Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Not bad but not terrific either. Just ok honestly and I really wanted them to be amazing. They stayed moist and that part was good but the overall flavor wasn't much to be excited about. Will keep this around and try to tweak it but as its posted, I can only give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

Black Bean Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This burger is truly fantastic! Made exactly as posted and loved it! Lots of flavor and turkey stayed moist. Will def out this in the "KEEP" box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Talk about a Chef John moment!!! I served this with his wonderful Roast Beef Tenderloin (the video is fantastic for technique!!!), and my kids (including SIL who doesn't believe ANYONE can cook as good as he can!), have been raving about for weeks now!! I've also served it with chicken, cooked on grill using no "BBQ sauce", but marinated in "Good Season's Italian dressing" (from the packet). Wonderful combination of meats & side dish(s), & worth the little "extra" time, since it's both carb. & vegetable!!! Blessings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

Robbi's M&M's® Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Tried with butter and then with shortening. Shortening spreads too much and doesn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabiata

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Yummy! New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I gotta say, as an "old" Italian cook, this was fabulous!!! I made this last week, & can't wait to do again! I used fresh Italian Garlic (the garden over-floweth!!!), & more garlic (I know my tastes!), & this was Heaven-on-Earth! I suspect, having read "too much tomato" that you've got to be a tomato or Italian lover like me to appreciate the simple taste of tomatos!!! I can't WAIT until my tomato plants are over-flowing! They're starting to get big enough, but not red enough! Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

Bruschetta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I really enjoyed this which I made exact to the recipe, as always. However, while I was eating it, I knew it could be MUCH better with just one or two slight changes. First of all, with so few ingredients, those ingredients need to be best quality, and/or fresh! I'm making it again tonight, and I'm using home-grown Roma tomatoes & fresh Basil. Did you know that the more you cut from your basil plant the better it grows!!! Two, nix the Red-wine vinegar, & use Basalmic vinegar (the best grade you can find, 5 medallions or better. AND, use that bottle ONLY for this type of fresh presentation!). The last change I will make is a personal choice only, & that's because I really disliked the bagel chips. So, I'm making bread cubes using Chef John's method (see Chef John's Panzanella Salad for the technique to make bread cubes that don't get soggy!). So that's it, for me. Thanks Steph, for sharing a great salad, and Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

Spicy Basil Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This was excellent. Very close to a favorite restaurant dish we love. The only thing I changed was I cooked the onion with the garlic and peppers. Yes it's spicy, just like we love it. Next time I make it I'll serve it over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Once again Chef John, excellent in all respects!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Jeanne's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe but used a jar of pasta sauce because I didn't have a can of tomato sauce. Also I added skinless chicken longanisa, which is a filipino breakfast meat for added flavor. Once the dish was complete, I added about 2 tablespoons of sugar to remove the acidic taste of the tomatoes. This sauce was good enough to eat without pasta. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlfcwf0211

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Awesome recipe! Thank you, we love this salad and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Too fabulous to be nutritious! Doubled chocolate chips and decreased sugar by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I found these cupcakes the other day and baked them today. I just made them as a yellow cake, added a filling of lemon curd filling and made a meringue top. Both my husband and I agreed these are the best yellow cupcakes we have ever had. I can hardy wait for my card group to try them tomorrow. Wonderful job friedbluetomato. I will try them as lemon cupcakes the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealTime

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Very tasty chicken... Will serve again! Sauce didn't thicken as described, but worked anyway. Chicken took at least 5-6 minutes on each side to brown... At med. high heat (gas cooktop). Cut chicken thin and pounded ... Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealTime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Excellent!!! Made with 2 cups sliced fresh strawberries which had been sugared the night before. Used 3/4 cup sugar and 1 t. vanilla which was way too much vanilla taste so had to add 1 1/2 t. strawberry extract. Also made with 3 large bananas and 1/2 t. vanilla. Still too much vanilla as I had to add 1/2 t. banana extract. 3/4 cup sugar was too much for the banana ice cream so added mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I never liked cole slaw until I made this for family and tried it myself. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Yummy! We prefer a thicker gravy so the only change I made was to reduce the milk to 3 cups and the flour to 1/3 cup. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Wow!! Hands-down the best cornbread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaramy19709

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Strawberry-Shortcake Popsicles

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Smooth, creamy and somewhat healthy. The perfect go-to summer treat to keep you feeling fun and fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jswiech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
2/3 diners loved it. I thought it was bland. Zucchini disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States