Bel Air - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Potato Souffle

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for the first time. I didn't think MY sweet potatoes could get any better. W-E-E-E-L-L-L I was dead WRONG! This casserole was the BEST! My husband (who in 30 yrs of marriage) has NEVER liked sweet potatoes, tried this and LOVED IT!! It's just 2 of us, so I scaled it down to 4 servings. I kinda winged it with measurements, omitted the coconut (only because I didn't have any) and added a dash of cinnamon to the potatoes. Give this a try. You won't be disappointed! Thank You so much for sharing this, Ricki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The only changes I made were: I omitted the coconut, and added a dash of cinnamon. The nuts I used were pecans. I scaled this recipe down to half, (there's only 2 of us). Other than that, I followed recipe to a T. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but altered it quite a bit, because had limited ingredients on hand. I did not use chicken, but used more Boston Butt, added 1 can regular corn and 1 can creamed corn. Added 2 large red potatoes. Reduce tomatoes to 2 cans and added 3 cups chicken stock. The BBQ sauce and ketchup are critical flavors. My family loved it and will make repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The first time I tried it, I made it exactly as posted, and it was good, but I think it lacked a little something. This time I used cream of celery soup, fresh chopped celery and canned mushrooms. I served it over seasoned rice pilaf, but I think regular white rice or mashed potatoes would have been great..and a small side salad...It a great weeknight favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLELU
Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Stress

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
All my guests wanted the recipe. I made it with fresh squeezed OJ, which seemed to make it a cut above, and vanilla rum. Also, used 1.5X both juices or one drink would knock out most ladies I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cruella

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Perfect every time! I substitute 1/2 cup shortening for 1/2 c of the butter, lightly sprinkle sea salt on them as soon as they come out of the oven, and make sure your pans are cool when dropping dough on them! No more flat cookies! The shortening really helps, as butter melts faster than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent. I replaced milk with soy milk. Came out just fine. Lots of room to customize this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good start. Next time I will increase spices and salt - specifically cumin. Will also add chili peppers. If you like spicy foods, use this as a base and dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Tasted delicious! I used only 1 tbl of chili powder, which was perfect! I also baked it at 325 until it reached 160 degrees. Super tender and super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hspang2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add 1 tbsp of molasses to this recipe. Some of the photos made the bread seem very light in color. I also decorated it with thin apple slices before baking. The finished bread was a beautiful color with texture from the walnuts, which helped offset the sweetness of the bread. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Korean Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Great basic recipe! I like to zip it up a bit by tossing in a couple of dried chili peppers in the hot oil (fry until almost black) before adding the meat. Other nice additions include sliced shiitake mushrooms, A tsp of grated ginger, grated carrots, and soaked bean thread noodles. This ends up looking a lot like a beef chap chae. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I definitely agree that there's too much OJ. Just reducing it to 1/2 or even 1/4 cup is better, especially if you're preparing this for immediate consumption. Many have said that it's better the next day, but it might not last until then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This bread had a moist texture, but not as sweet as I'd prefer. I suppose this is a "bread" and not a "cake" so I guess this isn't a serious infraction. Other than the sweetness, I thought this bread was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Like a simpler version of ratatouille, this dish is quicker yet delicious. The roasting seems to brown better in a ceramic or stone dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Basil Sorbet

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Even my kids love this one. I'm going to try this with Thai basil next time. If you prepare all the fruit and syrup in advance, you can make this sorbet in just a matter of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My son asked me to send Lemon Bars, having never made them, I came to my trusty site (allrecipes) to find a recipe and stumbled across this one. WOWEEEE!!! YUMMMMY! I took advise from a member and used the juice of 3 lemons and about 1 TBSP zest. They were out of this world! These will DEFINITELY be in my dessert rotation! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I have been baking for about 30 years & I thought this was a good recipe. There is no need for a water bath. Put parchment paper sprayed with Pam in the bottom of a spring form pan. You really don't need to cut it to fit, but the edges with come out sort of scalloped. I used a bag of Nestor's chocolate chips @ about 3 ounces of bittersweet cocoa/oil, as I was out of chips. The only difficult thing about this recipe, is the need for extra hands/bowls. I left 6 eggs lightly beaten out on the counter while I made the other stuff and I microwaved the chocolate with no issues. It might help to use room temperature butter-because the hot sugar cools off a bit & might not melt your butter all the way through. I also substituted Kahlua for the water. I baked it for about 45 mins-perfect. It is very rich-the edges have an ever slight crisp while it's still warm & the whipped mouser texture as you bite into it. We are going to try it cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Other than using chicken quarters instead of just thighs, I made this to the letter of the recipe and it was fantastic. Definitely a do over. The only think I didn't like was having to clean the baked on teriyaki sauce. Ugh! Maybe next time I'll use foil to line the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh my, this was delicious. I used half butter-half olive oil and freshly ground Parmesan with fresh basil and parsley. As others have suggested, I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic at the initial toasting of the orzo step. There are many ways you could play with the flavorings and end up with this beautiful, almost risotto-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Our new home favorite! The dressing is a bit thick, but a little goes a long way if you take the time to mix it up well. Allowing the dressing to rest of a couple of hours before serving helps the flavors blend beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States