Cumberland, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Angel Erickson

Savory Pork Stew

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this! I did add extra veggies like carrots and celery. It wasn't as thick as I would have liked it to be so I added an extra can of cream of mushroom and a packet of brown gravy about 30 min. Before it was done. I cooked it on high for about 4 1\2 hours. It was delicious and I well definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Love this recipe. It is between a cakey and fudgy brownie. Still chewy and the edges get crisp. Delish! Will definitely make again. My Mom tasted them and asked for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rawlings, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I didn't make too many changes to this recipe. After I browned the sweet Italian sausages and removed them, I had a lot of sausage drippings in the pan. I just tossed the butter in with the drippings and continued with the rest of the recipe. I had doubled the ingredients because I have a large family. The only real modification I made was that I used about 1 1/2 cups of white cooking wine (3/4 cup if not doubling the recipe). It was a hit! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I 2 USED BUTTER AND MAYBE ABOUT A 1/3 CUP OF OIL. 3 TBSP OF COCOA AND USED WILTONS NO TASTE RED GEL (2 BOTTLES) TASTE WAS GREAT, BUT WAS STILL ON DRY SIDE. MY BF THOUGHT IT WAS FAB BUT I THOUGHT IT COULDA BEEN BETTER BUT IM A HUGE PERFECTIONIST WHEN BAKING. I USED CREAM CHEESE FROSTING. WILL USE ALL OIL NEXT TIME I THINK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I cut the butter used for the base down to 1/4 cup as well as others did, used cake flour because I don't think a cake should be made using All purpose flour. Turned out awesome, the cinnamon is growing on me, still not sure if im digging it!! But overall it is a great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have been making this for a year now and it is the BEST peach cobbler!!! I do however have to increase my cooking time by an additional 10 mins, otherwise I have a gooey middle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
used cake flour and 1/2 tsp of salt if that as well as a large box of vanilla cook and serve pudding, sprinkled cinnamon&sugar and colored sugar on top, they were GREAT!!! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Wonderful! My 20 year old daughter who is trying to learn to cook made this cake. She turns her nose up at everything. When she read sour cream in a cake she spat yuck. The cake turned out great. She was so proud of herself. Decreased the oil and added milk like others said. Will make many more times. Love this site using it to teach her to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amana, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great Apple Pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi V

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a good starter for shrimp scampi I added squash,green peppers,shallots and mushrooms with more wine and butter and it came out perfect. This is an excellent starter scampi to let your mind run free by adding your own ingredients. Thank you for this starter scampi recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this last night to the recipe except I didn't use the seasoned salt since my husband has high blood pressure (used 1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning) and for the same reason I did't use garlic or onion salt, used garlic and onion powder. Oh, and I also used actualy sherry not cooking sherry - don't believe in cooking with anything I can't drink. I made 4 burgers instead of 8 since we both like bigger burgers. My husband and I both thought it was terrific. I made mashed potatoes to go with it and when I make it again I'll double broth so there is more of the wonderful gravy. The burgers were very tasty, not dry at all as I think someone complained of and I'll probably have the leftover ones just as burgers on a bun. I think the burger mix would also make a decent meatloaf and I might try that sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
i used a 5 lbs prime rib and i had to cook it almost double the cooking time besides that it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This meal is amazing! I made it exactly as the recipe says and the hole family loved it! I well be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Erickson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Very Good, Great Dish for having company or just afamily dinner. Did cut back on amount of butter. Also I had candied cashews that added to the dish. Will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amana, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jodylynn

Pumpkin Spice Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wonderful, I also modified a few things. 2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, orange juice in place of water, and 1 tsp of vanilla. It made 6 small 2X4 loaves and a 4 X 8 loaf. They were very tall pretty loaves. Made great Xmas gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amana, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Scalloped Potatoes by Daisy Brand

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are by far the best scalloped potatoes I have ever had. A little twist is we added some real bacon bits to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is very good recipie. I made exactly as directed and they turned out great. I also make a very similar "burger". I omit the pepper flakes and lemon juice and add about 2 tsps. of Old Bay or to taste. They hold together well and the Old Bay gives it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingwood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strudel Dough

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is an excellent tart dough and you can make blueberry to apple tarts with this. We did both a peach and apple tart and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jodylynn

Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wonderful, I added the cinnamon in the batter for a little spice taste and butter for the fat that others suggested and used fresh peaches that I had on hand with the blueberries. Very easy and looks like a cake from a fancy bakery. Serve with a whip topping and a few fresh berries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amana, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States