Bel Air - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Avocado-Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Super delicious and simple! I used a champagne mango (small, bright yellow, also called ataulfo, I think) and a Haas avocado. I didn't have white wine vinegar, so I used some Japanese rice vinegar instead. This salsa was a perfect blend of flavors and textures (sweet, tart, crunchy, and soft) and oh, so beautiful in presentation. I will definitely be keeping this one to use again. Keep in mind that it's ready to go once mixed together, but that with time, the liquid is drawn from the mango, peppers, and onion, making it a little mushy - still delicious, but loses a few presentation points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was fast and easy. Our family likes a bit of a kick so I added a bit more cumin and garlic. Someone suggested a mexican rice recipe on this site that I made and it went well with the chicken. Will definitely make again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala Florentine

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is really quite good, but like others who made the suggestions, I doubled the amount of mushrooms (1 lb sliced), added 2 small cloves of minced garlic, doubled the amount of spinach, halved the amount of Marsala, and added about 1/4 cup chicken stock. I also used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. I would consider this an "entertaining guests" kind of meal because the presentation can be elegant yet not very complicated. It's a robust recipe that can survive a lot of tweaking. This one will stay on our go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good flavors but way too much liquid for 1 cup of quinoa. I would reduce the chicken stock to less than 1 1/2 cups. (Maybe different brands of quinoa differ in dryness.) know your quinoa and adjust accordingly. But keep in mind that the canned tomatoes add a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was incredible!!! I made this for my husbands birthday and everyone enjoyed it! When I made it the second time I made the mistake of using the other Philadelphia Cheesecake Recipes (this is III). The other calls for 1/4 c. less graham cracker crumbs and adds sugar and flour to it. I found that it made the crust drier and stuck to the pan. I used canned cherries but the cheesecake can stand alone. The fruit topping is just a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This cheesecake is incredible! I used the canned cherry filling as suggested although I think the cheesecake can stand alone. May try blue berries or strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Country Style Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made as per the recipe. No changes needed. Very yummy. I'd suggest doubling the recipe only because our family of 4 would've had seconds if we had had enough. Made with sliced potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good flavor, but a bit sloppy in presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good basic egg noodle. I recommend starting with about 3/4 cup flour per egg and a splash of olive oil. Add more flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As others have suggested, this recipe definitely needed some extra seasoning to taste more "Mexican." I added cumin and oregano to the tomato sauce. And I also added a can of green chilies during the layering steps. My family enjoyed it. (And it's another great way to use up leftover roast turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for the first time. I didn't think MY sweet potatoes could get any better. W-E-E-E-L-L-L I was dead WRONG! This casserole was the BEST! My husband (who in 30 yrs of marriage) has NEVER liked sweet potatoes, tried this and LOVED IT!! It's just 2 of us, so I scaled it down to 4 servings. I kinda winged it with measurements, omitted the coconut (only because I didn't have any) and added a dash of cinnamon to the potatoes. Give this a try. You won't be disappointed! Thank You so much for sharing this, Ricki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Souffle I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The only changes I made were: I omitted the coconut, and added a dash of cinnamon. The nuts I used were pecans. I scaled this recipe down to half, (there's only 2 of us). Other than that, I followed recipe to a T. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, but altered it quite a bit, because had limited ingredients on hand. I did not use chicken, but used more Boston Butt, added 1 can regular corn and 1 can creamed corn. Added 2 large red potatoes. Reduce tomatoes to 2 cans and added 3 cups chicken stock. The BBQ sauce and ketchup are critical flavors. My family loved it and will make repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The first time I tried it, I made it exactly as posted, and it was good, but I think it lacked a little something. This time I used cream of celery soup, fresh chopped celery and canned mushrooms. I served it over seasoned rice pilaf, but I think regular white rice or mashed potatoes would have been great..and a small side salad...It a great weeknight favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLELU
Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Stress

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
All my guests wanted the recipe. I made it with fresh squeezed OJ, which seemed to make it a cut above, and vanilla rum. Also, used 1.5X both juices or one drink would knock out most ladies I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cruella

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Perfect every time! I substitute 1/2 cup shortening for 1/2 c of the butter, lightly sprinkle sea salt on them as soon as they come out of the oven, and make sure your pans are cool when dropping dough on them! No more flat cookies! The shortening really helps, as butter melts faster than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cruella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent. I replaced milk with soy milk. Came out just fine. Lots of room to customize this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very good start. Next time I will increase spices and salt - specifically cumin. Will also add chili peppers. If you like spicy foods, use this as a base and dress it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Tasted delicious! I used only 1 tbl of chili powder, which was perfect! I also baked it at 325 until it reached 160 degrees. Super tender and super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hspang2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add 1 tbsp of molasses to this recipe. Some of the photos made the bread seem very light in color. I also decorated it with thin apple slices before baking. The finished bread was a beautiful color with texture from the walnuts, which helped offset the sweetness of the bread. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States