Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Maple Glazed Chicken with Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is so simple and good. However, it needs about twice the amount of sweet potatoes for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cider Beef Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This may well be the best stew I have ever made and the leftovers get even better when reheated. The cider and apple give it a mellow sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
5 stars from me and my son. 1 star if you ask my hubs and daughter. I love these. The crispy little dark edges are just so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Beer Dip I

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have been making this for years now and it's always a big hit. I don't measure just dumb until I like the texture. I know for sure that I use more than 1/3 C beer. I shred my cheese fine because the big chunks of shredded cheese don't add anything. I highly recommend this be made the day before the flavors really blend that way and it tastes much better. The key is what pretzels you choose. We have found that the flat pretzel chips taste the best we didn't like the little rods at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very good. A tad on the salty side but still worth it. I used an English cucumber and sliced my bread thin and toasted it. I the mayo adds a nice little tang. Next time I will add my own Italian dressing mix to cut down on the salt and avoid what ever frankinfood is in the store bought junk. I used fresh dill and added some in the cream cheese mixture. I made the cream cheese the day before to really alow the flavors to meld. All our guests enjoyed this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Being gluten free isn't always easy but these pb cookies are a wonderful little treat in a world of gross sandy heavy baked goods. They couldn't be any easier to whip up either. My hubs ate about a dozen when I first took them out of the oven. I first saw a recipe for cookies like this in clean eating but have never been able to find it again. I like to use organic pb and egg and raw sugar. Really yum little cookies! Try them you won't be sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Mom's Sushi Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My 10 year old son took a sushi making class a few months ago. I loved the rice recipe he brought home. Sadly I don't know where I put it so I needed to find another recipe. I have used this one many times and it has always turned out perfect. 4 stars because I like my son's recipe better because his doesn't use white sugar but mirin. This is a close second however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Photo by dakar

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Ok, I admit I have a French Bread pan. But I've only used it once before, an unmitigated disaster. So I didn't expect this to turn out so well, so easily! I made it in the bread machine just as listed, but due to one reviewer's suggestion I sprinkled on the salt last, after the first knead cycle, so that it got kneaded into the bread after it was doughy. It was indeed super-sticky, so was hard to get out of the pan, but I dumped it directly into the oily bowl and tossed it around a bit like a pizza chef until it made a nice ball. Rose it for 30 mins. After the bread rose I put it on a floury cutting board where it landed in a nice oval shape and I cut it lengthwise in two with a floured knife since I hate rolling things (per others' advice, and wise since it's so sticky). Shaped it a bit to make it longer. Then put it on my fancy two-baguette bread pan. Let it rise for 20 minutes, brushed with egg whites only (again per advice) and put in at 425 convection with a pan of water at the bottom of the stove (try as I might I'm not brave enough to throw water on the base of the stove as some suggested). Cooked up in a dreamy-quick 15 minutes with crust hard and soft at the same time. (Soft right out of the oven, hardens a bit for the next day as you'd like). Raves! Family had to forcibly restrain themselves from eating it all since I wanted some for sandwiches. What an easy recipe! I will pretend this is hard to make to others, but not to you, dear AllRecipes friends. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Brie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very good! I too used red onion and baby portobello and baked it at 350 for 20 min. However for some reason I had figs on the brain instead of dates while shopping. Oh well it was still yummy. I used a goat brie and served with gluten free crackers. Even my 5 and 10 year old kids liked this one. I will definitely be making this again soon but I will try to remember dates not figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Photo by Heather

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I first made this a few years ago. It was my first ever attempt at a pie crust and it was wonderful. I have made this lots of times since and it has not let me down once. I will say that I did make one small chance. Instead of all shortening I do half butter half shortening. I want to say that it comes out to be 4 Tlbs each but don't quote me on that. Perfect pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Greek Potato Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We really liked this a lot. The little salty bites of olives with the potatoes. So easy and so few ingredients. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Brie Cheese Appetizer

