Ellicott City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very simple, easy to make and tastes fantastic ! Almost as good as Mom used to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkmtc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent, particularly if you don't like coleslaw with mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I served this to company and they loved it. The only change I made is that I used golden raisins instead of cranberries, because cranberries have added sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My family thought this was way better than the packet from the store. We'll definitely use this again ... and the spicy bite was just enough! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsply

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake View, New York, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Drunken Mussels

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it! Thank you! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clarkmtc

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Wow, for a guy with basic cooking / culinary knowledge, this is a simple, cheap, easy recipe, that when done right, with a little TLC and the right garnish can look like a very expensive, sophisticated side to poultry, steak, pork, anything ! WOW !! Cant get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkmtc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa with Peas

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe for the most part. Instead of fresh thyme I used dried, 1 tbsp. of dried parsley, and 1 cup of frozen peas. I also used parmesan cheese since that is what I had in the fridge. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make this again! I may add some chick peas next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Not what I expected. I added 3 tbsp. of pesto as others mentioned. I also added roasted red pepper, artichoke hearts, parsley, parmesan cheese and two pinches of sugar. The consistency was a little goopy. Either there was too much chicken broth or I didn't let it sit long enough. I didn't eat any right away but placed in the fridge so the flavors can blend together. Hopefully it will taste better after being refrigerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe, but I added my own flare! I added green pepper, yellow onion (and the green onion it calls for), and fresh garlic. I also added feta cheese as another reviewer mentioned. I used dried parsley instead of fresh and omitted the carrots. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Tamale Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a great, easy to prepare recipe! However I made some changes to the ingredients. Instead of ground beef I used ground chicken. I also left out the olives and added a can of black beans and a can of green chilies. I even sautéed some onion before cooking the chicken to add extra flavor as well. I served it with sour cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeppica9r

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Moussaka

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
While the taste came out great, the recipe proportions were way off. I used a medium eggplant and zucchini, but ended up with enough for 2 casseroles. Then the béchamel sauce was short. I also think it needed much more tomato sauce. I will try again with more sauces, make 2 (enough for two meals for 3) and see how it comes out. As others noted, this is a lot of work. It took me 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Moussaka

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
While the taste came out great, the recipe proportions were way off. I used a medium eggplant and zucchini, but ended up with enough for 2 casseroles. Then the béchamel sauce was short. I also think it needed much more tomato sauce. I will try again with more sauces, make 2 (enough for two meals for 3) and see how it comes out. As others noted, this is a lot of work. It took me 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mojo Grilling Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I've used this on chicken and pork, and both came out GREAT! Excellent marinade and gives meat some bold flavors. No need to change a thing, a definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I've planted an herb garden this year and LOVE this recipe. I've made it twice in the last week and now may have to buy more cilantro plants. It's great on salads or as dipping sauce for chicken, pork, veggies, etc. No need to change a thing, but didn't have whole ginger the second time I made it so used dried ginger, and came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepper-Honey Cedar Plank Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Awesome marinade! Although I did not use a cedar plank but the fish came out beautifully straight on the grill. I marinated over-nite and the flavors really pop'd. I didn't use the recommended amount of honey or spices, I was light on the honey and heavy on the spices, & will definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Corn and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a great side dish to use throughout the week. I ate it on wraps, salads, and all by itself. I only gave it 4 stars because I changed it a little bit- here is what I added: thinly sliced red onion, chopped red & green pepper... this added more of a crunch and was delish! I would also suggest using more cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this for myself and two others and we almost ate the whole thing and that was after a pretty heavy meal!!! Only change was I used sliced almonds (which I toasted for a couple minutes in a dry pan over medium heat) since I didn't have walnuts on hand. Came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Awesome!!! Add some onions and garlic as some others suggested. I doubled the recipe and didn't have a big enough pan for all the chicken so pulled it after brown and put into a 400 degree oven for 10 to 15 min while finishing the sauce. I used super market wine and sherry so when making the sauce, I also added some of the red wine that I was drinking while cooking. Also, I added some milk/corn starch mixture to help thicken sauce. It came out great and I was treated to rave reviews by my guests. Would highly recommend!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I too am from Maryland's Eastern shore where everyone has their favorite recipe. And although I didn't follow her ingredients it's definitely 5 stars for cooking technique. I've always either fried or broiled my crabcakes (and they're always a bear to turn) but baking them is terrific. I didn't even bother to turn them! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StraitAWheyGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Made this sauce iin a pinch with what i had on hand and I must say it was very good. I used garlic powder since I had no garlic and left out the chocolate since I had none. I did stir in some cocoa chili powder with a little sugar in place. The sauce does thicken in the oven. I also used just 3 cups of broth as I was in a rush and didn't want to wait forever to reduce. For a rush job it was very good and will probably be my go to sauce from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States