Savannah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I was looking for a tuna casserole that my husband would like, well this is it! He has never been a fan of tuna casserole.....until now. I added two tablespoons of sour cream, as suggested. Then for the last five minutes of baking I crushed a sleeve of buttery crackers ( Town House ) then sprinkled the reserved 1/4 cup of shredded cheese, and topped with the crushed crackers. Baked the remai ning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Salad with Corn

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, only not using the mushrooms. I have family members that do not like them. I gave this 3 stars because not only did I just think the flavor was so- so, the rest of my crew thought the same. Like the other reviews indicated, the extra sugar is not needed unless you prefer sweeter bean salads. It was worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this recipe after reading MANY REVIEWS, because I was skeptical of using a zucchini as a dessert such as a cobbler. I know it works great for bread but was leery to use it in a dessert usually made with fruit. Glad I made this, it will be a staple dessert in my home. I took some of the tips posted by other reviews. I seeded an overly HUGE zucchini and quartered it making it look like Granny Smith apples that were chunked. It fell short to the 8 cups, so I adjusted the amount of lemon juice I used ( I got a measuring cup marked 2/3 and fill it about 3/4 of the way to the 2/3 line). The rest I did exactly as the recipe directed, only if sprinkled cinnamon sugar ( store pre mixed kind) over the top before baking, it turned out so very good!!!! I will make this over and over and over again. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Kielbasa

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I added one 12 oz. bottle of cocktail sauce to the mix, and loosely packed the brown sugar. Slow cooked on low heat for 8 hours. During the last 5 minutes I added one can of chunked pineapple. This recipe is great! Especially for sporting events or just a weekend around the house with some friends and family watching football, be sure to double the recipe though cause it won't last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basil Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used chicken thighs. They were very tender, but not very lemony. Maybe marinating longer is the key. I guess I just assume that if I drag the food processor out from under the cabinet that I would get a more intense dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Thai Style Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
5 star's hands down! I used 2 Thai red chili peppers instead of a jalapeno and Thai basil, both of which I picked out of my own little garden! Per other reviews added some sesame oil to the small food processor to make the paste. I also used 3/4 of a large can of diced tomatoes and drained them as I did not have fresh on hand. I added the basil a few minutes (maybe 5) BEFORE adding the shrimp (which was saved till the very last)and pronounced it done once the shrimp turned pink. This was simple to make but tasted as if it took an awful lot more effort! The only change I will make next time is to use a 3rd pepper for making it as is. My plans however are to double the recipe next time for company and leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Easy Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Good recipe, I added a green pepper chopped, and garlic powder to taste. With out the garlic powder I found this to be on the bland side slightly. Over all a good recipe. I will make it again. ( note, I may have found it a bit bland because I did not have red wine for the splash of it that the recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni Salad I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great macaroni salad, I was looking for a recipe that did not call for celery, because I did not have any on hand and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store just for celery. I did make some alterations, because I personally do not like salad dressing ( miracle whip, or others of the same ) so I used real mayonnaise with olive oil. When making the dressing for for the salad I taste tested as I knew it may be on the bland side ( using mayo instead ) so I added one package of .08 oz dry Italian dressing flavoring packet ( Nature Valley ) and one tablespoon of distilled white vinager. When making the vege mix I only had Roma ( plum ) tomatoes on hand and the recipe did not specify the tomato type so I used 3 large Roma tomatoes. I also added about one cup of matchstick carrots. The end result was fantastic. This is now the only Mac salad I will make. Love It. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Beef Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A quick easy and inexpensive meal to make. My family thought it was really good. Don't change anything. It's great the way it is. As a tip, use two boxes of Jiffy Corn Bread Mix. Even simpler and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dill Sauce for Hamburgers

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I loved it!!! My husband did as well. My son however thought the dill was a bit over powering. Which is fine, more for my husband and I. This will be made regularly now in my home. I took a tip from another review and added some garlic powder and BAM!!! Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickled Eggs III

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Giving 5 stars because I used this recipe to guide me to make my first ever pickled eggs, and to take stars or give a bad review is not fair when I had to make so many substitutions based on what I had on hand. I used this recipe for a guide and with out it I would not have had really good first time picked eggs. I am sure thar if I had all the required ingredients and did not make so many substitutions I would have had GREAT first making pickled eggs instead of just really good. I only had distilled vinegar so I used that. I did not have celery seed so I used caraway seed instead and I added three sprigs of fresh dill weed to the mix and boiled, then simmered and cooled as directed. They turned out rather well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Continued from another review I made..... If you use a cast iron skillet, and cook on medium high like I did. Once the tortillia starts to bubble ( does not take long at all), flip to other side with a spatula, then slap it 10 times, repetitively then remove....it will be done, longer than that, you will most likely burn ( like I did) the tortillia. That's IF you use a cast iron skillet. Also, DO NOT ( like I did) use cooking spray in between ( or at all) while making these. Your house will get smoky to say the least. This was the first time I have ever made tortillias and I WILL make again using this recipe. I will be hard pressed to buy store bought tortillias again. These are so easy to make and great tasting. I gave 5 stars because this recipe is so deserving, and I won't take away stars, like I have seen so many others do because of their own mistakes, and or alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a HIT!!! My son got him enough to barely cover the bottom of his bowl, took one bite, looked at me and said " You can make this again!" Then quickly went and filled up his bowl . The only thing I did different was I fried the sliced hot dogs and onion together before adding to the mix. GREAT FAST EASY AND TASTY MEAL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Lentils

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
You either like lintels or you don't. There is no grey really. I needed a recipe for the polish sausage that I had out. I also needed to feed a family of five. I did not feel like fussing much with cooking so I wanted something quick and easy. This recipe is quick and easy. I doubled the recipe, and made it as written. After tasting at near completion of cooking time, I also added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. That gave this recipe the little added boost it needed. For me without adding the Old Bay Seasoning, it was rather bland. My family ate the meal and they too thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Strawberry Cream Cheese Passion Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy to make pie. Cost friendly as well. I gave 4 stars, because it took a while to set enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Super awesome! I used half of the cheese, sugar and bacon to cut calories and it still had tons of flavor. I had to put the chicken in the oven a few minutes to get the cheese to melt all the way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have never liked Hashbrown Casserole, not even Cracker Barrels, I won't eat it. My husband on the other hand loves it. So I wanted to try my hand at making one of his favorite side dishes, and I came across this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed. My husband LOVED it. I tried it, and well... I loved it too, now this HB Casserole I will eat. No changes needed for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Hamburger Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This a great quick and easy meal to make. I followed the recipe as directed only adding a can of corn also. Even in its simplicity, it came out quite tasty and I was able to make it look like I put more work into it than I did. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The only thing I did differently is I doubled the recipe !! This recipe is perfect the way it is, if you add fruit or nuts, well then in my opinion you are modernizing the recipe. That makes it NOT SO MUCH GOOD OLD FASHIONED PANCAKES. I would recommend, making your own syrup too. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was really great! Thank you! I followed it basically as written, except that I downsized it a bit for the amount of mahi I had. Oh, and I totally forgot the garlic, but the vegetables I made along side had so much I decided it wasn't worth throwing it in at the end! Was excellent with white rice and a stir fry of mushrooms, soy beans, onions and cilantro. Merci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoreleiLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States