Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Yakisoba

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
You can omit the salt when using the soy sauce and all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I did not have powdered sugar -- instead, I put 2 cups of sugar in the blender with 1.2 tsp. of cornstarch. I then added the remaining ingredients -- worked fine. Best cream cheese frosting ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
They were easy to handle especially during that tricky move-it-to-the-cookie-sheet stage. The taste was very good, but I will not say great. The BEST I've ever tasted were made with confectioner's sugar which makes them light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sole with Bananas

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made this for my hubby and followed this recipe exactly. It reminded me of Tio Pepe's, and it was excellent. Next time I make it though I would definitely cut the lime juice & white wine in half. I am going to give it stars, because both my hubby and I loved it. I have yet to find another recipe like this that taste so good. I will be making this recipe again as it is very easy, and I have most things in my kitchen. Thank you Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Wow This was excellent. I did change the recipe a bit, as my ovens theromastat is off, so I did it in my slow cooker. I took 4 large chicken breast with bone in. Marinated overnight with the rub from this recipe. Sliced red potatoes and lots of onion and put on the bottom of the cooker. I added 1/2 cup of chicken broth, then laid the chicken breasts on top of that mixture,and set it on low for 5 1/2 hours. Turned it once, and when it hit 180* if was done. Took it out to cool, then strained the potatoes and onions in a small dish and put in the oven on a warm heat. Took all of the broth and drippings from the cooker added some flour and wisked. Pulled the chicken apart, and it was done perfect Spooned some of the gravy over the chicken and onion/potatoes. My hubby had two helpings and loved it. For me I had a mixed green salad with avocado, grape tomatoes, homemade croutons, and a simple ceasar dressing from this recipe site. Tossed it with the chicken and had a wonderful healthy dinner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Not sure what I was hoping for, but this didn't wow me. Thank you for the idea, though! It's always fun trying new flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Oven Baked Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This dish is delicious! I was trying to recreate the jambalaya from this awesome fusion restaurant in our neighborhood, and although it's not identical, this recipe is a home run. I cut the recipe in half and it was dripping over in the oven in my 9x13 dish. I even left 1cup of the broth out! Mistake, too, because once the 90 minutes was up my rice wasn't quite done. So I added the cup of broth I had omitted and cooked another half hour. Fixed the problem! The amount of spice was right on... Definitely use andouille! I used Tony Cacheries Cajun seasoning. Next time I'll omit the shrimp as they are expensive and I could've done without them. All in all this will definitely be a repeat! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent side for any meal! Easy & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WaffleCrumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These were great! Didn't change a thing. Sliced and served over a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Hungarian Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Precisely what I was looking for! I had this type of salad in the Czech Republic and fell in love. I've tried many recipes, but this is the one that comes closest to what I remember. I think the oil is the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Basic Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a great base for chicken salad. As is, it was a bit bland for me, thus the four stars. I added more black pepper, diced onion and some celery salt. Afterwards it was five stars! Served on top of sliced radishes for a low carb late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written but added no salt and baked at 350* for about 30 minutes. It was excellent. I roasted Mushrooms, onions, potatoes, grape tomatoes and red peppers all cut into bite size pieces separately at 475* for about 35 to 40 min. Served with the chicken. Was such an easy dinner to make. The chicken breasts were as moist as can be. My hubby who normally puts ketchup on most things, did not on this. I will be making this again. It is definitely a keeper. Thank you Theresa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I'm making it today on Friday, April 19, 2013. I can't wait. It looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Tomato Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as it was written but added fresh chicken breast cut into bite size pieces and fresh spices instead of dried. Cooked in a slow cooker. The kitchen smelled wonderful. Put it in the fridge over night, heated the next night, and it was too bland. One of the worst recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Garden Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't care for the cinnamon/allspice combination of taste with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Snap Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I think the flavors were too overpowering for the snap peas. I'll just keep making my snap peas more simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adam's Dirt Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Instead of sandwich cookie crumbs, I used egg nog cookies that someone gave me which I wasnt't too fond of. Also added some chocolate chips. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tilapia with Arugula and Pecan Pesto

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was so good it inspired me to try growing arugula in my own garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakar

Royal Icing III

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made the Children's Gingerbread House recipe from this site, then used this recipe for icing since I had cream of tartar (magic stuff) and I know it really helps the icing harden. I made it just as listed but did this one change: mixed it until it got combined and a bit stiff, then since it didn't seem strong enough, added about 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar with a sifter a little at a time until it got pretty hard to mix. You can tell when it's done cause your shoulder hurts a bit, but should be nowhere near "beater-breaking". :) This recipe made enough to ice a small gingerbread house (using Wilton house cutters) with all the trimmings (men, trees, etc.). (If you had a large house I would bump up to 95 servings or so for 3 egg whites and more sugar.) It held like a dream! I probably didn't even need to prop up the roof (though I did out of habit and I recommend this practice). I do use toothpicks to prop up the other stuff. Hint: put icing under the toothpicks. Basically, just put icing on the "ground" wherever you need it, then just use a sifter or sieve to scatter powdered sugar snow over everything to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The first time I made this dish, I did the substitution of apple sauce for oil and changed nothing else. It was quite tasty, especially the second day, but on the first day I found the texture with all rolled oats to be a bit too chewy (that did improve by the next day). This time I made it with half quick oats and half rolled oats and it was just right. I also substituted half of the sugar with Splenda with no change in taste, making this a bit healthier than written. Great recipe and easy to make. Raisins or cranberries work great with it. And BTW, it didn't come out too soft either time and could be cut up into bars for a take-along breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILive2Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States