Ellicott City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe, but I added my own flare! I added green pepper, yellow onion (and the green onion it calls for), and fresh garlic. I also added feta cheese as another reviewer mentioned. I used dried parsley instead of fresh and omitted the carrots. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Tamale Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a great, easy to prepare recipe! However I made some changes to the ingredients. Instead of ground beef I used ground chicken. I also left out the olives and added a can of black beans and a can of green chilies. I even sautéed some onion before cooking the chicken to add extra flavor as well. I served it with sour cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Moussaka

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
While the taste came out great, the recipe proportions were way off. I used a medium eggplant and zucchini, but ended up with enough for 2 casseroles. Then the béchamel sauce was short. I also think it needed much more tomato sauce. I will try again with more sauces, make 2 (enough for two meals for 3) and see how it comes out. As others noted, this is a lot of work. It took me 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Moussaka

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
While the taste came out great, the recipe proportions were way off. I used a medium eggplant and zucchini, but ended up with enough for 2 casseroles. Then the béchamel sauce was short. I also think it needed much more tomato sauce. I will try again with more sauces, make 2 (enough for two meals for 3) and see how it comes out. As others noted, this is a lot of work. It took me 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mojo Grilling Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I've used this on chicken and pork, and both came out GREAT! Excellent marinade and gives meat some bold flavors. No need to change a thing, a definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I've planted an herb garden this year and LOVE this recipe. I've made it twice in the last week and now may have to buy more cilantro plants. It's great on salads or as dipping sauce for chicken, pork, veggies, etc. No need to change a thing, but didn't have whole ginger the second time I made it so used dried ginger, and came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepper-Honey Cedar Plank Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Awesome marinade! Although I did not use a cedar plank but the fish came out beautifully straight on the grill. I marinated over-nite and the flavors really pop'd. I didn't use the recommended amount of honey or spices, I was light on the honey and heavy on the spices, & will definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Corn and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a great side dish to use throughout the week. I ate it on wraps, salads, and all by itself. I only gave it 4 stars because I changed it a little bit- here is what I added: thinly sliced red onion, chopped red & green pepper... this added more of a crunch and was delish! I would also suggest using more cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this for myself and two others and we almost ate the whole thing and that was after a pretty heavy meal!!! Only change was I used sliced almonds (which I toasted for a couple minutes in a dry pan over medium heat) since I didn't have walnuts on hand. Came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Awesome!!! Add some onions and garlic as some others suggested. I doubled the recipe and didn't have a big enough pan for all the chicken so pulled it after brown and put into a 400 degree oven for 10 to 15 min while finishing the sauce. I used super market wine and sherry so when making the sauce, I also added some of the red wine that I was drinking while cooking. Also, I added some milk/corn starch mixture to help thicken sauce. It came out great and I was treated to rave reviews by my guests. Would highly recommend!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I too am from Maryland's Eastern shore where everyone has their favorite recipe. And although I didn't follow her ingredients it's definitely 5 stars for cooking technique. I've always either fried or broiled my crabcakes (and they're always a bear to turn) but baking them is terrific. I didn't even bother to turn them! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StraitAWheyGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Made this sauce iin a pinch with what i had on hand and I must say it was very good. I used garlic powder since I had no garlic and left out the chocolate since I had none. I did stir in some cocoa chili powder with a little sugar in place. The sauce does thicken in the oven. I also used just 3 cups of broth as I was in a rush and didn't want to wait forever to reduce. For a rush job it was very good and will probably be my go to sauce from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken with Onion Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Making this recipe with the Philadelphia Cooking Cream instead of feta cheese. It is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Dogs

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Made this tonight for my husband and our friend. Husband doesn't like corn dogs so he doesn't count. My friend raved that it tastes just like a "real" corn dog. I thought it was delicious. Use a glass to hold the batter for dipping the hot dogs. If your oil isn't hot enough, the batter will come off. If it's too hot, they will burn. There's no secret to getting the batter to stick, just get your oil temperature right and be sure to dry the hot dogs well. Next time I may try grilling the hot dogs first just because I do like a grilled hot dog so much better. I'm not interested in authentic, I'm interested in what tastes good and what tastes good to me are grilled hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Add Spicey Capt Morgans rum for a great twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Just made this recipe for friends and everyone raved how good it was. Served it with the Gourmet Mushroom Risotto (another allrecipes favorite) and came out great. Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I didn't care for it, but a few of our guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer and Brown Sugar Steak Marinade

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
LOVED IT!! Since it's the middle of winter for us I broiled the steak instead of grilling and it was awesome. We drizzled the juices in the pan over the steaks and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My family loved it!! I didn't have any ham on hand so we did without; next time I will definitely be making it with ham. I also made it a bit thicker than called for, other than that I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This dressing is on point! I DID use the amount of salt called for in the recipe because I did NOT use garlic salt or celery salt but instead garlic powder and celery seed. I can easily see omitting the 2 tbsp of salt if using the other ingredients as called for. My husband isn't a big salad lover but he really liked this dressing. I'm not much of an italian dressing fan at all and even I liked this. I will definitely be using this simple recipe again instead of something out of a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States