pleasantly surprised. Certainly an ideal fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Super easy and makes a great pie. I tooke the advice of a previous review and heated the pumpkin and spices prior to mixing everthing together. I'm not sure if it made a big difference as I've only made one other pumpkin pie before, but everyone one was impressed with the flavor. I sure keeper...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
WOW, WOW, WOW!!! This is a must keep recipe. I hosted my first T-giving yesterday and had both my parents and in-laws (seasoned veterians of the holiday) and everyone raved about the taste and moisture of the meat. My brother in law said it was the best turkey he's ever had. The only thing I did differently was added a few cups of apple juice. I used the Alton Brown method of cooking and carving the turkey and it came out beautifully. I also made the Alton Brown red wine gravy and the drippings made it very flavorful but you would not need to add salt to the gravy as the brine adds enough. My wife was a little sceptical about brining but was very impressed by the end result. THANK YOU for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is an excellent recipe, and my family really liked it. For health reasons, I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of 3/4 cup white sugar. I agree with slicing the apples thin (I slice them about 1/8" thick) because this gives the pie a much better texture, making it a little crispy and fresh, but not overly crunchy and raw like some apple pies that slice the apples in larger sections (like 3/4" thick). Personal family preference led to me using twice the cinnamon and walnuts. I also replace the raisins with dried cranberries instead. The pie was a winner. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcg777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I thought the salsa idea, to replace the typical onion, green pepper, and tomato sauce, was a good one. The meatloaf turned out to be very tasty, and my family enjoyed it. I think I would avoid using salsa with a lot of cilantro, however. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcg777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Banana Muffins with a Crunch

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and compensated the rest of butter with oil. I didn't have milk so I used 1/2 cup condensed milk and 1/4 cup water. Didn't have banana chips so sprinkled the top with more granola mix. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf Salad II

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
In order to make this a meal, I added a diced cooked rotisserie chicken and 1/2C shredded coconut. I also doubled the dressing. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Coconut Pie (Spaghetti Squash Pie)

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Just recently, I've started to use coconut oil, coconut flour and shredded coconut when cooking due to the health benefits of coconut. When my husband brought home 3 spaghetti squash I thought this would be a great recipe to try. I used coconut oil instead of butter,3/4 C of sugar (since so many reviewers said 1 C was too sweet) ,put a few drops of almond extract instead of the lemon juice & added some shredded coconut. I put it into a casserole dish and it came out like an egg custard. It was DELICIOUS! I will definitely make this again, but I'll decrease the sugar to 2/3 C since it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was so easy and is now one of our favorit soups to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I've made several versions of lasagna and this was by far the best. I can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Baked Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Easy but delicious. Only change was that, instead of butter I used coconut oil. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cookies V

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Very good cookie! To save some fat, I used 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup of applesauce in place of the 2 cups of shortening. They turned out amazing - my cookies turned out looking like the kaspmary picture. Only other thing I did, based upon other reviews, was use 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon, but felt they were still a little too bland for me, so I also added about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. Dipping the cookies in the icing worked out great. I cooked mine for 16 minutes at 350. I used a medium-sized cookie scoop. Definitely smooth the "sticky-uppy" parts after the dough is on the cookie sheet (I used insulated cookie sheets, too). Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies I

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Only change I made was to use smooth peanut butter and I used the new Jif Natural. The cookies turned out perfectly!! My little guy is gobbling them up. Thanks for the recipe. The boiling time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauce Rosee

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I had a craving for tortellini in rosee sauce with sausage after having it at a local restaurant. This recipe did not disappoint! I browned the sausage in the olive oil and herb mixture, then removed the sausage and added the wine to let it reduce for a bit. I then followed the recipe, adding my cut up sausage before the cream after having let them sit for a bit to let the juices settle. I used a mixture of sweet and hot italian sausage. This was the best pasta dish I've made at home ever and will be my go to meal. It's easy, not too expensive to prepare, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States