Bel Air - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Wow, just wow!!! I am an avid dessert maker & this was just what I was looking for!! It was dense , but not too dense, moist & fudgey! What I won't do again is use parchment paper to line the pans (I did two rounds) as it made the sides dent in on parts around the cake. I could have cut the edges, but my 12 year old daughter told me not to. The icing I used was horrible (Fudgey icing on this site) -it was more like a thick glaze!! The deliciousness of the cake itself saved the day!! Try it exactly as is, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caroline's Chocolate Fudge Frosting

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was runny, even after refrigerating a little, so it was basically a thick glaze. It wasn't very chocolatey, even though I used more chocolate than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken with Garlic and Lemon

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
The only changes I made to this (out of necessity) were substituting thighs for breasts, used squeezed lemon with bottled lemon juice and using garlic salt instead of minced garlic. Even with both of these changes, this recipe was a HUGE hit with my family! Will definitely be making it again and will add it to my FAVS folder. (I only used half of the chicken suggested but did not half the sauce which turned out to be a very good idea since my family was sopping it up. Literally....they were scraping it onto their plates with the chicken and potatoes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Decent basic recipe, but it really needed more seasoning. Garlic scapes are really mild and frankly, I would prefer more basil. I recommend that you make the quinoa more like a pilaf by adding some chopped veggies. Then I would zip up the chicken with some minced garlic and perhaps use a stronger cheese: gorgonzola, for instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Ceviche

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I love ceviche, but this recipe had too much celery and needed something sweet to offset the tartness. I originally made it exactly as written and thought it was just OK. I ended up adding chunks of very sweet fresh mango, which really helped make this easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Real Chiles Rellenos

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good and very authentic recipe! I avoided the freezing stage by using French fry-sized pieces of Monterey Jack and cheddar in place of the shredded cheeses. I had enough meringue to coat 6-8 chilies, so if you're going to take the time to make 4, why not make 8 instead? Poblano peppers are not particularly spicy, but the inch closest to the stem can be, so be careful! I suggest that you broil the chiles as close to the flames as you can get them. When I made these, I think some of the peppers were over-cooked because they started to split. A faster roasting probably would have avoided this outcome. I also used a clean paper bag instead if plastic because I don't really like the idea of putting hot things into plastic. Who knows what plasticizing agents come out of the plastic and into your food with the heat? As long as the chiles are well floured, you can ensure that they stay closed by coating them with the meringue and immediately frying. Overall, this recipe had wonderful flavor and a beautiful presentation. Now, if only I could find a super Mexican rice recipe . . . I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used zucchini in place of the yellow squash and the family loved it. I was also short a few crackers so I added some panko - a substitution that was virtually unnoticeable. I also reduced the total amount of butter by half - also not noticeably missing anything. Overall, I thought this recipe was easy and reasonably quick. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado-Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Super delicious and simple! I used a champagne mango (small, bright yellow, also called ataulfo, I think) and a Haas avocado. I didn't have white wine vinegar, so I used some Japanese rice vinegar instead. This salsa was a perfect blend of flavors and textures (sweet, tart, crunchy, and soft) and oh, so beautiful in presentation. I will definitely be keeping this one to use again. Keep in mind that it's ready to go once mixed together, but that with time, the liquid is drawn from the mango, peppers, and onion, making it a little mushy - still delicious, but loses a few presentation points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was fast and easy. Our family likes a bit of a kick so I added a bit more cumin and garlic. Someone suggested a mexican rice recipe on this site that I made and it went well with the chicken. Will definitely make again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala Florentine

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is really quite good, but like others who made the suggestions, I doubled the amount of mushrooms (1 lb sliced), added 2 small cloves of minced garlic, doubled the amount of spinach, halved the amount of Marsala, and added about 1/4 cup chicken stock. I also used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. I would consider this an "entertaining guests" kind of meal because the presentation can be elegant yet not very complicated. It's a robust recipe that can survive a lot of tweaking. This one will stay on our go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good flavors but way too much liquid for 1 cup of quinoa. I would reduce the chicken stock to less than 1 1/2 cups. (Maybe different brands of quinoa differ in dryness.) know your quinoa and adjust accordingly. But keep in mind that the canned tomatoes add a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was incredible!!! I made this for my husbands birthday and everyone enjoyed it! When I made it the second time I made the mistake of using the other Philadelphia Cheesecake Recipes (this is III). The other calls for 1/4 c. less graham cracker crumbs and adds sugar and flour to it. I found that it made the crust drier and stuck to the pan. I used canned cherries but the cheesecake can stand alone. The fruit topping is just a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This cheesecake is incredible! I used the canned cherry filling as suggested although I think the cheesecake can stand alone. May try blue berries or strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Country Style Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made as per the recipe. No changes needed. Very yummy. I'd suggest doubling the recipe only because our family of 4 would've had seconds if we had had enough. Made with sliced potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good flavor, but a bit sloppy in presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good basic egg noodle. I recommend starting with about 3/4 cup flour per egg and a splash of olive oil. Add more flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As others have suggested, this recipe definitely needed some extra seasoning to taste more "Mexican." I added cumin and oregano to the tomato sauce. And I also added a can of green chilies during the layering steps. My family enjoyed it. (And it's another great way to use up leftover roast turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for the first time. I didn't think MY sweet potatoes could get any better. W-E-E-E-L-L-L I was dead WRONG! This casserole was the BEST! My husband (who in 30 yrs of marriage) has NEVER liked sweet potatoes, tried this and LOVED IT!! It's just 2 of us, so I scaled it down to 4 servings. I kinda winged it with measurements, omitted the coconut (only because I didn't have any) and added a dash of cinnamon to the potatoes. Give this a try. You won't be disappointed! Thank You so much for sharing this, Ricki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The only changes I made were: I omitted the coconut, and added a dash of cinnamon. The nuts I used were pecans. I scaled this recipe down to half, (there's only 2 of us). Other than that, I followed recipe to a T. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but altered it quite a bit, because had limited ingredients on hand. I did not use chicken, but used more Boston Butt, added 1 can regular corn and 1 can creamed corn. Added 2 large red potatoes. Reduce tomatoes to 2 cans and added 3 cups chicken stock. The BBQ sauce and ketchup are critical flavors. My family loved it and will make repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States