Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! The other reviewers are right... this stuff is spicy! But that is exactly how we like our chili. The chicken broth I used was very low sodium and organic. I love that this recipe doesn't call for salt, and it doesn't need it! I like a thicker chili so I cut down on the broth and added a tsp of corn starch to thicken it up. I also used two fresh jalapenos instead of the canned chilies. I think that it's the cayenne that makes this dish so wonderfully spicy! I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes and a can of regular diced tomatoes. For the beans I used cannellini, Great Northern, and pinto. I added some chopped cilantro at the end. I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Great noodles! I used thin whole wheat spaghetti instead of the soba, and added some broccoli coleslaw (without dressing) and thinly sliced red peppers. Sesame seeds would be a great addition. I spiced it up even more with some Hunan chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Thai Chicken Balls

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I cut the recipe in half, and instead of the sweet chili sauce I used part Sriracha and part honey (heavier on the Sriracha). SO delicious! My boyfriend loved these meatballs. A definite keeper! Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I didn't love these. The consistency was not that of a muffin to me and they were somewhat bland. My son said that they tasted like chocolate chip pancakes and I must agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Bacon Avocado Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is good without the bacon too. I use one egg per tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't keep it in the oven for the whole amount of time because I was worried about overcooking the roast. After I turned off the heat I only kept it in for about an hour. The inside was pretty red when I took it out, which is fine for us, but next time I may leave it in a little longer to get on the pinker side of red. I served this with Horseradish Sauce from this site and it was delicious. Tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Exactly what I was hoping for! This will go perfectly with the roast beef sandwiches I am serving. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Warm Mushroom Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I used baby portabellos and added halved grape tomatoes to spinach and romaine lettuce. Such an easy yet elegant salad idea. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! I made it with whole wheat penne pasta for dinner. I think it would also be great for a special luncheon dish, served with a green salad and a glass of chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My adult daughter made this at my suggestion when we were expecting a special guest. What a disaster! The cake overflowed the pan all over the oven. We ended up making a trifle type dessert with what we could salvage. She insists she followed the recipe exactly. My advice - try this one out first before you try it on company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef, Bean and Barley Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was delicious with some minor changes. I doubled all of the spices except for the caraway seeds (kept those at 1/4 tsp) and omitted the salt. I didn't have any cabbage so I used celery instead. And I only had one can of beef broth, so I used chicken broth also. I used 1.5 cups of water and for the rest of the liquid I used chicken broth. With my changes I think it is five stars. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Parmigiana

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! I pounded the chicken breast to about 1/4 inch thickness so it cooked evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Teriyaki Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Fabulous! I had never used salmon steaks before, only boneless salmon filets, and I feel like the steaks were a lot more flavorful. After I deboned them I rolled them up roulade style and secured them with toothpicks to ensure even cooking. They were perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
So delicious! I used the full amount of marinade for only one chicken breast. I sliced the chicken thinly before soaking it in the marinade for about an hour. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I will make this again and again! Tastes kind of Asian with out the added salt from soy sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Sweet Potato Casserole V

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Suggest only making half the amount of topping for the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Quick Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Used black walnut extract instead of rum extract because I don't like that flavor in baked goods. Suggest creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding eggs, eggnog, extract and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Eggnog Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good way to use up leftover eggnog. I, too, used fresh potatoes and cut back a little on the sugar to 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cannelloni Florentine

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good, but lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I liked the way this jazzes up pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce with Apricots, Raisins, and Orange

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Perfect combination of tart and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States