Bowie, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These WERE delicious... great crispy outer shell, warm, delicious center... but I just can't make them more than once a year due to the MOUNTAIN DEW. I really wish there was a substitute ingredient(s). But, for a special treat.... absolutely GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is my go-to recipe. I have tried tons and tons, but these are the most consistent as far as texture and taste. For better, thicker cookies, let the dough sit in the fridge overnight. This prevents flat, crispy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Mushroom Frittata

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Although I had to make substitutions based on my pantry, I thought this dish was very good. (Sub cottage cheese for ricotta, added feta & used less Parmesan, doubled spiced, added fresh jalapeno.) It baked very nicely and had a rich flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Balls and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I was skeptical about this, after reading several negative reviews, but it turned out great! I agree with the comments that stated this is good, "If you like sauerkraut." Not sure why you would make it if you weren't. I prepared this as the recipe states, but added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid and all) to the top and also 1/2 C water, as my sauerkraut wasn't very liquid-y. (I used the kind in the bag, not a can.) Not sure why others had trouble with the texture or the rice not cooking... I did cook mine covered, so it steamed up. Overall, an easy, healthy, quick dinner to add to our rotation of winter comfort foods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just finished making these, they are DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T, and they came out fantastic! I will definitely be using this recipe again! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Spicy Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I'm giving this four stars, but in fairness, I made so many changes I don't feel qualified to rate it as written. **Please Note** the serving size is only TWO!! I didn't notice this until I was putting it together, and realized I needed more food,requiring me to make so many changes. Also, I wasn't sure what a 1Qt baking dish was, so I improvised and not sure if that affected the outcome. Overall, the taste is good; lasagne-ish. I will try to make this again with the right proportions by adjusting the servings before getting started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pralines II

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great recipe, just not user friendly as it is hard to decipher when the caramel sauce is done. I think I overcooked mine:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Best french toast recipe yet! Tastes best when made with white bread (as opposed to our family favorite, potato).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We make them ALL THE TIME! Liquid smoke makes them extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Salad II

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Wonderful recipe, just not user friendly, as it is difficult to deter the proper temperature the jello should be before adding it in. My jello obviously didn't set long enough (even though, I waited a long time) because it seeped down to the bottom:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice-Baked Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Yummy and easy! I omitted the green pepper and added 3 chopped scallions, 1/2 cup of sour cream and garlic salt to taste. I also substituted pepper jack cheese for the cheddar and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches II

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My husband and I loved these. My only change was to use Honey Mustard. These were so easy to make and will satisfy anyone. They would make a great appetizer for a football party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written except I cooked it in a slow cooker. It cooked on high for 2 and half hours with a kitchen towel under the lid to soak up the moisture. My hubby and our guests raved. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Easy and tasty...Don't be afraid of a microwaved egg. They're still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Herman18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Roasted Vegetable Medley

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Everyone loved the mixture of vegetables. It was easy especially when cooking large amounts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
So simply and very tastsy. I can't wait to make this again. My husband who is not a fan of experiments thought this hit the mark. It needed a little more salt, but other than that, I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
So easy to make and tastes so much better than stuff out of a jar or the deli. I will never go back to mixing from a jar again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Loved this recipe. As other viewers recommended, doubled the recipe, mixed chocolate chips into batter and stored in ziploc bags. Do not put in refrigerator, they become a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was a hit at our Easter dinner. The only thing I would do diffrently is add a bit of honey to bring out the sweetness. I doubled the recipe and had very little leftovers. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aldie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

JELL-O Magic Mousse

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Like others, I've been making this recipe for years. I find that it mixes and pours better in a blender. I have made it with 8-oz. Cool Whip--it works with small layer of topping..still good. Orange is a favorite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States