Maryland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Rhubarb Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I agree with them new reviewer that the filling needs to be doubled as there's too much cake for the filling. I may make more topping as well very fun though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This is sooooo good, just like all of Chef John's recipes! I used a fully cooked, all natural chicken sausage by Aidell's , which I sliced into bite sized pieces with a bias cut to allow a bit more browning surface, then added the onion and some (more) garlic...followed the recipe after that, and, of course, it was fabulous! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Succulent and delish! I didn't use bacon and I added small white beans. I also only had dried thyme. Besides that, instructions were followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA

Coconut Poke Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My family and I loved this recipe but I made the cake twice - I had to toss the first attempt. I did the first cake (white cake)in a bundt pan (bad idea!) and let it cool on a wire rack to the point I could turn it out on a plate. It just wouldn't soak up the liquid very well. Second cake was in a 9x13 Pyrex and it stayed in the Pyrex. I drilled the cake with lots and lots of holes and poured on probably 2/3rds of the liquid. I stopped when it seemed like the cake was well-saturated. Later, when I iced it with the frozen topping I topped it with fresh strawberries and toasted coconut. Success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Veal Scallopini

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Quick and easy, yet delicious dish. I added garlic and onion powder, and salt and pepper to the flour before dredging the veal. I also deglazed the pan with the marsala and tomatoes before pouring it over the veal in the oven safe pan. The veal came out very tender and flavorful. Mellow flavor, not too spicy. I served it over a bed of spaghetti in a pink vodka sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA

Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
A lot of prep work, but it was worth it. I marinated the fish for several hours in salt, garlic powder, and lemon juice prior to sauteing it. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made this today, exactly as written, and it was excellent! I'm rather surprised that some people said it was too sweet or salty. I mean really ... a teaspoon of salt or two teaspoons of sugar can make 56 ounces of tomatoes too salty or too sweet. The star of this recipe is the San Marzano tomatoes. By percentage, the other ingredients offer very little, but they do add to the flavor. Don't scrimp on the San Marzano tomatoes because they cost about $5 a can and yo get something cheaper a couple of bucks cheaper. They are worth it. I'll definitely make again but may use an immersion blender to make it less chunky. Thanks for sharing! I really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Pizza

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This was definitely fast and easy, which is my first test, but the feta didn't melt (I suspected it wouldn't). May try the other reviewer's suggestion of adding mozzarella and parmesan cheese to melt in and hold all the toppings together. The family was not overly excited, and it rated, "I guess I'd eat it again, but don't go out of your way". My son skipped it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lehmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Besan (Gram Flour) Halwa

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I have some besan, but didn't know what to do with it. This recipe was a blessing. I didn't have ghee or cardamom, but substituted with canola oil and cinnamon/nutmeg. I think it will not set as it should (since I used the oil), but it still turned out delicious. I crushed some sunflower seeds and peanuts to top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Charles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I didn't care for the raviolis--tough and chewy. Maybe it would be better with fresh or precooked raviolis. However, it certainly was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
My son liked this, and he's picky, but my daughter not so much. This was definitely easy and fast a promised, which is good for a family meal on a weeknight. I served it on flatbread with tomatoes, the dressing was good, but a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lehmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
It took me several times to Master this, but now its an absolute hit. Everywhere I go where it involves bringing a dish I am asked to bring this dish. The key is really reading the reviews. I found I liked it better with more yellow cheddar, and I like to add some ricotta as well. I also used heavy whipping cream to help keep it nice and moist. My family absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I didn't believe something this easy could be this tasty too! I followed the other reviewers' comments and added a dash of cumin, a dash of chili powder, and a healthy dash of garlic salt. I used the canned chicken, which wasn't bad, I think I might try rotisserie next time. DH loved it. the kids ate it, lol. I had "mexican blend" shredded cheese for the top. It was a perfect meal for tonight when it was unseasonably cool and I had had a rough day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lehmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Potter- Blackburn

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Most muffin pans are for 12 make sure to change the serving amount to what is being made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Potter- Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Super easy and really good. I was not willing to bake for an hour because we were really hungry so I browned the chicken and then mixed the sauce in a measuring cup and brought it to a boil and simmered it with the chicken until the chicken was cooked. The sauce was nice and thick and there was plenty to serve over the chicken, rice I made and there will was extra sauce for leftovers. Instead of thighs I cooked up about eight chicken tenderloins because that's what I had. That's probably why I had so much sauce but I like extra sauce for rice and so my leftovers aren't dry. If you're using breasts or tenderloins this is plenty of sauce for 8-10 tenderloins or equivalent chicken breasts and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lniedosik

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clear Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emergency Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I would make this again. the chicken I used turned out a bit tough, I think I overcooked it. but the sauce was very tasty and you can't beat it for a quick meal. the kids enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lehmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer

Smoked Salmon Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't have cucumber on hand so swapped petite peas. Added some chopped yellow pepper for crunch. Added shredded carrot and chopped tomatoes because they needed to be used up. Two dashes of old bay. Only thing is I would reduce the amount of onion as it can get very, ah, oniony since they're raw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Cranberry Meatballs

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I didn't make meatballs, so my rating is just for the sauce, which I made to brush over broiled hamburgers. I only simmered it on the stove for about 30 minutes, and used a 50:50 mixture of cranberry sauce to barbecue sauce. It made a delicious sauce for my burgers, which I ate without adding any other condiment. Next time, I might just mix a few tablespoons of the sauce into the ground beef mixture when making the hamburgers. I also mixed a couple of dashes of smoke flavoring into the meat. I plan on trying this recipe again, as the intended meatballs. Enjoy life -- play with your food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Turkey Burgers with Brie, Cranberries, and Fresh Rosemary

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
We felt this needed more spice. I used panko breadcrumbs instead of a torn slice of bread but that was the only substitution. If I made these again, I'd add some worcestershire sauce maybe some more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Kielbasa Kale Stew

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was amazing. When I looked at the photos I wasn't too sure about this recipe. And when I made it I was thinking that it least it's healthy. But when I tasted it- Wow! This recipe was delicious! I couldn't believe it. I used an immersion blender which made it very easy to make. I used turkey kielbasa also. I will serve this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States