Savannah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pickled Eggs III

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Giving 5 stars because I used this recipe to guide me to make my first ever pickled eggs, and to take stars or give a bad review is not fair when I had to make so many substitutions based on what I had on hand. I used this recipe for a guide and with out it I would not have had really good first time picked eggs. I am sure thar if I had all the required ingredients and did not make so many substitutions I would have had GREAT first making pickled eggs instead of just really good. I only had distilled vinegar so I used that. I did not have celery seed so I used caraway seed instead and I added three sprigs of fresh dill weed to the mix and boiled, then simmered and cooled as directed. They turned out rather well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Continued from another review I made..... If you use a cast iron skillet, and cook on medium high like I did. Once the tortillia starts to bubble ( does not take long at all), flip to other side with a spatula, then slap it 10 times, repetitively then remove....it will be done, longer than that, you will most likely burn ( like I did) the tortillia. That's IF you use a cast iron skillet. Also, DO NOT ( like I did) use cooking spray in between ( or at all) while making these. Your house will get smoky to say the least. This was the first time I have ever made tortillias and I WILL make again using this recipe. I will be hard pressed to buy store bought tortillias again. These are so easy to make and great tasting. I gave 5 stars because this recipe is so deserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a HIT!!! My son got him enough to barely cover the bottom of his bowl, took one bite, looked at me and said " You can make this again!" Then quickly went and filled up his bowl . The only thing I did different was I fried the sliced hot dogs and onion together before adding to the mix. GREAT FAST EASY AND TASTY MEAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Lentils

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
You either like lintels or you don't. There is no grey really. I needed a recipe for the polish sausage that I had out. I also needed to feed a family of five. I did not feel like fussing much with cooking so I wanted something quick and easy. This recipe is quick and easy. I doubled the recipe, and made it as written. After tasting at near completion of cooking time, I also added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. That gave this recipe the little added boost it needed. For me without adding the Old Bay Seasoning, it was rather bland. My family ate the meal and they too thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Strawberry Cream Cheese Passion Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy to make pie. Cost friendly as well. I gave 4 stars, because it took a while to set enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Super awesome! I used half of the cheese, sugar and bacon to cut calories and it still had tons of flavor. I had to put the chicken in the oven a few minutes to get the cheese to melt all the way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have never liked Hashbrown Casserole, not even Cracker Barrels, I won't eat it. My husband on the other hand loves it. So I wanted to try my hand at making one of his favorite side dishes, and I came across this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed. My husband LOVED it. I tried it, and well... I loved it too, now this HB Casserole I will eat. No changes needed for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This a great quick and easy meal to make. I followed the recipe as directed only adding a can of corn also. Even in its simplicity, it came out quite tasty and I was able to make it look like I put more work into it than I did. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The only thing I did differently is I doubled the recipe !! I would recommend, making your own syrup too. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was really great! Thank you! I followed it basically as written, except that I downsized it a bit for the amount of mahi I had. Oh, and I totally forgot the garlic, but the vegetables I made along side had so much I decided it wasn't worth throwing it in at the end! Was excellent with white rice and a stir fry of mushrooms, soy beans, onions and cilantro. Merci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kansas

