Savannah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
God bless your soul!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Amazing! I didn't want to share the leftovers... and I'm not too fond of leftovers! So thank you so much for this recipe for the flavor and for the convenience of the Crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Onion Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Simplicity at its finest, my family loved it. I also added roasted potatoes and green beans as sides, to make a wonderful easy to make and tasty meal that had my family giving rave reviews, mostly comments of " you can make this again" needless to say NO left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Dipped Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
@ladyisis123...First of all, since when is one concerned about Nutrition when one is eating fried chicken for crying out loud. Most of us are intelligent enough to realize that fried chicken is not one of those items that is put on top of a "healthy" diet but we love it anyway...PLUS if you scroll down far enough on the recipe page you WILL find a nutritional analysis of the recipe....NOW on to more actual constructive criticizm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetolRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Healthier Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I can't say they were amazing, but they gave a good base to work with. I'm sure after trying some of the other recommendations I'll be able to give it 5 stars. They were very tender though. I'm curious what hot sauce others used. We used Sriracha, which wouldn't have been my first choice, but sometimes you have to go with what the pantry says. Overall, I like that they are baked and not fried. Now I have extra calories to spend on beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Daisy Brand Potato Skins

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Delicious. I took care of step one early in the day so there would be little prep when we wanted to eat at game time. I prefer to bake my taters at a lower temp for longer - 325 degrees for 90 minutes. (Prevents dry spuds.) For the second step, I brushed with melted Lite butter, turned the oven back on to 400, baked as the recipe says, and flipped the skins over for a few extra minutes to crisp up the bottom a little more. Easy recipe. But really, how can you screw up tater skins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Lemon Pepper Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
They were alright. Takes a bit of time to zest all those lemons for so little flavor. I'd try again, but maybe add more lemon, or marinate it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I overlooked the food processor instructions and just mixed it. The flavors are awesome. And it's just nice to look at! I garnished it with a few slices of lime. Good hot or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Asian Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy side, a little dry. Not a big coconut flavor to it, but it could be the brand of coconut milk. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Apple Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Easy recipe. I will make it again, but double or triple the apples and glaze. I added a little cinnamon and brown sugar. Great Fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kansas

Poor Man's Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe with or with out additions. I took a photo, I thought it needed a visual to go along with a simple yet tasty recipe. For the photo used I used one 12 oz. bag of frozen peas and carrots along with some home grown corn that I had cut the kernels off the cob and made the recipe as directed by the poster. If you are on a budget this a great dinner option, most will find they have all ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koekje

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Delicious. For those stating the waffles became limp and soggy I suggest laying the waffles on a cooking rack to allow the excess moisture to evaporate for about 1-2 mins after baking them. Also, make sure you are baking them thoroughly. There is NO baking soda in this recipe; it calls for baking powder and the amount of baking powder is correct. Happy baking. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Schnitzel

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Recipe as written, this is just so, so for me a little bland on flavor unless you count the lemon juice, and I did not think it worked well with the beef cube steak. I will look around for another recipe to use..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
These are some of the best potatoes I have made, I use 1/4 cup of olive oil and a teaspoon of everything else. Makes for better coating of the potatoes and they brown more evenly. Sometimes I sprinkle the top with Parmesan cheese cheese. Simple and wonderful this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have made these several times. I did not have all purpose flour on one occasion I only had self rising, it works with the recipe, just a bit more difficult to get smooth dough for cutting, so make sure that all purpose flour is used for easier blending into dough. If you would like a more flavorful dumpling ( although recipe as written is wonderful and now the go to recipe I use for dumpling) add the following to the flour 2 teaspoons of oregano, 2 teaspoons of seasoned salt (omit regular salt) 2 teaspoons of tyme, 2 teaspoons of tyme, and 2 teaspoons of Rosemary leaves. This makes for a tasty version of the dumplings, although I love the as written recipe too, just like to add a twist from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kansas

Quick Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I used a round baking dish. Like some of the other reviewers, I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. And I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top instead of just cinnamon. The recipe did not specify heavy or lite syrup so the peaches I used were Del Monte in lite syrup. Also I used two 15oz. cans because I did not have one 28 oz. can. This recipe will be a permanent for me. Everyone in the house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Spicy Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Tried this last night. I modified to fit what I had on hand meaning I don't use instant rice. I only used 1/2 roasted red pepper, added 1 small zucchini diced. Did everything else according to instructions but threw it all in the rice cooker with the chicken stock to cook on its own. Was perfect with grilled salmon. Would go very well with shish kabobs or anything else really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Creamed Spinach II

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Good! Fast and easy. Used 2 bags of frozen spinach. Added 2 oz each of cream cheese and parmesan cheese to soup. Will make this again. My Mom does not like spinach but she liked this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Absolutely great! Better than anything you pay big $$$ for in a restaurant. I had this with creamed spinach and a vegi-rice pilaf. Three brand new recipes all from this site all done for one dinner! It was special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Easy Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This was my 1st time making cinnamon rolls. I Only did so because the bread recipe I was making from this site said it made 3 loafs (Grandma VanDoren's) and it is just DH & myself. WOW!!! In the beginning I THOUGHT I had everything but way too late realized I did not have cream...so...I mixed some liquid French Vanilla coffee creamer with some 1/2 & 1/2 (and still added the vanilla extract) up at the last minute. Hey, what can I say? They were freaking awesome! On a personal note just for myself, I won't worry about nuts next time... even though I loved this with them... it is still an extra expense that could be left out without compromising the flavor. AND even though I thought pouring the creamy mixture over them before baking sounded strange it was spot on!! I will try making another cinnamon roll recipe on this site but have a feeling nothing could be as good as this one. I feel as if I have to try baking another one just so I know for certain that this is THE ONE to use. I will of course post an update later. That being said, I won't use baking bread as an excuse to try my hand at cinnamon rolls ever again. SO 4.75 Big gold stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States