Columbia, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Paleo Broccoli Rabe and Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Fast & easy! No changes aside from topping with some grated romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
One word...."EXECELLENT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fennel Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Yum!! No changes. Was a hit at a party. Served with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Took a little tweaking to get the butter/honey ratio to my liking but super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pork Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was so excited to make this for dinner tonight. Oh boy, was/am I disappointed. The lime and the vinegar are just too strong (I followed the recipe). It tasted like no Szechuan dish I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan St John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was the bomb.com!!!! This dish did not last long, in fact is disappeared within an hour. I basically stuck with the original recipe, but I did make a couple of changes, ONLY because I had some of the ingredients leftover from Thanksgiving cooking and I didn't want them to go to waste. (1) I used: 1 cup of half-n-half , 1 cup of milk and for more flavor, I used have 2 cup of chicken broth (I had leftover, (whatever was left in the box)). (2) I added 2 can of cream of chicken. (3) I took the advice of others, and sautéed 1 cup of onions, 2 cloves of garlic, and 1 cup of celery. Oh, and since I am gluten free, I used gluten free spaghetti, instead of the regular spaghetti noodles (no one could tell the difference). It came out perfert, with all of the liquids that were used, it DIDN'T come out too liquidly or soggy. My family and neighbor wanted me to make another pan, but I was all out of leftover Thanksgiving Turkey. LOL!!! I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Yum yum yummy! The only change I made was to substitute thyme and oregano for the marjoram, as I did not have any marjoram. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Our family of 4 really liked this meal. I made some changes based on the reviews I read - added herbs before boiling, added frozen peas before dumplings, and added parsley, salt, and pepper to dumpling mix, and cooked the dumplings for 10 minutes with cover on and 10 minutes with cover off and towel on. Very easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Chicken Curry I

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Not a keeper for me. It was not very flavorful. Based on other reviews, I used 3 diced Roma tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and added a touch of chicken broth to make up for the loss in liquid. Had to add a LOT of extra curry powder, cumin and salt to make it flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Strawberry Chia Seed Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Interesting. Easy to make. I used a one lb bag of frozen strawberries. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Avocado Egg Salad

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
YUMYUMYUM!!!! Used one whole avocado and course mustard instead of yellow schmellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Mushroom Frittata

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Good. I sauteed half an onion with some bacon first, then wilted the spinach. I beat the eggs separately, then added the cheeses before mixing in with spinach mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ricotta Gnocchi

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Yum...yum...Oh my friggin' God...yum. Made my own meat sauce instead of the one included here. But even plain, these gnocchi were GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Roast Beef I

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
YUMMY! Instead of using bouillon cubes, I used broth leftover from cooking some brats; omitted the oil and the whole part of coating the roast with oil and spices; I just tossed all of the spices in with the broth in the slow cooker and let it go for 4.5 hours, turning it half way through. So tender and tasty. And yes, it's spicy; but then again the pepper flakes are an optional ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Crinkles

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just ok...soft but the flavor was ok. I think a butter based recipe will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Snacks

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe more times than I would like to admit and have discovered how to get great finishes on it by using these tips: To get the bacon crispy: Buy thin bacon, or use a rolling pin and flatten out thick bacon. Mild cheddar cheese seems to get the best results. Also, if you do not have dry ranch salad dressing, you can make your own by using about a tablespoon (more or less, just equal amount of both) each of garlic and onion powder. I tend to taste it after stirring to make it just right. Lastly, after mixing all the ingredients, I let them infuse for about 20 to 30 minutes before stuffing the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
OMG!!!! This soup is restaurant quality, very good!!!!. I had to force myself to stop eating it. My daughter love it as well. I did not have the amount of broccoli as the recipe called for, but it was still delicious. I will make this soup again and again, but I will make sure I have more broccoli on hand. BTW, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I LOVE this beef stew. My kids like it too. I have often substituted beef boullion cubes for the beef broth. I have used 2-3 and sometimes more. I am gluten intolerant, so I use gluten free flour and it is works fine. I can be guaranteed my boys will get their veggies with this recipe. Since we live in Alaska, sometimes I will throw other veggies into the mix like turnips and other squash. The squash I throw in at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastrami Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I used this recipe for July 4th of this year and it came out great. However, I prepped a lot of food on the 3rd and decided to marinate these chicken wings. For approximately 25 wings and legs, I used all the ingredients except for the flour. I added them to a zip-lock bag along with 1/3 cup soy sauce and about 1/3 cup store bought Italian dressing (just enough liquid to cover a little over half of the chicken in a gallon size zip-lock.) I marinated them for about 4 hours turning them every 45 minutes or so. EVERYONE in attendance asked for the recipe so I decided to post this comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Dessert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Awesome, this is a regular dessert in Philippines too. You can add some crushed ice also. What was weird for a lot of us when we moved to the USA, was finding out that avocado was used in salads and was used like a vegetable. Avocado is a fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerryrard
Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States