Atlanta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My family loves this recipe as is but we prefer to use maple syrup instead of honey (it was all I had on hand once...and we loved it!). I do typically reduce the butter by half. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rex, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Birthday Bones

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My pooches love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Hyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reindeer Snack Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this as part of a basket I gave to my friends last year for Christmas. They LOVED it! It is now a permanent part of my baskets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love this recipe,but I do change it a bit. I saute the mushrooms and onions in a little butter before adding it with the other ingredients. I also add some milk or cream to the mixture to make it less dry. I usually top the casserole with panko crumbs, since I never have potato chips in the house. This is comfort food to me. I feel a little guilty when I make it, since I usually eat much healthier food, but I only make it once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Something easy and quick to throw together and the whole family is happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Morgan's Amazing Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I've made this many, many times. I just vary one little detail. I like to add the candy on top after the melted chocolate has been spred out onto wax paper. The colors look so much more festive when you can see them! I gently and carefully press them into the chocolate with my hand but you can still see the colors of the candy canes. I hope you and your family enjoy making this as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisabobeesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Grandma, husband and preschooler loved it. It's was a great easy recipe. I did make a couple changes. I did 1 pound beef and 1 pound ground turkey. 1 of the tomatoes we used a can of dived tomatoes with red chiles/ chipotle. Finally we did 2 cans of chili beans and reduced the chili powder because of it. We eat a lot of chili and my husband is usually in charge. This was the first one I've made in a long time. Good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Taco Mix with Black Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Taco Mix w/ Black Beans Haiku: "Gave us leftovers, by stretching one pound of meat. Thought it was quite good." I ended up adding a 3rd tablespoon of taco seasoning (Bill Echol's "Taco Seasoning I" recipe from here" after tasting this, thinking the meat was still on the ho-hum side. The directions didn't indicate draining the grease from the meat, which I did anyways as well. Took recipe submitter's suggestion and used mine in a ranch, romaine, tomato salad w/ crumbled tortilla chips and cheese on top. Seriously yummy, and I've got leftovers for lunch tomorrow, yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Sarah's Dry Rubbed Chicken Haiku: "Reduced recipe, and used on two chicken breasts. Oh my, this is good!" I rubbed this on thick and goopy on two chubby chicken breasts, put in fridge for recommended 4 hrs., browned both sides 2-3 min. over med-hi in half butter/half EVOO, and finished off in a 350 deg. oven for 20 min. Smelled divine, perfect chicken moisture and texture, and taste was outstanding - even w/ all of those seasonings that went into it, none overpowered any of the others - they all came together so beautifully that I've recently made a triple batch of this to keep in a tuperware and use on chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Haighter's 19th Hole Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Haighter's 19th Hole Chili Haiku: "Hubs and daughter loved. To me, it was a bit 'yawn', and needed some jazz!" Halved the recipe for 1 lb. turkey, and used a can of black beans; kept the rest the same, but found that just chili powder, sugar, garlic s&p weren't quite enough to make this chili sing to me, so I added Chipotle Tabasco to mine, along w/ cheese and Fritos and was happier. Definitely liked it enough to make again, just w/ some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Easy Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Easy Roasted Broccoli Haiku: "No need to use bowl. Just toss with oil on pan. Mmmm ... add parmesan!" This couldn't have been easier or more yummy! I bought one of those 12 oz. bags of broccoli florets from the produce department so I didn't have to cut anything - just dumped on the sheet, tossed w/ the oil (1 TB was plenty) and s&p, and 18 min. at 400 deg. was just about perfect! Adding a sprinkle of parmesan at the table was magic, but on its own, just as wonderful and simple of a side dish. I normally steam my broccoli in the microwave w/ butter, lemon juice, s&p, but this was absolutely delicious and something that I'm sure I'll do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Haluski - Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Haluksi Cabbage & Noodles Haiku: "Belly-rubbin' good. Not a meal for dieting. (I added sausage.) I browned some sliced kielbasa b4 adding the onions and cabbage (to make this more appealing to the carnivores at dinner) and let it sit longer than the 5-8 min. so I could skip putting it in the oven at all, as I didn't see a point to wasting the energy when it could all cook just as nicely on the stovetop. OMG how deliciously decadent w/ all that buttery, noodle goodness!! On a cold winter night we OBLITERATED this meal. It's simple and humble, but oh-so-good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Chicken Breasts Pierre Haiku: "Fairly tasty dish. Taste was salty bbq, little watery." Guess I'll smack myself for assuming that "Pierre" in the title made this a French dish b/c once I started putting it together, I realized that it was basically a bbq sauce that unfortunately never thickened nor reduced, so while the taste was great, it was just too much liquid (and too much of a salty liquid) that slid off the chicken. I scanned the hundreds of glowing reviews, most of which changed this or that, but I was entirely faithful to the recipe. I guess if I made it again I'd heed alot of the reviewer's suggestions, or I'd at least tool around w/ making it less salty, or I'd whisk in some cornstarch w/ water at the end to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Mushroom Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Mushroom Meatloaf Haiku: "Mushy and quite bland. Way too juicy and crumbly. Mushrooms not so great." So the "layer" of six whole mushrooms in the middle, coupled w/ the overly-moist texture, made cutting this into meatloaf slices a total fail. A pile of ground beef on our plate that looked unappetizing resulted in my husband not even finishing his plate, my daughter reluctantly finishing her's (so that she could "pretty please, pretty please have a kit-kat bar"), and me trying to salvage the leftovers by making a mixey-uppey taco salad the next day; fail there as well. We love mushrooms, we love meatloaf, but this recipe was just a dud for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Tuna and Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Tuna & Vegetable Casserole Haiku: "This is unlike me, TOO many vegetables, in this casserole." The poor tuna got lost in all those veggies, and we LOVE veggies in our house. I know that I will make this again (tasted fantastic -- just needed salt when we served it b/c I took the submitter's suggestion and exchanged the french-fried onion for additional grated cheddar on top), but I would reduce the peas/carrots/green beans/zucchini/mushrooms to maybe 1/2 c. each. Oh, and I just mixed frozen peas, carrots and green beans in that way rather than zapping them at all, and when I sauteed the mushroom, I also lightly-sauteed the zucchini and onion. 425 deg for 20 min. started to scorch the cheese and noodles around the edges (a little crusty I'm down w/!) so I think next go-around, I'd go more like 350 covered for 20 min., then uncovered for 10-15 w/ the extra cheese on top. I'm glad that I made this and am able to give it a positive rating to hopefully knock that dopey 1-star review for "not knowing what to do w/ the noodles" - duh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster

Roast Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Roast Potatoes Haiku: "Can't go wrong with this. Maybe bake a bit longer. And cut into eighths." Other than cutting my red potatoes into 1/8ths instead of quartered, I followed the recipe, but ended up leaving them in the oven longer to try to get them to brown more. Looooove roasted red potatoes; they complement just about any protein and veg meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this! My mother in law even requested it for her birthday present! I had someone else offer to pay me to make one for her!! This is the only banana bread recipe I'll ever use now. So moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips with Rice and Gravy Recipe

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Delish and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe. I added 3/4 tsp of ground ginger to the potato mixture and made 1 3/4 as much topping (almost doubled it). I usually cheat and use canned yams but this time I used the real sweet potato. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
It's perfect for a tennis match if you draw the substantial/main dish. Easy to make the night before. Hardy enough to feel like you've eaten something but you don't need a napkin and a plate to shove it, with a cracker or a celery stick, in your mouth and get back on the court between the 2nd and the 3rd. I've taken it 3X now and gotten plenty of compliments - even from the opponents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States