Savannah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Absolutely great! Better than anything you pay big $$$ for in a restaurant. I had this with creamed spinach and a vegi-rice pilaf. Three brand new recipes all from this site all done for one dinner! It was special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Easy Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This was my 1st time making cinnamon rolls. I Only did so because the bread recipe I was making from this site said it made 3 loafs (Grandma VanDoren's) and it is just DH & myself. WOW!!! In the beginning I THOUGHT I had everything but way too late realized I did not have cream...so...I mixed some liquid French Vanilla coffee creamer with some 1/2 & 1/2 (and still added the vanilla extract) up at the last minute. Hey, what can I say? They were freaking awesome! On a personal note just for myself, I won't worry about nuts next time... even though I loved this with them... it is still an extra expense that could be left out without compromising the flavor. AND even though I thought pouring the creamy mixture over them before baking sounded strange it was spot on!! I will try making another cinnamon roll recipe on this site but have a feeling nothing could be as good as this one. I feel as if I have to try baking another one just so I know for certain that this is THE ONE to use. I will of course post an update later. That being said, I won't use baking bread as an excuse to try my hand at cinnamon rolls ever again. SO 4.75 Big gold stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Herb Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is pretty good. I just made it for the first time, but I used garlic and onion powder. The thing I would do different is that I would pour the extra butter mixture over the bicuits AFTER they come out of the oven so the flavor might get further into the bread. Of course, that may make it too soggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kansas

Simple Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Great recipe and easy. After reading other reviews I did the following. I used 2 cups of shell macaroni. I also added more shredded sharp cheddar cheese (1 cup). Instead of the mushroom soup I used condensed fiesta nacho cheese soup. I also chopped up about a half of a cup of onion. In addition to that a also blended in a can of fiesta nacho cheese dip sauce. My son said this was the best Mac and cheese ever. Just enough spices to give it a kick and oh so cheesy. It was w real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Scrambled Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I LOVE THESE !! And so does my family. I took the tips of a couple of other reviewers and I used 1 pound of HOT FLAVORED sausage as well as 1/4 cup each of water and mayo for fluffiness. FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Baked Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
If you want easy and good! This is it. I did not use the oil it called for, instead I sprayed the baking dish with canola cooking spray. Same effect with less use of oil and I found it keeps the bottom of the chicken from being oilly. My family said this is a do again dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Spaghetti Tacos

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
After being asked several times to make spaghetti tacos I have in. I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I did not make the spaghetti as described in the recipe. I thought it would be better with a southwestern style spaghetti. So I added red and black beans (drained and rinsed) along with corn (drained) and some cumin (1 teaspoon) into my regular classic style sauce made with half ground beef and half ground sausage to equal one pound, and from a kids perspective it was awesome, from an adults perspective it was okay. Was worth the try. I added a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this recipe to the tee with one missing letter, the W(alnuts ). In the words of my 17 y.o. son with a big grin, THESE ARE AWESOME, you can make these again mom, even though HE was the one that actually made them, I only helped by reading what was needed and the steps for preparing. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pork Stew with Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe is super versatile and easy to make. I have made it in the crock pot on days I had to work and couldn't babysit the stove. Just cook it with the lid off for the last hour to thicken up the stew a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Dilled Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Fantastic green beans !!! Like other reviews, I just could not bring myself to add the hard boiled eggs. Perfect with out them! Thank you for sharing a great recipe. There wasn't any left the family ate them all right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I was looking for a tuna casserole that my husband would like, well this is it! He has never been a fan of tuna casserole.....until now. I added two tablespoons of sour cream, as suggested. Then for the last five minutes of baking I crushed a sleeve of buttery crackers ( Town House ) then sprinkled the reserved 1/4 cup of shredded cheese, and topped with the crushed crackers. Baked the remai ning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Salad with Corn

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, only not using the mushrooms. I have family members that do not like them. I gave this 3 stars because not only did I just think the flavor was so- so, the rest of my crew thought the same. Like the other reviews indicated, the extra sugar is not needed unless you prefer sweeter bean salads. It was worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this recipe after reading MANY REVIEWS, because I was skeptical of using a zucchini as a dessert such as a cobbler. I know it works great for bread but was leery to use it in a dessert usually made with fruit. Glad I made this, it will be a staple dessert in my home. I took some of the tips posted by other reviews. I seeded an overly HUGE zucchini and quartered it making it look like Granny Smith apples that were chunked. It fell short to the 8 cups, so I adjusted the amount of lemon juice I used ( I got a measuring cup marked 2/3 and fill it about 3/4 of the way to the 2/3 line). The rest I did exactly as the recipe directed, only if sprinkled cinnamon sugar ( store pre mixed kind) over the top before baking, it turned out so very good!!!! I will make this over and over and over again. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Wild Rice Soup I

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic soup! Quick and easy! I followed other reviewers suggestions and sautéed celery, carrots, mushrooms (if I have them), and onions with a little bit of butter or olive oil then add the chicken, broth, and water. I definitely think the added vegetables makes it a more heartier soup, and anything to add more vegetables to my kid's meal, I am all in! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Candied Kielbasa

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I added one 12 oz. bottle of cocktail sauce to the mix, and loosely packed the brown sugar. Slow cooked on low heat for 8 hours. During the last 5 minutes I added one can of chunked pineapple. This recipe is great! Especially for sporting events or just a weekend around the house with some friends and family watching football, be sure to double the recipe though cause it won't last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basil Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used chicken thighs. They were very tender, but not very lemony. Maybe marinating longer is the key. I guess I just assume that if I drag the food processor out from under the cabinet that I would get a more intense dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Thai Style Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
5 star's hands down! I used 2 Thai red chili peppers instead of a jalapeno and Thai basil, both of which I picked out of my own little garden! Per other reviews added some sesame oil to the small food processor to make the paste. I also used 3/4 of a large can of diced tomatoes and drained them as I did not have fresh on hand. I added the basil a few minutes (maybe 5) BEFORE adding the shrimp (which was saved till the very last)and pronounced it done once the shrimp turned pink. This was simple to make but tasted as if it took an awful lot more effort! The only change I will make next time is to use a 3rd pepper for making it as is. My plans however are to double the recipe next time for company and leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Easy Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Good recipe, I added a green pepper chopped, and garlic powder to taste. With out the garlic powder I found this to be on the bland side slightly. Over all a good recipe. I will make it again. ( note, I may have found it a bit bland because I did not have red wine for the splash of it that the recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni Salad I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great macaroni salad, I was looking for a recipe that did not call for celery, because I did not have any on hand and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store just for celery. I did make some alterations, because I personally do not like salad dressing ( miracle whip, or others of the same ) so I used real mayonnaise with olive oil. When making the dressing for for the salad I taste tested as I knew it may be on the bland side ( using mayo instead ) so I added one package of .08 oz dry Italian dressing flavoring packet ( Nature Valley ) and one tablespoon of distilled white vinager. When making the vege mix I only had Roma ( plum ) tomatoes on hand and the recipe did not specify the tomato type so I used 3 large Roma tomatoes. I also added about one cup of matchstick carrots. The end result was fantastic. This is now the only Mac salad I will make. Love It. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Beef Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A quick easy and inexpensive meal to make. My family thought it was really good. Don't change anything. It's great the way it is. As a tip, use two boxes of Jiffy Corn Bread Mix. Even simpler and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States