Bel Air - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by luv2cook

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add 1 tbsp of molasses to this recipe. Some of the photos made the bread seem very light in color. I also decorated it with thin apple slices before baking. The finished bread was a beautiful color with texture from the walnuts, which helped offset the sweetness of the bread. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Korean Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Great basic recipe! I like to zip it up a bit by tossing in a couple of dried chili peppers in the hot oil (fry until almost black) before adding the meat. Other nice additions include sliced shiitake mushrooms, A tsp of grated ginger, grated carrots, and soaked bean thread noodles. This ends up looking a lot like a beef chap chae. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I definitely agree that there's too much OJ. Just reducing it to 1/2 or even 1/4 cup is better, especially if you're preparing this for immediate consumption. Many have said that it's better the next day, but it might not last until then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This bread had a moist texture, but not as sweet as I'd prefer. I suppose this is a "bread" and not a "cake" so I guess this isn't a serious infraction. Other than the sweetness, I thought this bread was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Like a simpler version of ratatouille, this dish is quicker yet delicious. The roasting seems to brown better in a ceramic or stone dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Basil Sorbet

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Even my kids love this one. I'm going to try this with Thai basil next time. If you prepare all the fruit and syrup in advance, you can make this sorbet in just a matter of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My son asked me to send Lemon Bars, having never made them, I came to my trusty site (allrecipes) to find a recipe and stumbled across this one. WOWEEEE!!! YUMMMMY! I took advise from a member and used the juice of 3 lemons and about 1 TBSP zest. They were out of this world! These will DEFINITELY be in my dessert rotation! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I have been baking for about 30 years & I thought this was a good recipe. There is no need for a water bath. Put parchment paper sprayed with Pam in the bottom of a spring form pan. You really don't need to cut it to fit, but the edges with come out sort of scalloped. I used a bag of Nestor's chocolate chips @ about 3 ounces of bittersweet cocoa/oil, as I was out of chips. The only difficult thing about this recipe, is the need for extra hands/bowls. I left 6 eggs lightly beaten out on the counter while I made the other stuff and I microwaved the chocolate with no issues. It might help to use room temperature butter-because the hot sugar cools off a bit & might not melt your butter all the way through. I also substituted Kahlua for the water. I baked it for about 45 mins-perfect. It is very rich-the edges have an ever slight crisp while it's still warm & the whipped mouser texture as you bite into it. We are going to try it cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Other than using chicken quarters instead of just thighs, I made this to the letter of the recipe and it was fantastic. Definitely a do over. The only think I didn't like was having to clean the baked on teriyaki sauce. Ugh! Maybe next time I'll use foil to line the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh my, this was delicious. I used half butter-half olive oil and freshly ground Parmesan with fresh basil and parsley. As others have suggested, I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic at the initial toasting of the orzo step. There are many ways you could play with the flavorings and end up with this beautiful, almost risotto-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Our new home favorite! The dressing is a bit thick, but a little goes a long way if you take the time to mix it up well. Allowing the dressing to rest of a couple of hours before serving helps the flavors blend beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Good for those hot days when you don't want to turn on the oven, but these cookies don't disappear the way traditional cookies do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Beautiful and delicious cake! It's really important to follow the instructions exactly by creaming the butter and sugar well. This cake has a light and moist texture and tasty, too. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe, especially with freshly grown herbs! I also added some parsley since I had it available. Be generous with the garlic and you'll experience a delicious meal that's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Needed less flour than called for (~4 cups) but added a tablespoon of gluten (or you can use bread flour instead). The texture seemed more like a bagel than a pretzel, but they're practically the same things. I shaped them into treble clefs (musical theme) as a gift to a music teacher. I thought they came out great after buttering them and sprinkling cinnamon & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Crisps

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I didn't use margarine, using 1 cup of butter instead. I also used pecans, rather than walnuts. And I only had cinnamon grahams. If youve made toffee before, you'll know how to tell when these are ready to come out of the oven. As previous reviewers have stated, the butter/sugar mix spreads on its own, but if your pans are a little warped, you may have to help it along halfway during the baking. To achieve the proper crunch, you should watch it carefully during the final 5 minutes of baking. Whie the bubbling is active across the entire batch, keep watching, taking them out once the bubbling subsides a bit and the color turns a dark amber. I lined the tray with foil before cooking, so you can just take the entire sheet out to cool on a flat surface. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Flavorful and easy to make! Sounds like a lot of garlic, but it isn't. Only think I'd do differently is after draining the pasta, I toss a little oil in to keep the strands from clumping together (which it did, even after rinsing), and stick it in a warming oven while the sauce is made. I used frozen florets, microwaved them, made for an easy toss. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olympicmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Photo by luv2cook

Can't-Eat-Just-One Lace Cookies

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I know this is my recipe, but I can't emphasize enough how important it is to be exact in your measurements. It means the difference between thick lumps of hard oatmeal and beautiful, thin wafers of complete heaven. These are meant to be eaten as is. Don't try to dip them in chocolate or layer them with filling. You will need a more substantial cookie for those applications. Just savor each crispy cookie as if it's the last one (but knowing you have 99 more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a tasty recipe, but lacks the authentic flavor that garam masala would give it. We prefer using boneless chicken thighs (about 1 1/2 lbs) over breasts. Like other reviewers have said, reduce the total salt content to about 1 teaspoon. Add 2 teaspoons of garam masala to the cumin & paprika in the tomato & cream sauce. I also suggest that the cinnamon in the marinade be cut in half and substitute garam masala for the other half. With these changes, I'd give this recipe 5 stars. As written, it only deserves 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These are yummy! I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, because the banana makes them plenty sweet. I also used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup coconut oil which I melted in the microwave in place of the veg oil. If I have white whole wheat flour, I use that instead of white flour. These are 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sls1956

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States