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have been making this for get togethers for every. It is always a big hit. I use more than 3 TBS of apricot and never brush the top with egg white because I am lazy. It is so yum. I have also made this with SEEDLESS raspberry jam, also very good but I always go back to the apricot. Serve with French bread or a high quality cracker such as table water. Also I always make and serve this in a Pyrex pie plate for ease, again I am lazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I am going to give this one another try because I'm pretty sure I was the problem. First I made it way to far in advance and kept it in a warm water bath. It got much thicker than hollandaise should be. Next time I may do the Alton Brown trick and put it in a thermos. Second I didn't feel like breaking out the measuring spoons so I eyeballed the mustard and lemon. It was not bad but I am sure done the right way it would be really good. I will say I don't think it made 6 servings it seemed more like 4 to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Ricotta Gnocchi

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I don;t know what I did wrong, but these were not good. They were really heavy... tasted like spiced up balls of flour. Won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made well over 100 loaves of this bread over the years. No joke! It is wonderful and everyone who has tasted it agrees it is the best pumpkin bread they have ever had. Every people who don't much like pumpkin like this. This works very well with half oil half applesauce. It is so moist and has always turned out perfect for me. The other thing I like to do sometimes is once my loaf pan are lubed I sprinkle cinnamon and sugar in the pans then add the batter. Oh so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Mushroom and Bacon Triangles

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I thought these were a lot of work for the result. Need more filling to go with the pastry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Up there with some of the best potatoes in the world. Really is there anything better then salty buttery potatoes. I think not. Not overly salty at all. It was almost like mashed potatoes inside. So creamy so yummy. I used purple potatoes and browned my butter a tad because I love the nuttiness of brown butter. So very good I know I will be making this dish often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
5 stars just doesn't seem like enough to me. We LOVE this cornbread! I really can't stress enough how yummy it is. I have made this many many times yet for some reason haven't reviewed it yet. The only problem I see with this recipe is that one batch is just not enough. I always double it. I have tried it with the addition of shallots peppers corn cheese but 9 times out of 10 I just make it as written. If you are going to add veggies just saute in the butter in step 1. Also I always put my cast iron skillet in the oven while I'm preheating when the batter is ready pull the skillet out butter it a bit add batter and bake. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Pennsylvania Dutch Potato Filling

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I gave this recipe 1 star for the following reasons..... 1. The season salt. 3 TBS is a ton of salt in the first place and real PA Dutch filling doesn't have season salt in it. Just salt and pepper. 2. The fact that the bread is just to be added soft into the potatoes as they are in the mixing stage. This is very odd. The bread should be cubed and browned in more butter then added after the potatoes have already been mashed. 3. The lack of eggs 4. The crazy amount of butter on top. The top should be dotted with a TBS or 2 of butter but 1/2 cup is way to much. The majority of butter should be in the dish not on it. You are already cooking the celery onions and bread in butter not to mention making the mashed potatoes with butter. 5. The veggies should be softened but not browned. 6. This should be made the day before to allow the flavors to really meld together 7. This dish should NOT be covered while baking. When putting the filling in the dish do not smooth the top down all the little peeks and the top will get a yummy brown top. And last but not least even more season salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Pad Thai Popcorn

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made a double batch of this yummiest today. So good and so different. I was really excited to try this and was very happy with the results. I must say I did make 1 change because, unlike Chef John, I am a crazy person. Watch the video if you don't know what I'm talking about. Anyway, I used organic brown rice syrup instead of the corn syrup. It worked beautifully. I did also leave it in the oven for 1 hour also. I felt that it wasn't crusty enough after 40 min. It turned out better then I thought. I have made a number of Chef John's recipes and I have yet to be disappointed, in fact I think I am starting to have a crush on him. He knows good food! Oh I should add that if you keep your unpopped corn in the freezer you will get almost no unpopped kernels while cooking your corn. You can get bulk organic popcorn at any whole foods or health food store for about $ 1.00 a lb. Make this recipe you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States