Bowie, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this in January 2014. I don't know why I didn't review it then. Although way too sweet for my taste, it is delicious. In spite of protests from my son, I will greatly reduce the sugar when I make it this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savannah's Best Marinated Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this last year as a vegetarian option to sandwich meat at the Welcome back luncheon for our teachers. It got rave reviews by vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. I will be sharing this recipe widely and will definitely use it again. I took the advice of others and used a mid-level wine we had on hand. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
awesome. I bought high quality lady fingers at wegmans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelien Josselin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cornbread Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Main Dish hit! My kids aren't fans of zucchini but this was a hit! I accidentally mixed in all of the cheese so didn't put any on top. I shredded the zucchini lengthwise so had long shreds. I divided the mixture into two brie bakers instead of a 2-qt. baker and baked them for 40-45 minutes. It was a bit difficult mixing with the longer shreds but it turned out GREAT! without the cheese it was lightly browned on the top and we all enjoyed it as our main entree. Kids have asked for this to be on the regular list. NOTE: I did not add any salt or pepper to the mix and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Delicious! We have made this quite often over the last few years. Tonight I rediscovered my pressure cooker. I prepared exactly per the recipe and added about a half cup of rice... Pressure cooked for about six minutes and it was fantastic! Just as good as when I simmer for an hour. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
YUM, my new favorite side dish. I used Campbells chicken broth and it was a little too rich. I would use my own broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this at the last minute for Mothers Day yesterday. My family wanted Pork chops on the grill but didn't know how to fix them. My mother wanted me to make them at home but no no did not feel like it. So I got on All Recipes to see what they had for grill pork chops. Came across this and ran with it. However I did not do any measurements that they asked for. Only the paprika, everything else I just free styled and placed it all in a ziplock bag. I had 8 chops,rub it on the chops with my fingers, then placed them all in the bag with the remaining seasonings and shook it all together. They were grilld to perfection, my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Devine

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely a hit!!! I've added it to my cake list with a tweak or to to make it my own!!! Thanks Tony!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becki's Oven Barbecue Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe last night. I did what the recipe said and I also followed some of the other viewers and their suggestions. My family loved it, I felt like the sauce could have been a little bit thicker. Overall nice flavor, maybe not so barbecue. I will probably make it again and add more brown sugar it really wasn't ketchuppy to me cause I probably cut it enought with the water. But I think it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very potential, my family and I liked it. Not sure if I let it stay in the oven too long. I should have only probably did 45min instead of an hour. But very tasty, love the flavor. A little dry to me, so once again it could have been me. I'm not a pro baker or cooker...lol learning in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a pretty good meal. I tried it a couple of times now and it is really good and quick. My family loves it. I did what they asked as far as making it and it turned out great. Just take your time and I'm not one to come out of my comfort zone with cooking new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was a really great meal. I must say I did a good job with it. I don't normall come out of my comfort zone with cooking. But I tried it for the first time, followed it to the tee and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe for the first over the weekend. I must say it came out really good. I normally don't step out my comfort zone with cooking, but I did a good!! I followed it to the tee and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Stromboli

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
We liked this recipe, but I would omit the American cheese and double the Mozzarella. I think I would also add some Italian seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Corn Fritters with Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
These were good and I might add that I've been looking for a recipe to duplicate my mom's corn fritters for 35 years. I didn't deep fry them but cooked the batter by heaping tablespoons in about a 1/4" of veggie oil. I added red paper to maybe three of them (my granddaughter will not tolerate anything spicy), and they were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy to make, makes A LOT, you've been warned (But that's a good thing!),
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Photo by GypsyCurls

West African Peanut Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My bestie was down for a much needed visit, and having told me she just decided to go Vegan, I thought it would be best to take her to this Vegan restaurant I love so much. Well on this particular day, one of the chefs just had HIS best friend from Senegal over, who made this dish for him, so he was trying it out on the patrons. We were the first tasters!INSTANT LOVE! I felt it wasn't decent to ask a chef for a recipe to something, so as usual I came here! So far so good! In the finishing stages of cooking it now. Did a taste test, almost identical to the one I tasted from the vegan restaurant :D! Definitely a keeper! The only things I needed to change (And thus the reason for 4 and not 5 stars) was I did find that 5 cups of chicken stock is quite a bit, especially when you then add the juice from the diced tomatoes. So you may want to use 3-4 cups of stock, and none of the juice from the diced tomatoes. OH! And I ended up adding a cup of creamy Peanut butter in addition to the crunchy for more peanut buttery taste and not SO many nuts (Although I think that is more Brand specific than recipe specific). All in all, I DEFINITELY think you should give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I followed all the directions step by step.. I just pulled it out of the oven and it smells like I tried to make scrambled eggs, not lemon bars... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I tried making it, but when I went to lower the temperature, the whole thing overflowed and destroyed the pot I was using! I was able to salvage some of the mixture that was left... Wish I knew what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My family gobbled these up and have asked me to make again. They are easy to make and just follow the directions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States