Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe doesn't work out at all for us. With so much dried basil and oregano, they never become part of the sauce itself, and it is not appetizing to be eating dried leaves all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Lemony Cucumbers

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Really good with a subtle flavor. If you let them sit for a couple of days the vinegar taste will take over, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this for a breakfast to serve to houseguests and it went over very, very well. Can't believe how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Japanese Onion Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
seriously? this is not what you get in Japanese restaurants. a lot of the time you get miso soup. this is NOT it at all. i have had another kind of soup or two, but again...NOT this. and yes, i lived in Japan...didn't just eat at a Japanese steakhouse a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Raspberry Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
;(I followed the recipe exactly, but the cake hardly rose, it was flat and it sank on the sides. I was making this cake for a graduation order I got and I just hope they like it. The taste is OK, but just not as good as I was expecting. I made the filling with regular heavy cream and folded fresh raspberries so it tasted a little better with the frosting. It is frustrating when a recipe with so many good reviews just doesn't come out as good for me :( I'll keep looking for a better raspberry cake recipe. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia53bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Slow Cooker BBQ Flat Iron Steak Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This dish was delicious, and I do not say that easily. Very nice taste and it is so simple to make. I added a fresh onion in place of dried minced onion and it was a hit with the whole family. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Armenian Shish Kabob

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My first attempt at Lamb Shish Kabobs....it was Awesome ! We raise lamb and sell meats, so I am trying different recipes to recommend to our customers. This is wonderful and easy. I omitted the wine since I didn't have any. Cooked this up for a tasting gathering and all enjoyed. Make sure you have good lamb, preferably from the farmer who raised it. Check out your local farm markets. Makes a difference. And we appreciate your support.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
For fuller flavor - make it a two day project. On Day 1, slow cook your meat and then refrigerate overnight. On Day 2, make your rolls and reheat the meat. The taste is off the chart. My family and I liked them the first day; we loved them the second. Take my advice and you'll see how great tasting these french dips can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Beckham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Make sure you try to remove as much of the silver membrane from the back of the ribs to make them easier to eat (less tug) I followed RobsRibs review and used a dry rub on the ribs. They were in the fridge, wrapped in non-stick sprayed foil, for about 5 hours. They went in the oven at 250 degrees for 2 hours (maybe a bit more)then my husband used apple wood chips and grilled at 350 for 30 mins or so... The ribs were very good - fall off the bone goodness. We topped with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Lasagna Pepper Boats

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These were delicious,especially the sauce. The only issue I had was the cheese melted out of the peppers. I will use a larger pepper next time and there will be a next time. For low carb these are a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Veggie Pasta

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was a simply, healthy and tasty. I did what a another viewer suggested and cooked the vegetables at 375 for 25 minutes and then hit broil for the last 5 minutes to get them a little "browning". I didn't have roasted garlic, so I added fresh garlic and let it roast with the vegetables. The fresh rosemary makes the flavor of the dish... I also added some fresh basil. We added shrimp, because my family thinks I'm crazy when I try to serve them anything without meat. The shrimp worked well and kept the dish low cal. Great recipe, thanks for sharing we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made this today for a cookout and it turned out so ugly that I didn't even put it out. I was curious to see what it tasted like before I threw the entire pan away so I tried a tiny piece. The sides were a little burned and the top appeared to have a crusted over look. All this being said when I tried it, the bar wasn't bad but was extremely sweet. It's hard to rate this one because it didn't turn out looking like any of the photos but for the most part wasn't bad tasting. If I made this again, I would cook it for a little less time and cut back on the sugar by 1/4-1/3. I would probably give a light sprinkle of confectioners sugar over the top to mask the "crusted over" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Paella I

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Absolutely Delicious. Used medium grain rice and just had to test it for done-ness. You can change this recipe up for whatever ingredients you like and it will work well. Wilw make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTH345

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious. We are a vegetarian household, so I substituted veg broth for both the chicken broth and the wine. (We don't drink alcohol.) Followed rest of recipe as is, except for using a sprinkle of dried crushed red pepper instead of a fresh chile pepper. And dried herbs for fresh, as fresh was not available. I believe that these minor changes kept the integrity of the recipe. It was SO good. Serve with hot bread for dunking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racedogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Just made this for tomorrows picnic....AWESOME!!! Cut the oil to ~ 1/4 C and added two diced avocados. Came out great, can't wait to have more tomorrow! As with most recipes, using fresh ingredients makes it even better, so I squeezed one lime and half a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The xylitol was a typo. Sorry. It should read monk fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Cream Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
OUTSTANDING! But angel hair pasta cooks in 2-3 minutes, almost before you have swirled it through the boiling water. I used Hunt's canned spaghetti sauce which relies heavily on tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
OUTSTANDING! But angel hair pasta cooks in 2-3 minutes, almost before you have swirled it through the boiling water. I used Hunt's canned spaghetti sauce which relies heavily on tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe clearly needs to be smoothed out using a conventional blender or an immersion one. Hand mixers don't work well. Also it is on the bland side. You can easily correct this by generously garnishing each bowl with shredded sharp cheddar cheese to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Garlic and Ranch Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Completely fell apart. Too runny needs more binders
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispymommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States