Columbus, Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cabbage Rolls III

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I only used the beef. I sauté a finely minced garlic clove with diced onion in the pot I made the rice in, no reason to dirty another pan. I added greek seasonings and plenty of ground black pepper. I used the very large outer cabbage leaves to line the 9x13 pan and proceeded. I added the sauerkraut to the tops of the rolls and mixed a little brown sugar in with tomato sauce and baked 'em. I did freeze the whole cabbage a day prior. leaves came off perfect. I will make cabbage rolls with sauerkraut from now on. great taste and excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I gotta admit I like shake and bake for pork chops when I'm pressed for time. this recipe had my wife gnawing the bone :) I didn't use milk either. I dipped in egg then breaded them and had to leave the house for 45 minutes. the chops were refrigerated. I got home and baked my very thick, bone-in center cut chops about 25 minutes. 10 minutes before the flip. excellent, moist and terrific taste. great with baked sweet taters and roasted broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Maple Turkey Brine

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Best brine ever! I've made turkey with this brine several times and now I've started adding a couple tablespoons of liquid smoke and a couple teaspoons maple flavor extract to kick it up a few notches. Bake it with the maple glazed turkey recipe from this site and I have had so many people say that it's the best turkey they've ever had. I even have people offer to pay me to make their turkey for them! I quadruple the recipe and brine 2 birds at a time in a cooler checking the ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
excellent base. I followed the directions and then added more stuff. cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg. I also diced some pecans and added them to DICED apples. the redi-whipped loved these too. such a great way to wake your kids up with the smell of these in the house. truly outstanding, one of the best recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Spicy Cornbread Mini-Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used jarred sliced jalapenos with seeds and some juice and followed directions. these smell terrific! the burn at the end melted my throat. I would cut back on the heat, I am a wuss about spicy food. the wife and daughters went YEHAW on these. I did make 12 large muffins and baked at 425 maybe 18 minutes. I did sub half and half for half the cow-juice. the vanilla is the secret ingredient here. perfect with any bland main course... soup, stew or a veggie dinner. thanks for posting, 5 thumbs high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I use a half cup less sugar (personal preference) and make this all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fry Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
All of my criteria for a 5 star recipe are right here! Easy, tasty, inexpensive and relatively quick. Not to mention decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I added 1/4 teaspoon old bay seasoning to the batter and cheated by just dipping the tops in melted butter after they were baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
All I can say is "yum!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great recipe that the kids can help "build". Only thing I did differently was use fresh carrots and celery that I diced and softened in the same pan I cooked the chicken in. Just a personal preference to use fresh when I can squeeze it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indonesian Spiced Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made it this way and liked it so much that I started making a version of it for "Mexican night". Just used chili powder instead of cinnamon and virtual the veggies diced up the onion along with a green chili (no seeds) and a half of a red bell pepper. I also only use enough oil to cook the onion, no more than a tbsp. Easy peasy and family approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chipotle Chicken Flautas

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very tasty and easy recipe to build on. Personally I like a lot of flavor so the first time I made this as written (using chipotle powder in the filling since it wasn't very clear on the ingredients list) and thought it was good, but could be better. The next time I added a half can of rinsed and drained black beans, a chipotle pepper in adobo (diced) that I had left over from something else and about a cup of shredded "Mexican blend" cheese into the filling. It was to die for! I also got a few more flautas out of it that way, lol. Served it up with some yellow rice that I added a bit of diced red pepper, onion and jalapeño to and a guacamole salad as well. Don't get me wrong, the original recipe was tasty! It just needed a bit more pizzazz for me. Try it once by the book and then see what you think would make it suit you even better. Also, if you're not a fan of chipotle use regular chili powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
great recipe. I was to lazy to go out for the canned biscuits and tried this. I added parsley. it was great in home-made chicken and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Frozen Vegetable Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
after making this, I let the wife taste it...bad idea. she begin adding more peanut butter. I'm not a fan. so I then had to doctor it. then she comes back from bathroom and... the battle was on.I did add more garlic powder. seriously, it does need minor tweaks for taste, but very good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

12-Second Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
we love cole slaw and their are plenty of terrific ones here. I don't care for 1000 island dressing, but had some to use up. I made this last night to serve with the baked Maryland crab cakes ( from here ) and oven roasted asparagus. I did increase the tobasco( to hot ) and had to add a pinch of sugar to it. after sitting in the refrigerator a couple hours, it was terrific! wife ate all the left-overs after I went to bed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Brown Sugar Ham Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I tried this and it came out very good. I cut the brown sugar back by half and only used enough butter to create a thin sheen on the pan. very quick and good. I served with roasted okra,tomatos and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Mexican Style Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love it; southern mixed with mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Pratt Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I used 2 chicken breasts, no flour, garlic powder instead of cloves and added onion powder and ginger powder. It was good but it needed a little something extra. Next time I am going to add a squeeze of honey and a dash of crush red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Adrienne Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
this has many ingredients and does require a lot of prep. I like to do these type of veggie recipes. I hate cilantro, so I subbed basil as suggested. I used fresh ingredients not to include fresh dill or parsley. the salad tasted a little to sweet to me, i'll add more lemon to my bowl. wife and daughter loved it, me too with some more lemon. this makes a ton. can't wait to grill some chicken and pineapples to serve this with! excellent recipe. highly recommended! up-date-- I did the chopping and my moose made the dressing. after trying it. it was too sweet. found out the daughter had increased and mixed up the red wine vinegar and balsamic up...oops, now I understand why it was too sweet. not the recipe's fault!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Grilled Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I don't know what went wrong. they were just middle of the road. maybe the salt, but I anticipated it and cut bullion in half and used unsalted butter. I'm gonna give this another shot...I know these guys are gonna be jim dandy with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States