Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Easy to prepare, perfect amount of spice, and HEALTHY! 3.5 cups of beans is equal to two 15 oz cans. I only had one can of black beans, so I used a can of kidney beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Swiss Oven Omelet

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have swiss cheese or green onions but used a 4-cheese mexican blend, white onion and fresh thyme. It still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
You can also add 4-5 blueberries at the muddling stage to make a pretty blueberry mojito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I thought this was an awful lot of work for less than spectacular results - plus very unhealthy with all that butter. And I won't even mention how much I had to pay for the halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama Palomba's Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this sauce last night for dinner and it was very well received. I must admit, I usually just use jarred spaghetti sauce but I decided to give this a try and I'm so glad I did, it was super flavorful and more importantly, so easy and quick to make. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Spicy Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were really good! A little bland, but nothing that upping the dill and hot sauce can't fix. These were are a great light dinner on multigrain English muffins. I made them into 5 patties, and with lettuce, ketchup and mustard, I estimate a whole sandwich is 300 calories. Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Rotini Stovetop Casserole

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I really enjoyed making this recipe, as updated by CHEFSINGLEDAD so that it is cooked/combined in one pot. My half and half went bad so I substituted 1/2 whipping cream and one half skim milk to yummy result. The amount of butter freaked me out but I went for it. Was very rich and tasty and not too buttery. My tips: - Salt generously. That was the only thing the recipe needed per our three reviewers. I would taste right before serving and salt at that point. I did salt the chicken when sauteing (and used the salted butter) but it wasn't enough. - Use one extra bell pepper. The peppers cooked PERFECTLY after pre-sauteing, and we wanted more more more! Otherwise, was PERFECTO. My family was impressed, and my eight year old had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
The perfect side to accompany steak! I used fresh baby spinach and balsamic vinegar with some chicken broth in lieu of the wine. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Outstanding! I made this exactly as intended and it was fabulous The perfect amount of spice. I did use a smaller baking dish so I had to stir the veggies and increase the baking time. I will make this over and over in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Manicotti

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Exceptional and easy! I used these reviewer's tips: - ziploc freezer bag with corner cut for piping - italian seasoning and garlic powder (didn't have parsley) -"par"boil the shells for 5 minutes Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! The other reviewers are right... this stuff is spicy! But that is exactly how we like our chili. The chicken broth I used was very low sodium and organic. I love that this recipe doesn't call for salt, and it doesn't need it! I like a thicker chili so I cut down on the broth and added a tsp of corn starch to thicken it up. I also used two fresh jalapenos instead of the canned chilies. I think that it's the cayenne that makes this dish so wonderfully spicy! I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes and a can of regular diced tomatoes. For the beans I used cannellini, Great Northern, and pinto. I added some chopped cilantro at the end. I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Great noodles! I used thin whole wheat spaghetti instead of the soba, and added some broccoli coleslaw (without dressing) and thinly sliced red peppers. Sesame seeds would be a great addition. I spiced it up even more with some Hunan chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Thai Chicken Balls

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I cut the recipe in half, and instead of the sweet chili sauce I used part Sriracha and part honey (heavier on the Sriracha). SO delicious! My boyfriend loved these meatballs. A definite keeper! Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I didn't love these. The consistency was not that of a muffin to me and they were somewhat bland. My son said that they tasted like chocolate chip pancakes and I must agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Bacon Avocado Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is good without the bacon too. I use one egg per tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't keep it in the oven for the whole amount of time because I was worried about overcooking the roast. After I turned off the heat I only kept it in for about an hour. The inside was pretty red when I took it out, which is fine for us, but next time I may leave it in a little longer to get on the pinker side of red. I served this with Horseradish Sauce from this site and it was delicious. Tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Exactly what I was hoping for! This will go perfectly with the roast beef sandwiches I am serving. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Warm Mushroom Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I used baby portabellos and added halved grape tomatoes to spinach and romaine lettuce. Such an easy yet elegant salad idea. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! I made it with whole wheat penne pasta for dinner. I think it would also be great for a special luncheon dish, served with a green salad and a glass of chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My adult daughter made this at my suggestion when we were expecting a special guest. What a disaster! The cake overflowed the pan all over the oven. We ended up making a trifle type dessert with what we could salvage. She insists she followed the recipe exactly. My advice - try this one out first before you try it on company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States