Bowie, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Devine

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This cake is absolutely a hit!!! I've added it to my cake list with a tweak or to to make it my own!!! Thanks Tony!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becki's Oven Barbecue Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe last night. I did what the recipe said and I also followed some of the other viewers and their suggestions. My family loved it, I felt like the sauce could have been a little bit thicker. Overall nice flavor, maybe not so barbecue. I will probably make it again and add more brown sugar it really wasn't ketchuppy to me cause I probably cut it enought with the water. But I think it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very potential, my family and I liked it. Not sure if I let it stay in the oven too long. I should have only probably did 45min instead of an hour. But very tasty, love the flavor. A little dry to me, so once again it could have been me. I'm not a pro baker or cooker...lol learning in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a pretty good meal. I tried it a couple of times now and it is really good and quick. My family loves it. I did what they asked as far as making it and it turned out great. Just take your time and I'm not one to come out of my comfort zone with cooking new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was a really great meal. I must say I did a good job with it. I don't normall come out of my comfort zone with cooking. But I tried it for the first time, followed it to the tee and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe for the first over the weekend. I must say it came out really good. I normally don't step out my comfort zone with cooking, but I did a good!! I followed it to the tee and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Stromboli

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
We liked this recipe, but I would omit the American cheese and double the Mozzarella. I think I would also add some Italian seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Corn Fritters with Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
These were good and I might add that I've been looking for a recipe to duplicate my mom's corn fritters for 35 years. I didn't deep fry them but cooked the batter by heaping tablespoons in about a 1/4" of veggie oil. I added red paper to maybe three of them (my granddaughter will not tolerate anything spicy), and they were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy to make, makes A LOT, you've been warned (But that's a good thing!),
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Photo by GypsyCurls

West African Peanut Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My bestie was down for a much needed visit, and having told me she just decided to go Vegan, I thought it would be best to take her to this Vegan restaurant I love so much. Well on this particular day, one of the chefs just had HIS best friend from Senegal over, who made this dish for him, so he was trying it out on the patrons. We were the first tasters!INSTANT LOVE! I felt it wasn't decent to ask a chef for a recipe to something, so as usual I came here! So far so good! In the finishing stages of cooking it now. Did a taste test, almost identical to the one I tasted from the vegan restaurant :D! Definitely a keeper! The only things I needed to change (And thus the reason for 4 and not 5 stars) was I did find that 5 cups of chicken stock is quite a bit, especially when you then add the juice from the diced tomatoes. So you may want to use 3-4 cups of stock, and none of the juice from the diced tomatoes. OH! And I ended up adding a cup of creamy Peanut butter in addition to the crunchy for more peanut buttery taste and not SO many nuts (Although I think that is more Brand specific than recipe specific). All in all, I DEFINITELY think you should give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I followed all the directions step by step.. I just pulled it out of the oven and it smells like I tried to make scrambled eggs, not lemon bars... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I tried making it, but when I went to lower the temperature, the whole thing overflowed and destroyed the pot I was using! I was able to salvage some of the mixture that was left... Wish I knew what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My family gobbled these up and have asked me to make again. They are easy to make and just follow the directions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have never had success making homemade pie crust, but this one tasted great and was super easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
WOW, from now on this is the only way to make turkey gravy. The broth is so rich and flavorful and what a timesaver making it the day ahead of time. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Loved it and so easy. I added a little allspice since I didn't have the 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Yum Yum Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I loved this sauce. I also added a little more tomato paste and only used Hellmann's. I am serving it with my yummy crab ball recipe instead of cocktail sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Aw-some Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So easy to make and tastes so much better than stuff out of a jar or the deli. I will never go back to mixing from a jar again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Husband loved this. Only things i did different was use an equal ratio of beef broth and red wine in place of the chicken stock as suggested by a reviewer and i dried herbs. Hubby said I can't make pot roast any other way after this. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ ribs

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
best ribs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dutchwinter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States