Better-Than-Ever Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The recipe is GREAT! A wonderful starting point for me. I only gave 4 stars because, I did adjust it a lot. The following are my alterations/additions. 01. I did NOT use the red and green pepper, or the cilantro or Italian dressing. 02. I used 2 lbs of ground beef. 03. I used one package of large burrito flour tortillas 10 count. 04. When it came time I used one 24oz jar of chunky style salsa and 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce from a 28 oz.can ( reserve) the rest. 05. I also added to the filling mixture one can 19.75 of black beans. 06. While the mixture is slowly bubbling I took the remaining salsa and put it in a sauce pan, mixing, one can 10oz. of diced tomatoes with green chillis drained with it warmed up on med low. 07. I heated one 16oz. can of refried beans in the microwave ( enough time to warm, about 3:00 minutes. 08. Once everything is prepared, I spread about 2 tablespoons of the refried beans, maybe a bit more enough to put a thin layer on the tortilla. 09. I then put about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of filling down the center amount of filling is preference. Then I rolled the tortilla and placed in a prepared pan seam side down. Repeat, until all ten are in the pan. 10. Once all are in the pan I then poured over evenly the enchilada / salsa sauce on the enchiladas. 11. Baked as directed. Final ten minutes of baking take out and sprinkle shredded Mexican cheese to taste, and garnish with green fire roasted chillies and black olives( optional) family loved thid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It is really rather bland made as is, and needs alterations to bring out flavors. I gave two stars because, of posting an easy to follow recipe and the other star for posting an inexpensive meal that is quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Casserole II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Love it! I did make it a bit differently. I divided the butter. I also used one 12 oz. package of pepperidge farm dry stuffing mix instead of 6 oz. I used half the package of stuffing mix and blended in with the wet ingredients to include 1/4 of the butter that I softened. Once sauce and zucchini was well blended I spread in the baking dish. I then melted the other 1/4 cup butter, in a medium sauce pan, and added just enough water to lightly soften the stuffing mix. I then topped the casserole with it. This made for a nice tasty topping with a little crunch. The casserole turned out just great! The zucchini even kept some of the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is fantastic!! I have a family of 5 that I am feeding, and three of them have very hearty appetites. So I doubled the recipe and it was perfect. I added one large chopped red onion, and though I doubled everything, I added extra beef bouillon cubes (4). And did not add any salt. This recipe reminds me of my days in the military. Those who claim it's bland are forgetting it's called ARMY SOS. however I did not find it bland at all. This is a quick easy meal to make as well as delicious, and very inexpensive if on a budget. This is a keeper, even my fussy picky eaters love this and always get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was a major hit with my family. I did not have the roll out pillsbury ready made pie crust, so I used two deep dish ready made pie crusts, one for holding the filling, the other for the top. I took the recommendation of another reviewer and used two cans of soup and I used one can of milk ( approx. one cup) I like a wetter pie as well. Other than that all stayed the same. I even had some left over filling so I kept that, heated it the next day, put it over some toast and the rest is history! Loved this recipe!!! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a fantastic, away from the normal, tuna casserole. I had to make some changes, because I did not have the cheese on hand that the recipe called for. The following is what I did. I doubled the recipe and with that instead of the shredded cheese, I used one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I did not use the zucchini due to I have a son who does not like zucchini, instead I added 12oz. Package of frozen peas. ( remember, I doubled the recipe make sure to double the recipe ingredients, use amount I listed for subs) I made noodles as directed and I took every other ingredient and mixed it in a large sauce pan and blended all together until cream cheese was melted. I then poured the sauce over the already cooked noodles, and mixed/ blended all together. I put it in a large baking dish in a pre- heated oven at 350 degrees F and baked for approx. 30 minutes, just until warmed all the way through and the top began to brown. This fed a family of 5 with 4 of them being very hearty eaters. THEY LOVED IT. thank you for posting your recipe, I would not have been able to make the dish I did with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Boats on the Grill

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These are so cool! I'm very picky about the texture of my zucchini. No soft slimy stuff for me. For this recipe I did not boil the zucchini first. Great texture without that step. I grilled them about 15 minutes on indirect heat, but moved them over the flame a few minutes to speed up the process. The flavor was awesome... tasted like pizza with a lot less calories! I used real bacon instead of bacon bits, a toasted English muffin instead of regular bread, and three unseeded jalapenos. No diced green chiles. Beautiful presentation. Served with pasta with garlic and olive oil and white pork chops with Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great! I did not have the soy sauce but went ahead and made it anyway, as directed. I added some fresh bell pepper ( green ) and as suggested dredged in flour. The end result was fantastic. This recipe leaves a lot of room to make it your own. I will be keeping this and I will most defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe, so easy and fast to make! Just like other reviews, I also used packaged slaw mix! This is a keeper of a recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
GREAT!!!! This recipe is wonderful I was looking for a cucumber salad recipe that did not require vinegar as I had non on hand, came across this one a WOW so simple and tasty. I did make some adjustments only due to personal liking, I added one and a half teaspoon of dried dill weed and two tablespoons of lemon juice. I did taste the sauce before I added the dill and lemon juice and it is still wonderful. As I mentioned just due to personal liking, did I make the additions. * AS A TIP TO MAKE THE SALAD LOOK PRETTY, BEFORE SLICING THE CUKES SCRAPE THE CUCUMBERS DOWN ALL THE FRONTS LEAVING WAVY LINES... THEN SLICE!! *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States