Ellicott City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fabulous recipe! I was looking for a ranch seasoning recipe ever since I read the ingredients on the commercially produced ranch mix - it is full of MSG and soybean oil (if you don't know the dangers of soybean, research it on the web). The only modifications I made to this recipe is that I cut the salt and added 1/8 tsp. dill weed. Thanks BEC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken, Asparagus, and Mushroom Skillet

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and found that the dish had little flavor and not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Camp David Spaghetti with Italian Sausage

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This recipe got rave reviews from the family. I doubled the recipe and am so glad I did! Like others, I crumbled the sausage (I used lean turkey Italian sausage links) and cooked it with the ground beef mixture. Absolutely wonderful! This will be our permanent spaghetti sauce recipe. Just as an FYI, if you prepare it this way, the sauce is VERY meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portabella Nirvana

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I used imitation crab, left out the crackers (low carb), and added some Old Bay Seasoning.....Fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tetrazzini IV

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I followed the directions but found the dish lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I increased the sugar to 2 tablespoons and added some ground cinnamon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I thought this was good, but my husband LOVED it. (I used frozen green beans instead of fresh)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The only changes I made, were that I used thighs instead of breasts (I think breasts are too dry) and since I don't eat pork, I wrapped pastrami around the stuffed chicken instead of bacon. It was FABULOUS tasting and SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Neptune's Favor

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
DELICIOUS! A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
In order to make this a meal, I added a diced cooked rotisserie chicken and 1/2C shredded coconut. I also doubled the dressing. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Beet, Crab and Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Beet flavor was too overpowering in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Gingersnaps

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars because they were made for my husband and they were not to his liking. First of all, my husband LOVES ginger cookies and is very particular about how they should be. He said these cookies did not have enough ginger in them (even though I added 1/2 tbsp. more ginger plus some allspice AND black pepper). Also, he likes his cookies VERY crunchy and these cookies were crispy on the outside but chewy inside. I guess I will have to continue my search for his perfect ginger cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Cut my own cabbage and carrots which made about triple the amount. I tripled everything except for the sugar (doubled) and it is delicious. Use apple cider vinegar. I'm serving it tomorrow but already know it's going to be a hit as my wife said the it was the best slaw shes ever had! Great recipe, definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I had extra cabbage (1/2 head regular and 1/2 head red) after making the Sweet Restaurant Slaw recipe, which I would highly recommend. Not knowing what to do with it I found this recipe and must say I'm glad I did. I used about a full head of cabbage and cut the rest of the ingredients in half except for the sauce. It seemed to need more rice when I was putting it together, which was a bit of a mistake as it got a little thick. Other changes were that I added more salt than called for and added a good amount of pepper. I also added a table spoon of worcestershire sauce and chili powder, and a tsp of ginger to the tomato sauce. When I pulled it out at the hour mark, I sprinkled in 2 T of brown sugar before mixing. I have made stuffed cabbage with a similar sauce. It came out great and my wife loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Cumin Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I usually don't care for chicken breasts because they have a tendency to be very dry. However, cooking the chicken breasts this way, in a crockpot, made them very moist. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crabless Chicken Cakes

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good. I browned them using coconut oil and they came out crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Banana Yeast Bread - Recipe Detail - BakeSpace.com

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
used 3 large bananas, very delicious, but wished the banana flavor was more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren11

Cheater Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
After Thanksgiving I wanted something quick and easy to make with the leftover turkey. This recipe was the winner. I used about 1 cup of turkey as opposed to chicken and instead of frozen vegetables, I used can green beans (since I had no peas) creamed corn (since we didn't have regular corn) baby carrots and mushrooms. I opted to cook everything in the sauce pan and added 1 can of creamed chicken (since I used a can of creamed corn) as well as milk to get the desired consistancy. For the pie portion of this recipe, I rolled out a defrosted frozen pie crust (A leftover, since its mate was used in a pie the night before), cut shapes with cookie cutters and baked in the oven per package directions to make pie crust cookies to serve on top of the pot pie. Definitly a cheater pot pie. I must say. I enjoyed the slight sweetness the creamed corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Photo by lauren11

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Only change I made to this recipe was to substitute 2 cups of white sugar for 1 cup white 1 cup brown. Since I didn't want a cake, I made 24 cupcakes and must say they are delicious. *For the icing I only needed 2 cups of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States