Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fantastic! The other reviewers are right... this stuff is spicy! But that is exactly how we like our chili. The chicken broth I used was very low sodium and organic. I love that this recipe doesn't call for salt, and it doesn't need it! I like a thicker chili so I cut down on the broth and added a tsp of corn starch to thicken it up. I also used two fresh jalapenos instead of the canned chilies. I think that it's the cayenne that makes this dish so wonderfully spicy! I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes and a can of regular diced tomatoes. For the beans I used cannellini, Great Northern, and pinto. I added some chopped cilantro at the end. I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Oriental Cold Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Great noodles! I used thin whole wheat spaghetti instead of the soba, and added some broccoli coleslaw (without dressing) and thinly sliced red peppers. Sesame seeds would be a great addition. I spiced it up even more with some Hunan chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Thai Chicken Balls

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Phenomenal! I cut the recipe in half, and instead of the sweet chili sauce I used part Sriracha and part honey (heavier on the Sriracha). SO delicious! My boyfriend loved these meatballs. A definite keeper! Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I didn't love these. The consistency was not that of a muffin to me and they were somewhat bland. My son said that they tasted like chocolate chip pancakes and I must agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Bacon Avocado Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is good without the bacon too. I use one egg per tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't keep it in the oven for the whole amount of time because I was worried about overcooking the roast. After I turned off the heat I only kept it in for about an hour. The inside was pretty red when I took it out, which is fine for us, but next time I may leave it in a little longer to get on the pinker side of red. I served this with Horseradish Sauce from this site and it was delicious. Tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Exactly what I was hoping for! This will go perfectly with the roast beef sandwiches I am serving. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Warm Mushroom Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I used baby portabellos and added halved grape tomatoes to spinach and romaine lettuce. Such an easy yet elegant salad idea. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! I made it with whole wheat penne pasta for dinner. I think it would also be great for a special luncheon dish, served with a green salad and a glass of chardonnay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My adult daughter made this at my suggestion when we were expecting a special guest. What a disaster! The cake overflowed the pan all over the oven. We ended up making a trifle type dessert with what we could salvage. She insists she followed the recipe exactly. My advice - try this one out first before you try it on company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef, Bean and Barley Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was delicious with some minor changes. I doubled all of the spices except for the caraway seeds (kept those at 1/4 tsp) and omitted the salt. I didn't have any cabbage so I used celery instead. And I only had one can of beef broth, so I used chicken broth also. I used 1.5 cups of water and for the rest of the liquid I used chicken broth. With my changes I think it is five stars. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Parmigiana

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! I pounded the chicken breast to about 1/4 inch thickness so it cooked evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Teriyaki Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Fabulous! I had never used salmon steaks before, only boneless salmon filets, and I feel like the steaks were a lot more flavorful. After I deboned them I rolled them up roulade style and secured them with toothpicks to ensure even cooking. They were perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
So delicious! I used the full amount of marinade for only one chicken breast. I sliced the chicken thinly before soaking it in the marinade for about an hour. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I will make this again and again! Tastes kind of Asian with out the added salt from soy sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Sweet Potato Casserole V

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Suggest only making half the amount of topping for the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Quick Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Used black walnut extract instead of rum extract because I don't like that flavor in baked goods. Suggest creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding eggs, eggnog, extract and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Eggnog Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good way to use up leftover eggnog. I, too, used fresh potatoes and cut back a little on the sugar to 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cannelloni Florentine

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good, but lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I liked the way this jazzes up pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce with Apricots, Raisins, and Orange

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Perfect combination of tart and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States