Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe fed my man and I for a few days. The chicken was absolutely fall-apart delicious. I did what a few people here did (add vegetables to it), but the dumplings really took on the flavor of the vegetables and it wasn't too pleasant. But the chicken was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chanukah Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Nice small batch recipe for roll out cookies. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a nice sugar cookie, but most recipes make enough to feed 40 people. :) Love that these can be rolled out without refrigeration and that they aren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Mmwoah! Great lemony taste this was the perfect dish for tonight. First time making it and I'll be making it again. I love the flavors as the capers go so well with the lemon. I'm wishing there were leftovers. Sadly, there aren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Avocado-Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Super delicious and simple! I used a champagne mango (small, bright yellow, also called ataulfo, I think) and a Haas avocado. I didn't have white wine vinegar, so I used some Japanese rice vinegar instead. This salsa was a perfect blend of flavors and textures (sweet, tart, crunchy, and soft) and oh, so beautiful in presentation. I will definitely be keeping this one to use again. Keep in mind that it's ready to go once mixed together, but that with time, the liquid is drawn from the mango, peppers, and onion, making it a little mushy - still delicious, but loses a few presentation points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Beef Goulash

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was amazing! It was so fun to cook with spices I don't normally use. The taste was unique. I actually used Gardein brand beefless tips (I'm a vegetarian). I simply can't imagine how delicious this would have been with real beef. Again, awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer

Chinese Chicken Salad III

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this salad! I followed someone else's post that recommended putting a lime vinaigrette on the salad first then topping with the hoisin/peanut dressing. Perfect! I used store bought crunchy chow mein noodles that I had on hand. Definitely will be making this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was a really good recipe. The only change that I made was that I added a little salt and pepper and browned it in a skillet before placing it in the oven with the remaining ingredients. Very tasty and not overpowering with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best PB cookie recipe ever. I have made these numerous times now. sometimes changing it just a bit each time. I usually add a TSP cvanilla and use half white half brown sugar. Also tried it with some chocolate chips which is great too. The last couple times also added a couple TBS flour and 1/2 TSP baking soda and I found that makes them even better for us but is great just as written as well. I never knew I was a PB cookie lover until I made these. The simplicity of making them is an added bonus. From Start to finish and able to be eating a fresh baked delicious cookie in about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made it several times with varying ingredients. One time I added diced fresh baby bella mushrooms. It's a great breakfast to take to work during the week. I usually make it for Sunday breakfast, then freeze individual portions for later. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Easy to make, I think mine turned out with a little too much sauce but everyone liked it. Great weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Sourdough Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My daughter said she wanted to eat the whole loaf! This made a delicious, crusty loaf. With that said, however, I would not recommend this for a novice bread baker. I have seen some comments about the consistency of the dough. How much water you need will depend on a few factors: how much moisture is in the flour, the humidity in the air, how hydrated your starter is, etc. You need to be able to judge these, and adjust accordingly. Also keep in mind that starter-raised loaves rise much more slowly. So if you want it more quickly, you will have to add more commercial yeast to the mix. I used the dough setting on my bread machine, and after it was mixed, I let the dough rise in the pan for about 30-40 minutes. Then, I used the bake setting on the machine to finish the bread. ( My whole wheat cycle was not long enough) If you baby this bread a little bit, you will be rewarded with a crusty, light and tasty loaf! Thanks for sharing, Mari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Salmon with Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Love this recipe!... 4 stars because I replaced the sugar with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe. I didn't have Lamb and shallots so I used Chicken breast and left out the shallots. I didn't have Thyme so I subbed Marjoram. I took others advice and omitted the salt which I am happy I did. Other than those small changes I followed the recipe but did find that I needed more time to reduce the vinegar down. Make sure you leave the spices on long enough to absorb them all. For those who say this has a vinegary taste, it's because you aren't giving the sauce long enough to properly reduce. I already had a higher end vinegar so I don't know if using a cheaper one would really make a difference, maybe maybe not. I was happy with the sauce but I can also see adding some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Nice and easy to make. I made some adjustments based on what I had and what my family likes. I only had 6 tortillas so I stuffed them and used toothpicks to hold them together while they cooked. I didn't have olives or onions so I omitted them. I had a jar of Old El Paso Taco sauce so I used that for the bottom coating and on top of them as well. I used taco seasoning in my meat and liberally coated the top with Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Coconut Oatmeal Cookies II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Excellent. These bake very flat so make sure that you space them well. They are baked when slightly brown at edges. I got 4 dozen 2 inch cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Ranch Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This gets 5 stars from me because of how invredibly simple it is. Trust me when you are exhausted after taking care of 3 toddlers all day a quick easy meal that actually tastes great definitely earns 5 stars in my book. Made exactly as recipe stated with boneless chops about 1/2 thick. They were a little salty. I used a seasoning packet that said Ranch Dips. Not sure if that is the exact same thing as the regular ranch packet but it was great. next time I may use a few more pork chops or a little less seasoning. Still 5 stars though. Thanks for the recipe. Definitely will be making this again. I almost felt like I got to take a night off from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have made this three times in the last month. I even made the last batch with Morning Star Farms Beef Crumbles for my vegetarian wife. It is awesome either way. I do use a homemade barbque sauce instead of the tomato soup. I think it makes it pop. I also use two table spoons of Worcester Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gurgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mis Vaper

Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I would give this 6 stars if I could. This just might be the absolute best cookie I have EVER had. I did make a couple small additions. I added about 1/4 cup flour just to make it a little less like straight peanut butter, a tsp baking soda, and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. Other than that everything was the same. I used red rasberry preserves and the whole family can not stop eatting them. I may never get into a bathing suit this summer with these cookies around. The first batch I flattened them a bit too much with the fork criss cross pattern. The second I just barely pressed them down and make sure you do not make the divit for the preserves too deep or it will go right through the cookie. I used a 1/4 Tsp to make the hole. seriously the best cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Super Moist Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a good base recipe. Make sure when you go to add the soup and milk/cream that you drain the oil from the pan well. Just like others, I like to season and brown my meat beforehand. Be careful though, this can be a very rich dish so potatoes or noodles underneath will be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely 5 stars (and then some) on this one! A lot of prep work but OMG the end result is so incredibly decadent it's beyond words. I served this to a private group of friends and everyone, I mean EVERYONE, just about fainted from either the butter or the incredible taste! Paired with a mixed salad and mashed potatoes...If you don't try it, you will never know. 5 Thumbs up Chef John! You hit this one out of the ballpark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States