Dalton, Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by DeLancey

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! After reading quite a few reviews, I doubled the zucchini (two large zucchinis, grated), cut the sugar back by 1/2 cup, and replaced half the oil with homemade apple butter. A huge success! Still plenty sweet and no crazily overwhelming zucchini taste. I'll definitely be making this again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownie Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Perfect topping for boxed brownies. We followed the recipe exactly as written. Super quick and super easy. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Has been a favorite of mine for years. Double the recipe and cut boneless breasts into large bite size pieces and it's great for 8-10. Serve over pasta or rice. The wine offers a gourmet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Served this for my husband's birthday party. Fruity and intense. We did not dilute with carbonated anything and served over ice. WOW! Folks are still talking about the Sangria served and it's been 2 years since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
SO DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to the "T" (with fresh blueberries of course) and they came out perfect. Cooked them about 18 minutes. I think there was too much butter in the topping because mine was less of a crumble and more of a dough - but it tasted delicious once cooked! And my husband requested even more blueberries next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Ugh. I followed this recipe to the "T" and the results were bad. I only made 2/3 of a recipe but the batter was almost as thick as dough. I also think I added the melted butter when it was still too warm because the buttermilk/egg mixture suddenly had lumps (cooked eggs maybe?). The center of the pancakes would NOT cook regardless of how long I left it on the pan. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is not a hit at my house! It was too sweet and most of all my chicken, honey, mustard loving husband didn't like it. Too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandpa's Popcorn Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great taste. I cooked until the hard crack stage 300 degree F. I had to start forming the balls about one minute after mixing. Turned out great! FYI: 1/2 cup of unpopped corn = 5 qts. of popped corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
There are so many recipes for Sausage Balls out there and I think this one was the best! I used 1 pound mild sausage, 2 cups homemade bisquick mix, and I didn't have any sharp cheese so I used a frozen bag of shredded "Mexican style" cheese (a Kroger mixture of mild cheddar, monterey jack and asadero cheese). Baked mine for 24 minutes on 350 in a toaster oven. Perfect! But I must have been doing the balls small because the recipe yielded 70 sausage balls! So great for the football game tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLancey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Nice basic recipe that is easy to use as a base for something with a little more flair. I used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic salt. I added the onions and garlic in with the rice to brown. I also added a seeded chopped jalapeno in this step. Used tomato sauce and half a pint of my own canned tomatoes in with the broth. Also added several generous dashes of dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I am an avid baker but have never attempted homemade pie crust. This was absolutely perfect. I didn't change it & it was so surprisingly flaky. perfect for any kind of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebaking4em

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I've had lots of Key Lime Pie in my day & this was perfect! I do like my pies just a little more tart than others so I put in 1 cup of fresh squeezed lime juice + the fine grate of the peel from 2 limes, 2 cans sweetened condensed milk & 5 eggs & put it in a homemade flaky crust in an oval shaped dish because the 9" graham crust is to small. We topped it with a spoonful of coolwhip & it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebaking4em

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Overall good recipe but it did turn out quite salty! Next time I won't add as much salt..cutting it back to maybe 1/2 of what is called for here. Otherwise, the flavor was good and the meat was very tender. Trying it again tonight w/ less salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These burgers are EXCELLENT!!!. The flavor combinations of onion, garlic, yellow pepper and cumin are a delight to the tastebuds. Perfect balance with a subtile kick. Wonderful for vegetarian and meat eaters alike. Get ready for the ooohs and ahhhs. This is top of my list for any burger but hey, I'm a vegetarian. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Not only is this bread ridiculously easy to prepare, it is also really tasty! I didn't change a single thing, made it exactly as the recipe stated. I've made this bread several times and it always turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Greens with a Warm Gorgonzola Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!!! It's always a hit when I show up with it. Adding a bit of thinly sliced red onion could be a nice addition too but it's wonderful just the way it's written. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

Beer Butt Rosemary Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
To the cook that was asking what to do with half of the beer: You pour out half or drink half so the can is only half full. You do not pour it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis McCay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Delicious! I'm so happy to find something easier than the recipe I've been making. These are much faster & I used Quick Rise yeast so the dough rose much faster. I also put the bread in a loaf pan instead of muffins tins. After letting the loaf cool completely I sliced with my sharp serrated bread knife & we made sandwiches with it. They taste better on fresh bread. It's a great thing knowing that I know what I'm putting in my kids mouth. No preservatives is the best way to go. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebaking4em

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guilt-Free Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Served this for health minded friends at a dinner I had last night. When I told them no fat was added they could not believe it. Serveral asked the the recipe. I did add about 2/3 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate morsels to the batter before baking. An instant favorite! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monkey Banana Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
USE GROUND CLOVES, NOT WHOLE!!!! I just wasted all the ingredients and am the proud owner of three half pints of banana spiced soup because it's impossible to get the cloves out without also getting all the banana pulp after it cooks down. I really hate to rate it so low because it has good flavor but it's basically a ruined recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Caylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 99) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States