Savannah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Poor Man's Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Turned out well. Only 4 stars because for me I like a bit more flavor, and I did not use 2 cups of water ( that would have been too much, only need enough water, to coat the bottom of baking dish. Over all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slider-Style Mini Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made these but halved the recipe since it is only my husband and me. I added a little more than half of the onion soup mix. They were so tasty. My husband loved them. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche (Southern Egg Pie)

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I did not have the spicy pork sausage on hand, instead I had bulk sweet Italian sausage, so that is what I used. Chopped up a small green bell pepper also and viola!!! Everything else was done to the letter. Love the recipe. Easy to make, easy to add your own touches to make your own, family wanted seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I was looking for a sauce,to compliment the fried green tomatoes I was planning on making. I stumbled upon this one, and am so glad I did. Easy to make, tasty and no alterations needed. The sauce was superb with the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frugal Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Giving this 5 stars because, it is easy to make, minimal ingredients and still tasty. A perfect start recipe for those who have never made fried green tomatoes before. Leaves tons of room for making this recipe your own! As a southern lady I have made many batches of fried green tomatoes, and this is certainly one of the best basic/start ones I have come across. Grandma would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Salad with Avocado

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My original way of making egg salad sandwiches just went out the window!! This is a fantastic recipe with a nice twist of avocado to it. I was looking for something a bit more than traditional and I found it, very tasty as well. I doubled the recipe and with that I added two tablespoons of olive oil mayonnaise ( only because I like it with it, recipe does NOT, need it, for I tried it with out the mayo also). I also added just a splash, splash only of lemon juice to keep avocado from browning as it chilled. This recipe is a definite keeper. LOVE IT. Thank you for posting it. Tip keep the pit of the avocado with the finished salad and the keeps from browning too,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
First recipe I have ever given a 1 star rating to. Followed to the letter also. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Hot Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Creamed Cucumbers

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Not a bad basic receipt, I added one cup plain yogurt and dill to taste about one half teaspoon for my liking. It will be saucy, to aide in the cucumbers sweating slice with then sprinkle with salt and let rest while making sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was amazing! My husband is not a fan of horseradish but he loved this sauce - it's a nice, smooth and creamy blend of flavors and neither the horseradish nor the mustard overpower - I doubled the recipe and had not a drop left over! As others have mentioned, it's not necessary to salt the tenderloin. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Quick recipe, easy to half. I forgot the Parmesan and it was still delicious. We had it on little French bread toasts with goat cheese. Might be good over pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It was good. Might be better as a dip for French bread instead of something to spoon into alone. Goat cheese to me just seems like something you want only a taste of as opposed to a mouthful. But it was nice to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Arroz Rojo (Mexican Red Rice)

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this rice!!! Reminded me of the Mexican rice at restaurants back home (we are currently stationed in Germany). Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meloakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Arrabbiata Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was an awesome sauce!!!!! I added extra crushed red pepper and onions (because I love those two ingredients and I love heat) and added about a teaspoon and a half of salt. I had this in Italy and was searching for the right copy. This recipe was spot on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meloakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made this just as written. I had an old favorite meat loaf recipe that my family loved, but tried this just for the change. Oh, my goodness! Who knew meatloaf could be so different? My hubby LOVED it and said, "No offence, the old recipe was great, but this is the best I've ever had." Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a great summer time fruit salad. I simply LOVE it. I will be making this time and time again. I read some of the reviews before making it, blended the banana with the juice of the pineapple and splashed in some Lemmon juice TA DAAA no brown turning bananas!!! I am not one that usually one who like canned fruit like fruit cocktail but with this recipe it's simply devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Zan

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
We cooked this last evening. I used boneless skinless thighs. I doubled the sauce recipe and I used about a one and a half inch piece of fresh ginger which I minced. I also doubled the garlic. Like other reviewers, I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. I cooked the sauce for a few minutes in a saucepan to blend all ingredients, then put half the sauce in a crockpot with the chicken thighs. I cooked it for 5 hours on high. It was watery, so I removed the chicken with a slotted spoon, served on top of brown rice with a side of stir fried vegetables. I ladled the remaining sauce (which was now very thick) on top of the chicken and garnished with chopped scallions. There was a lot of food on the serving plate and it was totally gone! This is probably the BEST teriyaki recipe I've ever had! My husband loved it! I'm a very picky eater, everything I eat has to be very flavorful and robust and the recipe really fit the bill! I think everyone would love this and you will never ever want bottled Terriyaki sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

Butter Beef

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Cooked exactly as written, it is wonderful. I have to fight my men to keep them out of the crock pot until the meal is ready because they steal a taste every chance they get. I usually use some of the liquid from the crock pot combined with water to cook the rice (ummm, it's not healthy but it's really good), or serve it over noodles. Sometimes I'll add a couple of squirts of ketchup (just a little--don't want to taste the ketchup) and it seems to change up the flavor just a little. This is great just as written, but it can also be tweaked a thousand ways. One of my top ten recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Made this last night and it was incredible! Made it with coconut milk instead of the heavy cream as suggested in the video. I would have put in another jalapeno and more curry but as is it's delish and perfect for the kids. Made it with baby bok choy salad and crustless spinach quish also from this site! One fab meal!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Chicken Curry II

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Made this last night. Used 6 thighs. Skinned and de-boned them my self. Used about 6 teaspoons of curry! The house stank....but oh my! So worth it. Will do it again. My add vegi's to it next time. I'm thinking a small amount of potato or maybe carrots mushrooms and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States