Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Real Welsh Rarebit

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fab! This was beloved by my family, and so easy to make. Created just as is, used a British beer, whatever cheese was laying around (shredded Mexican stuff plus some cheddar block) but put on toasted french bread. Ideal companion: steamed broccoli to cover with the cheese. Also like another reviewer's advice to have some tortilla chips around to scrape the pan for a post-meal treat. Cheesetastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Mascarpone Gnocchi

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would. I have made these many times now and everyone always loves them. The only thing I change is how I cook my BNS. Our microwave broke about 5 years ago and we chose not to replace it so I roast my squash in the oven. Next time I make them I think I am going to try a gf flour. Yum, now I am excited to make them for dinner sometime very soon. I also think I am going to add them to our thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Jo's Rosemary Bread (baked in the oven)

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was great! Used 2 tsp of fresh rosemary from our yard, crushed and chopped. Otherwise just as is (maybe a little less pepper as I don't like it). It looked really wet in the bread machine but I let it lie, and sure enough, was moist and lovely. The only thing I would do differently is leave it in the oven (baked at 375) for 35 minutes instead of 30 to get the crust a little crunchier. Sure looked lovely though. And my 6-year old preferred the softer than the store crust. My husband LOVED it. Thanks, Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pipirrana (Spanish Potato Salad)

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
A delicious change from the American potato salad! I didn't change a thing about it. This makes a TON, but it keeps well in the fridge. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yum! Notes on the cooking: I found them too small for our purpose (gyros) and so ended up combining them into 6 segments, not 12. I tried cooking half of the pitas on a stovetop (as a reviewer suggested: 1-2 minutes per side in a non-stick pan with no oil) and half in the oven per the recipe. The stove pita bread I cooked at medium-high, after heating the pan for a few mins at high, and made nice, though flatter bread (which could still be bisected as you would expect), while the oven ones puffed up tremendously per some of the photos you can see on the site. My family actually *preferred* the flatter ones (which took much less time and were easy to check for doneness as with a pancake) for gyros--we just put the meat inside and folded them. So I advise anyone to try the stovetop method if you want a flatter "heartier" pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yum! Notes on the cooking: I found them too small for our purpose (gyros) and so ended up combining them into 6 segments, not 12. I tried cooking half of the pitas on a stovetop (as a reviewer suggested: 1-2 minutes per side in a non-stick pan with no oil) and half in the oven per the recipe. The stove pita bread I cooked at medium-high, after heating the pan for a few mins at high, and made nice, though flatter bread (which could still be bisected as you would expect), while the oven ones puffed up tremendously per some of the photos you can see on the site. My family actually *preferred* the flatter ones (which took much less time and were easy to check for doneness as with a pancake) for gyros--we just put the meat inside and folded them. So I advise anyone to try the stovetop method if you want a flatter "heartier" pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon-y Bok Choy

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I will make this again but with only half the amount of pepper flakes. The spiciness detracted from the taste of the bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Berry Smoothie III

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Very nice! I used fresh raspberries instead of frozen and the consistency was still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was really good! I had the same problem as others with the shrimp not cooking fully in an hour, so I took the whole thing and simmered it for about a minute. This fixed the problem. Maybe if you let the shrimp sit overnight like others suggested, the shrimp would cook through. The flavor was nice, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Garlic Chicken with Orzo Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was great! My fiance loved this dish. I added a few more veggies to use up some that were going south. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Easy to prepare, perfect amount of spice, and HEALTHY! 3.5 cups of beans is equal to two 15 oz cans. I only had one can of black beans, so I used a can of kidney beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Swiss Oven Omelet

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have swiss cheese or green onions but used a 4-cheese mexican blend, white onion and fresh thyme. It still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
You can also add 4-5 blueberries at the muddling stage to make a pretty blueberry mojito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I thought this was an awful lot of work for less than spectacular results - plus very unhealthy with all that butter. And I won't even mention how much I had to pay for the halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama Palomba's Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this sauce last night for dinner and it was very well received. I must admit, I usually just use jarred spaghetti sauce but I decided to give this a try and I'm so glad I did, it was super flavorful and more importantly, so easy and quick to make. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Spicy Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were really good! A little bland, but nothing that upping the dill and hot sauce can't fix. These were are a great light dinner on multigrain English muffins. I made them into 5 patties, and with lettuce, ketchup and mustard, I estimate a whole sandwich is 300 calories. Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Rotini Stovetop Casserole

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I really enjoyed making this recipe, as updated by CHEFSINGLEDAD so that it is cooked/combined in one pot. My half and half went bad so I substituted 1/2 whipping cream and one half skim milk to yummy result. The amount of butter freaked me out but I went for it. Was very rich and tasty and not too buttery. My tips: - Salt generously. That was the only thing the recipe needed per our three reviewers. I would taste right before serving and salt at that point. I did salt the chicken when sauteing (and used the salted butter) but it wasn't enough. - Use one extra bell pepper. The peppers cooked PERFECTLY after pre-sauteing, and we wanted more more more! Otherwise, was PERFECTO. My family was impressed, and my eight year old had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Portobellos and Spinach

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
The perfect side to accompany steak! I used fresh baby spinach and balsamic vinegar with some chicken broth in lieu of the wine. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Outstanding! I made this exactly as intended and it was fabulous The perfect amount of spice. I did use a smaller baking dish so I had to stir the veggies and increase the baking time. I will make this over and over in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Manicotti

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Exceptional and easy! I used these reviewer's tips: - ziploc freezer bag with corner cut for piping - italian seasoning and garlic powder (didn't have parsley) -"par"boil the shells for 5 minutes Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States