Ellicott City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Chocolate Bliss Chunk Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I was tired of using the recipe I had for Chocolate Chip Cookies - they were good, but I have had better. I tried this recipe...this is my new "keeper". Excellent!! Beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Fish Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I just had to write a review about this recipe. This is probably the best stew/soup I have ever had. The only change I made was to half the amount of pepper because I don't like my pepper to overpower the other flavors in the dish. This was sooo good I wouldn't hesitate to serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adam's GameDay Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
If do say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This recipe is excellent!! I took some tips from other reviews and substituted about a C of apple sauce and 1/4 C of OJ for the oil. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar (1C each). I also added about a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I topped the bread with thin slices of apple for decoartion. Came out great and I'm by no means a baker!! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Bisque

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Love this soup! I add just a bit more salt, but other than that small addition, I make it just as the recipe states. My family looks forward to this soup each Fall. I do use fat free half and half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Yeast Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Love this bread! Only changes I make (for our family's tastes) are that I change the margarine to butter (to save the trans fat), I increase the cinnamon by 1/4 tsp. and add 1/8 tsp. cloves. I also use two cups of white bread flour and one cup of wheat flour. Has a great mild flavor and nice texture. I make the dough in the bread machine and then braid the dough (like challah) and bake at 350 degrees for approx. 25 minutes. Brush with melted butter (just a little!) when it comes out of the oven. YUM! My six-year-old especially loves this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made these two ways - traditional with the criss-cross on top and by making "drop" cookies and adding peanut butter chips to the cookie dough. Both ways are fantastic! Very good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
The first time I made Monkey Bread and it turned out great. My little guy gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steve's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Delicious! Used 1 tsp. of dried herbs for all of the herbs (didn't have fresh on-hand). Used half of the noodles, since we like to have some broth in our soup. Little one was sick and this was "just what the doctor ordered". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies II

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Delicious! My husband's favorite cookie and this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Cereal Energy Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Excellent.....everyone loved these. This will be something I make on a regular basis vs. the store bought versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISHME

Honey Walnut Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very easy and great tasting. I only used 1/2 tablespoon of the sweet condensed milk and it was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
reallllly good muffins. I substituted whole wheat flour but everything else as is & they came out great. However next time I think that I will add more walnuts & raisons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe to base a great recipe off of. I swapped the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. Added fiber & ground flax for a "healthy" muffin. I also added 1/4 cup more banana and peanut butter to make the flavor & nutrition pop. Make sure to use old banana's (the blacker ones) thats where all the sweetnes is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Tangy Chicken Fajitas

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used the bottled Italian dressing as others recommended. I also used a package of frozen stirfry peppers and onions. After everything marinated, I cooked the chicken and veggies on the stovetop in a pan. I served it with salsa, sour cream and shredded cheese (no tortillas since my husband and I limit our carbs). It was FABULOUS! Good enough to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Absolutely awesome!!! Took another reviews suggestion and used the rub from the "blue ribbon ribs" recipe. Came out great! I don't use liquid smoke in the sauce but put a couple drops on the foil that I wrap the ribs with. I also add a little chipotle powder to sauce to add smokeyness to sauce. No need to go out for ribs, this is better than any rib place. Thank you Mr. Hibb!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerk Seasoning

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I have to admit that I don't usually like spicy food, so I've never eaten anything with jerk seasoning on it. Having said that, other than eliminating the cayenne pepper, I followed the recipe and LOVED it! I always prefer to make my own seasoning mixes rather than buy commercial ones that have a lot of nasty unnecessary ingredients in them. Thank you Celia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Flank Steak with Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I'd give this 6 stars if I could. This recipe is fabulous, so full of flavor. I can't wait to serve this to company and bask in the many compliments. I made the jerk seasoning from a recipe on this site so I wouldn't have to use a commercial product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
What a fabulous recipe! I was looking for a ranch seasoning recipe ever since I read the ingredients on the commercially produced ranch mix - it is full of MSG and soybean oil (if you don't know the dangers of soybean, research it on the web). The only modifications I made to this recipe is that I cut the salt and added 1/8 tsp. dill weed. Thanks BEC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken, Asparagus, and Mushroom Skillet

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and found that the dish had little flavor and not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States