Cartersville, Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Breasts Supreme

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
So good, easy, adjustable. I did't have the mushrooms but had the cream of mushroom soup. Also did not have minced onion so used some fresh Vidalia and through in with the chicken when I was browning it. I've made and had this recipe many times before such a great easy dish. It's very easy to have chicken breast dry out and be stringy. You won't have that problem with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

Chocolate Date Cake I

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is an old recipe and the first recipe I ever wrote down. I think I was 15. This cake is made for a smaller cake pan. I always have used a 9x9 to keep this from drying out. I always pour the boiling water over dates and baking soda and let it sit for 1/2 hour as I get everything else together. I think it is unnecessary to separate and mix like you do for most cakes. this is a snack cake and not a fancy cake. I have never added nuts. I sprinkle the top with chocolate chips and then white sugar. The sugar caramelizes and makes a kind of crust along with the melted chocolate. Best the day it's made. By the way my recipe was written over 50 years ago from a friends mom. I think it must be watched closely after 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This had great flavor. I used the full amount of seasoning for two breasts, and I would think that any less wouldn't have been enough. For health reasons, I did not use the full amount of butter, and eye-balled the olive oil, but I added a little broth when I added the lime. I also made a gravy out of the sauce by whisking in a tablespoon each of flour and water after removing the chicken. My two big criticisms are 1) that the required amount of garlic powder at the end would have been way too much, and 2) maybe it's just my stove, but the cooking time was too long. I only cooked it for about 12 minutes total, and our chicken was dry. So I'll use the recipe again, but will use my judgment with the spice levels and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Pancakes II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I've tried a number of pancake recipes on allrecipes, and this is my absolute favorite. I use whole wheat flour rather than all-purpose and usually just sour skim milk w/a little vinegar since that's what I have on hand. (Who just has buttermilk sitting around??) I grind the oatmeal in my coffee grinder and usually throw in a couple dashes of cinnamon. This recipe stands up really well to additions as well - I've used this base to make banana pancakes (1 mashed banana) and mixed berry pancakes (a handful of blueberries and 3 sliced strawberries). This recipe has become our Sunday morning routine and it's a little less guilt-inducing than regular pancakes, without sacrificing any taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is sooo much better than store-bought hummus. You will want to hold onto the liquid from the beans and add it to the food processor to improve the texture. I would recommend cutting back on the tahini a little, but I've used the full amount before and I didn't think it was terribly overpowering; it's just better with less. I like to add a jalapeno or two when I'm processing it as well. I've forgotten the lemon juice before too, and it was fine - it's better with the lemon, but it's not a disaster if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
It had never occurred to me to roast okra this way, but I really did prefer this to fried okra. My husband usually doesn't like okra and he loved this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I also tried this and LOVED it so much, as well as my family. Thanks Grandma!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leandrea Lynn O'Dell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This has become a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zip Ties Are Rad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This IS NOT an easy recipe! This took FOREVER and produced mediocre results. NOTE: You need a bread maker for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zip Ties Are Rad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
WOW! These were AMAZING! They were soooo easy! This is going in my forever box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zip Ties Are Rad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I'm eating this right now and it's delicious! I cut about 100 calories per serving by using skim milk rather than cream and slices of 2% american cheese rather than shredded cheddar - about 1 slice per serving. I know that doesn't sound like a fair trade, but it really is very cheesy and delicious. I also added white pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, and a little shake of basil. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The bad news about this recipe is that once you make it, you'll be asked to bring it to every family event. The good news is that it's delicious. I use all the changes suggested in the review marked "most helpful." I just want to add that I always make these as cupcakes, baking at 350 for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic! My husband said these were the best pancakes he's ever had. I actually agree, and I usually don't like banana pancakes - they usually seem too mushy, but not these. I did make a few changes. I halved the recipe and still used a whole banana, used just an egg white and skim milk, added a couple shakes of cinnamon, and ground the oatmeal in the coffee grinder. Don't worry about the dry milk powder, I didn't have it and didn't miss it. I do highly recommend adding a tablespoon of vinegar to your milk and letting it sour for a few minutes. This is a way of making your own buttermilk, and it makes the pancakes fluffier. These will become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curly Noodle Dinner

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Surprisingly good! Used turkey, added a whole onion, some garlic, and two packs ramen noodles. Kids liked it and so did I. It was cheap, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dorm Room Cheesy Tuna and Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Not to bad for cheap, on the fly 'dorm' food. I did mine with half a pack of seasoning (that stuff's really salty!), a lil' EVOO (yummo!), and a slice of Pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Like eating a great cheeseburger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is great but extremely caloric. By making the following changes, I saved the whole pot 1887 calories, or about 118 calories per serving. Instead of 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of butter, I used 1/2 cup of flour, 2T of butter, and 1 can of Campbell's Cream of Potato Soup. Instead of 2 cups of half and half, I used 1 cup of skim milk and 1 cup of fat free half-and-half. Brown rice instead of white rice (but keep in mind that you will have to cook it longer if you do this). Also added some lima beans and green beans, white pepper, thyme, and parsley. Next time I'll cut back on the salt and maybe replace all the half and half with skim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Healthy, delicious, versatile, and easy! I scale this down and use 99% fat free ground turkey breast. I have used tomato sauce in place of the diced tomatoes. Salsa would be good too. I also like to use Chipotle Chile Powder instead of regular for some spice. Mixing in some mushrooms is good too. When served on a whole wheat tortilla with a little shredded cheese, this is a wonderful, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Never Fail Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is my GO TO RECIPE for biscuits! It wasn't until this recipe that I finally made a real biscuit that was edible! Tips: I turn my oven up to ~500° F and get it HOT! I use my food processor to mix my dry and butter all in. Then I use a little less than 1/2 c. buttermilk (I take whole milk, heat it up, and throw some lemon into it). Then I bake them for about 10 minutes and also broil the tops of them some. KILLER biscuits! I am a TRUE southern cook now ;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Incredible! I made this for my mom's birthday and brought it to the restaurant when we met her for dinner. The waitress didn't believe that I had made it! I used a little over a cup of oreo crumbs but I'd probably up it to two cups next time. Also used 1T sugar, 3/4 stick of butter. Microwaved the white chocolate chips with fat free half and half - a minute at a time, whisked it, and put it back in - did that 2 or 3 times. Mixed everything in my kitchen aid mixer and used microwaved seedless raspberry preserves instead of making the sauce from scratch. I also wrapped the pan in foil, put it in a jelly roll pan with water, baked for 60 minutes and let it cool in the oven. It was truly beautiful. I was nervous b/c this was my first cheesecake but it really wasn't difficult, especially with all the shortcuts! I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States