Covington, Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kiwanis Lyons

Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is nice. I made a few changes like using sour cream instead of mayonnaise, and I added extra cheese then topped it with croutons. I also left out the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwanis Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a family favorite of ours. I sometimes use the cubed potatoes with the onions and peppers and add more cheese and real bacon crumbled on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwanis Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My husband is soooo picky that I dread his feedback when I try new recipes, but he LOVED this and so did my children and so did I. Thank you so much! I didn't change a thing other than using chicken broth instead of the wine as other's suggested (because I didn't have on hand), and it turned out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imdebbiej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glossy Royal Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great recipe for cookies without egg whites or merinque powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe, even using St. Louis spare ribs that I bought for less than $10. I added applewood seasoning as a rub, a hearty splash of apple cider vinegar, honey, minced fresh garlic, and some extra tenderizing Worcestershire sauce. Off the chain! The meat was very flavorful and so tender it was falling apart. I'll definitely be using this cooking method as a base to make ribs more often. Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was really good. I added cinnamon and used half brown sugar. You could also substitute diluted apple juice for the cold water for a little more flavor. I used half blackberries, half diced fresh peaches and put it all straight into the oven (just baked it for a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is wonderful by itself, but can be turned into a very filling main dish by serving it on top of or mixed into a plate of whole wheat angel hair pasta with vodka sauce. Alfredo would be good also. Serve with a crusty toasted bread lightly brushed with olive oil and it's a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Tomato Bisque III

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I used a whole 6 ounce can of tomato paste and a little more cream, but this was divine! I served this with cheesy bread (a baguette halved and cut into 4ths with butter, garlic powder, and shredded mozzarella in the oven at 425 degrees until browned and bubbly), which would also make good cheese croutons for this soup if you cut it into bite-sized squares. As an FYI, the Muir Glen brand of organic canned fire-roasted tomatoes does not contain BPA in the lining as many other brands do. The acidity of tomatoes causes the thin plastic lining they use in cans to leach BPA, making it one of the strongest sources of leached BPA in foods. So it's good to buy Muir Glen if you can find it, especially if you have little ones at home like I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Economical, healthy, and tasty. Oh, and so quick / easy! I upped the white wine to about half a cup, added a liberal amount of lemon juice, and some powdered onion. Simple and good. I think next time, I'll grate a little lemon peel into the wine reduction to give it more of a standout lemony flavor. (I love lemon in seafood.) Served with garlic bread and the rest of the wine I bought for the recipe. It'd be a shame to let it go to waste. ;) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Perfection! I followed the recipe exactly except for eyeballing the black pepper and onion. I also didn't use 1/3 cup of sugar....I did about 3 heaping tablespoons of sugar instead (1/3 cup is about 5 heaping tablespoons, so I cut it by a little less than half). I let it sit several hours in the fridge while I made my honey barbecue shredded pork for sandwiches in the slow cooker, then I had this and baked potatoes for the side dish. It made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Smothered Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Sunday Dinner rather than grilling short ribs like I usually do. I must say I will definitely make this again! I follow the recipe to the teeth except I thicken my gravy with a little flour and water mix. I served them with black eye peas and yellow rice.My huband loved it. Will have the leftovers with mashed potatoes like the other reviewers. Try it I know you will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

Chele's Halibut

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Awesome! Will make again. P.S., One reviewer said there was no point in using dried dill? You could definitely taste it. In fact, it was a definining flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Anyone who knows me knows I love to cook. My husband has been looking for a good pumpkin muffin. He was disappointed in Dunkin Doughnuts when he tried their pumpkin muffin. So I decided to give this one a try for him. This recipe was easy and taste awesome! He loved them as well as my daughter! You can't go wrong making theses muffins. Only thing different I did was to add a little more pumpkin spice, oatmeal and double the streusel topping( a must have). I am definitely pinning this one on pinterest.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

Chicken Paprikash

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I fixed this for my wife and I and we found the flavor to be excellent. Used chicken broth instead of water for additional flavor. Other than that followed the recipe as written. We both did find the dumplings to be very heavy but that might be the way they are meant to be. Being from down south we are use to lighter dumplings. Also, I brine the chicken for 1 hour before cooking. It was very tender and juicy. Always brine my chicken first, on matter what. Makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent. Added merlot to the reduction. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Homemade Banana Pudding Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Spectacular. BUT TAKE NOTE!. That's a lot of suger! 3/4 cup should be plenty and I always add 1/4tsp cream of tartar and a splash of vanilla to my meringue. This is so good! I would say this serves 4 to maybe 6 since about half of each serving is airy meringue, so I would recommend doubling the recipe if you anticipate people wanting seconds, more generous portions, or if you're feeding more than 4 or 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Hate to say it, but this recipe is a disaster. I agree 110% with another reviewer who said "It tasted exactly like what it is, melted chocolate chips in whipped cream. There is no depth of flavor." It is sickeningly sweet and tastes like you're eating a slice of melted chocolate chips. In a bad way. An entire bag of chocolate chips goes into this one pie.....I realized things weren't going well when I tasted the finished filling, so I added the rest of the carton of heavy cream and a little salt and lime juice to counteract the sweetness, but it was still just way way WAY too much sugar and chocolate. And this is coming from someone with a major sweet tooth, I assure you. If you want to impress someone with a chocolate pie, stick to a tried-and-true chocolate silk-style pie, because I can PROMISE you, if you bring this pie to a function, it will not appeal to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Tiramisu Toffee Dessert

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a great, easy solution to those tiramisu cravings! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Rosemary Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love the receipe Kelly!! Thank you so much. I used a rosemary garlic seasoning I had on hand( I am the spice queen), fresh minced garlic, diced onions, crushed black pepper and onion powder. I tossed them in a large zip lock like so many said too. It was delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States