Bethesda, Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
A little unusual and not quite to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Fantastic! Exactly what I was hoping for. I served this in lettuce leaves to make into wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Chicken Yakisoba

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
You can omit the salt when using the soy sauce and all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I did not have powdered sugar -- instead, I put 2 cups of sugar in the blender with 1.2 tsp. of cornstarch. I then added the remaining ingredients -- worked fine. Best cream cheese frosting ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
They were easy to handle especially during that tricky move-it-to-the-cookie-sheet stage. The taste was very good, but I will not say great. The BEST I've ever tasted were made with confectioner's sugar which makes them light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloverleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Apple and Swiss Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Not sure what I was hoping for, but this didn't wow me. Thank you for the idea, though! It's always fun trying new flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Oven Baked Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This dish is delicious! I was trying to recreate the jambalaya from this awesome fusion restaurant in our neighborhood, and although it's not identical, this recipe is a home run. I cut the recipe in half and it was dripping over in the oven in my 9x13 dish. I even left 1cup of the broth out! Mistake, too, because once the 90 minutes was up my rice wasn't quite done. So I added the cup of broth I had omitted and cooked another half hour. Fixed the problem! The amount of spice was right on... Definitely use andouille! I used Tony Cacheries Cajun seasoning. Next time I'll omit the shrimp as they are expensive and I could've done without them. All in all this will definitely be a repeat! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Excellent side for any meal! Easy & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BearanBananasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These were great! Didn't change a thing. Sliced and served over a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Hungarian Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Precisely what I was looking for! I had this type of salad in the Czech Republic and fell in love. I've tried many recipes, but this is the one that comes closest to what I remember. I think the oil is the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Basic Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is a great base for chicken salad. As is, it was a bit bland for me, thus the four stars. I added more black pepper, diced onion and some celery salt. Afterwards it was five stars! Served on top of sliced radishes for a low carb late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Bolognese

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. I'm giving it 3 stars because I followed it and it was bland to me. So glad I tasted it and I was able to add more seasoning. I added onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and upped the red pepper. After I added the milk and cheese to the crockpot I let it cook on low for the next 2 hours. Tasted much better after that. I'm serving it over spaghetti squash and freezing the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I'm making it today on Friday, April 19, 2013. I can't wait. It looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Garden Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't care for the cinnamon/allspice combination of taste with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Snap Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I think the flavors were too overpowering for the snap peas. I'll just keep making my snap peas more simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adam's Dirt Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Instead of sandwich cookie crumbs, I used egg nog cookies that someone gave me which I wasnt't too fond of. Also added some chocolate chips. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tilapia with Arugula and Pecan Pesto

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was so good it inspired me to try growing arugula in my own garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakar

Royal Icing III

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made the Children's Gingerbread House recipe from this site, then used this recipe for icing since I had cream of tartar (magic stuff) and I know it really helps the icing harden. I made it just as listed but did this one change: mixed it until it got combined and a bit stiff, then since it didn't seem strong enough, added about 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar with a sifter a little at a time until it got pretty hard to mix. You can tell when it's done cause your shoulder hurts a bit, but should be nowhere near "beater-breaking". :) This recipe made enough to ice a small gingerbread house (using Wilton house cutters) with all the trimmings (men, trees, etc.). (If you had a large house I would bump up to 95 servings or so for 3 egg whites and more sugar.) It held like a dream! I probably didn't even need to prop up the roof (though I did out of habit and I recommend this practice). I do use toothpicks to prop up the other stuff. Hint: put icing under the toothpicks. Basically, just put icing on the "ground" wherever you need it, then just use a sifter or sieve to scatter powdered sugar snow over everything to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crisp Marinated Cucumbers

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are great! I halved the recipe and it turned out wonderfully. Easy as pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Spicy Potato Noodles (Bataka Sev)

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
New favorite snack! They were a tad bland after cooking but still so good. I topped with a bit of extra salt and fresh cilantro. I used organic Yukon gold potatoes but they really small and there was no way I was going to peel them so I cooked them skin on and a put them in the blender with the pepper, garlic, ginger mix. I was a bit scared because blender mashed potatoes =ewww however I didn't want any of the skins to clog my ricer. It was a total success. After I had a smooth mixture I transferred to a bowl and added the flour. They came out so well and it makes a lot. I love that they are gluten free and vegan. Hubs and I snacked on them like popcorn while watching tv.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States