Douglasville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by nanny129

Southern Fried Chicken Livers

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
oh my- i love chicken livers- this is just what i know as real down home cooking-- i added chipolte powder - just cause i can and this new one is hot- but good- thanks cindy!!- you made me very happy today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
found some tiny asparagus at the grocery- and 4 salmon filets in the freezer - and hubs wanted fresh corn on the cob as a side-- i doubled this recipe and swapped amounts on the soy and vinegar-- workd great- i placed on foil in baking pan - asparagus on one end- salmon on the other- topped both with this nice marinade-- easy- quick and hubs approved- loved the easy clean up- thanks for the recipe- and thanks to bikerfamily on the buzz for telling me of this easy dinner:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Photo by nanny129

Liver dog treats

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Primo loved these treats-- i tried to get a photo- everytime he would gobble the treat-- so here is Primo smiling for "just one more treat,Mom"-:-)thanks for the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Blueberry Pie- from Mrs. Reynolds

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
the very best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Fake Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
i use mostly the updated size cake mixes- 15- 16.5 oz- but what you have handy will work:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Sailing Cheese Soup

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
i am wondering what i could replace the beer with? thank you-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Gingerbread- semi-homemade

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
when you need a little gingerbread- and short on time and energy- her'e a nice shortcut:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

3-day coconut cake filling-

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
favorite filling- will transform a plain cake into something "magic"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Lime Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
hubby approved:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Bread Pudding I

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this today and it was fabulous I used a loaf of very stale wheat French bread. I was concerned because the bread was so hard it was difficult to cut into chunks. I made the following adjustments. 1. 5 eggs in lieu of 6 as reviewers suggested. 2. 2 cups fat free evaporated milk and 1 cup water. 3. Splenda in lieu of sugar 4. Semi sweet chocolate chips instead of raisins. I made a caramel bourbon sauce to serve over it. Because the bread was so hard I let it sit for about 15 minutes before baking. It was perfect! I like dense bread pudding and this was just to my liking. Will definitely make again. Next time I may add a bit more Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keena

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made these rolls a few days ago & my kids loved them! I thought they were good but felt like they were missing something....I will definitely make them again & maybe add more sugar & possibly butter. Very easy recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this today and it got mixed reviews. Some thought it was fantastic and other thought it needed more work and perhaps more time in the oven. I made a double batch and followed tips from past reviewers. I eliminated the butter. I used three cans of soup (mushroom, chicken, and celery), which is what I had on hand. I did not add a topping. I let the potatoes thaw as suggested. I mixed everything last night and baked the casserole today. After over 2 hours it was nowhere near done. I then cranked up the over to 385 and baked another hour. It was brown around the edges, which provided some much needed texture. Some guest felt it still did not seem done. Also, my sons felt it would have been more enjoyable had I used cream of cheddar soup in lieu of the ones I used. I think I agree. Also, I baked it in a round, deep dish instead of a 9x13 pan. The depth may have influenced the cooking time and texture. I need a good potato recipe that will feed a crowd and will continue to work on this until I perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Banana Bread for Marty

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
hubs loves my regular banana bread- but it is a long process- so i came up with this- i was afraid it would be too sweet or too cakey-- neither!! he loves it!! yea for quick and easy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Aunt Ludy's Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
so quick & easy - with the taste that says you ready worked at this!-yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Sassy Glaze

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Nanny's Chocolate Chess Pie(Nanny=Helen Van Hoozer=my nanny)

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Cranberry Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
as i submitted this recipe- i never thought of the mixing method- i have always mixed sweet breads by hand- spoon- it is a thick batter and you can glaze if you wish- hope you enjoy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Nanny's Monkey Bread(my nanny- Helen Van Hoozer) sept-1990

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Squash Relish/Pickles- Mrs. Rogers

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

take the nite off(crockpot) pineapple chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States