Bowie, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Not bad! Very easy to make! I think I was worried about it being cooked all the way through, so I kept it in the oil a hair longer than I should have. So definitely follow directions! I also let the chicken sit in the bag of flour (after washing them off) for about a half hour, then dipped them in egg, and in flour once more prior to putting them in the iron skillet. This definitely helped with the coating (that I used to have trouble keeping on the chicken when it cooked). My boyfriend LOVED it! This recipe will certainly be a mainstay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Excellent!!! Made with 2 cups sliced fresh strawberries which had been sugared the night before. Used 3/4 cup sugar and 1 t. vanilla which was way too much vanilla taste so had to add 1 1/2 t. strawberry extract. Also made with 3 large bananas and 1/2 t. vanilla. Still too much vanilla as I had to add 1/2 t. banana extract. 3/4 cup sugar was too much for the banana ice cream so added mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cinnamon Strips

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Wow is all I can say. I just made these on a whim and I cannot stop eating them. I think I need to hide them and keep them a secret from the family! I used peanut oil and a deep fryer. I ran out of big ziploc bags so I poured the cinnamon sugar on a plate and just coated them by tossing them around. I also used super fine baking sogar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I made exactly as directed and wish I had purchased two pounds of shrimp because I could have easily scared down two servings! I agree with previous reviewers on the caper brine. Try not to skip it because it adds and extra tangy flavor that lemon juice alone doesn't have. Bonus is this was very fast to prepare so have your ingredients pre prepared so the shrimp dont overcook. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Roasted Pecans

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is the best! Everyone loves these cinnamon roasted pecans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Huriaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I didn't care for the raviolis--tough and chewy. Maybe it would be better with fresh or precooked raviolis. However, it certainly was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Lassi II

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
loved it! used plain whole milk Greek yogurt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Excellent! Great texture--crispy outside, soft inside. I doubled the recipe (except for the salt) and used 2 cups vanilla milk and 1 cup skim milk. I did not need to add additional liquid. Definitely a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potato Dream

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I will never buy boxed/instant/ready-made potato AGAIN! This, my friends, is the real deal. You've converted me! Painless, quick, and delicious, this is an awesome recipe! Followed instructions, first time making handmade mashed potatoes= Mega Impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I WISH I HAD NEVER FOUND THIS RECIPE!!! Because now everyone is asking me to make them some (more) and I JUST got back into my excercise routine. These things are ridiculously easy, and delicious to make. I gave you fair warning-!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Loved this!! It was an instant hit in my house! Like many others suggested, I put the kethcup brown sugar sauce on the top, and it turned out fabulously!!! Definite staple! (would submit photos, lmfao but there's none left!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavendula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So simply and very tastsy. I can't wait to make this again. My husband who is not a fan of experiments thought this hit the mark. It needed a little more salt, but other than that, I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Deena

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have been making this for about a year now and realized I hadnt left a review! This is delicious, the chicken turns out sooooo tender. I process the Rosemary in a little food processor/chopper, just quicker than mincing by hand. I also use chicken tenderloins so I don't have to thread chunks onto skewers. Just cook them directly on the grill. Otherwise I make the marinade exactly as described. My husband and kids can't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight exactly as written. I used thin cut chicken breasts to cut down on cooking time. When the chicken was almost done I tried a bite and did end up adding 2tsp of minced garlic (the kind in the jar) and I also had some garlic herb butter and threw a couple of pads in at the end. Swirled it around in the garlic chunks and herb butter right before serving. We loved it. Served with Rice So Nice recipe also from this site. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was super yummy and can't wait to make again. I love the touch of garlic flavor and the little bit of cream cheese adds that richness that other recipes don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I thought these were fantastic! Only gave 4 stars because the batter was really thin and couldn't hold their shape. All I did was add an additional 1/2 cup each of flour and cornmeal. I also added one finely chopped jalapeño, and since I didn't have any onion I added 1.5 tsp of onion powder to the dry part of the mix. I used a cookie dough scoop and they came out perfectly, just like the restaurants I remember in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I thought these were fantastic! Only gave 4 stars because the batter was really thin and couldn't hold their shape. All I did was add an additional 1/2 cup each of flour and cornmeal. I also added one finely chopped jalapeño, and since I didn't have any onion I added 1.5 tsp of onion powder to the dry part of the mix. I used a cookie dough scoop and they came out perfectly, just like the restaurants I remember in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have been making these for several years now and just realized I never rated the recipe! These are fantastic. People ask me to make them for every potluck. One tip I have is use Oscar Mayer bacon. When I have used another brand I have been disappointed. Something about that brand of bacon makes a difference when wrapping the smokies. The bacon is more moist and stretches easily to the point where you don't need toothpicks. I have customized this a bit even though they are delicious as prepared in the recipe. I drizzle the wrapped smokies with a little pure maple syrup after coating in brown sugar. I also serve with a dipping saice which is equal parts ketchup and brown sugar, a dash of soy saice and a little garlic and ginger powder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is the second year I've made this pie for Thanksgiving. It is really delicious. I use Pumpkin Pie Spice and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Turnips

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious with Thanksgiving Dinner this year. I diced the turnips and added carrots in the same size dice. I only sprinkled it with sugar--probably not even 1/2 t. Everyone loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States