Alpharetta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
As written, four stars. Has a lot of potential. My husband says he would give it a three. It was kind of blah and flavorless. I recommend pre-baking for longer than called for, adding LOTS of garlic powder for flavor, adding a touch more honey and a pinch more salt, and mixing in a few swirls of olive oil (and brushing top layer) for crispiness. I will use this recipe again sometimes because it takes significantly less time than my standard recipe, but it could use a little help. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was good. Definitely too much butter and that's coming from someone who's trying to gain weight....it just separated from being too oily....but other than that, it was a good meal. It's basically a jazzed up honey mustard chicken, but I like the flavor curry lends and that the sauce forms more of a glaze. It was perfect served with white corn on the cob and broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Quick and Simple Broccoli and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was really good to be so simple! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Although I prefer a true cheese sauce, I won't hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Pineapple Upside-down Cake Martinis

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Good as it is, but with a name like "pineapple upside down cake martinis," I expected something a bit more decadent and authentic. I will work on this recipe, but as it is, it just tastes like a generic tropical vodka drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Barbecue Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was alright. I thought the combination would be too odd but I was lured in by how quick and easy it was. To my amusement, it actually turned out to be pretty tasty. For the dish I used, the proportions were off (I didn't use nearly all of the shredded cheese and could have used more ricotta). I added a hearty dash of onion powder to the ricotta mixture because I couldn't comprehend this dish without at least a little bit of seasoning of some sort. Overall, this was edible, but weird. I think I'll only make it again if I have a lot of pulled pork to get rid of, but it was an interesting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Ratatouille Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was good. It is a very versatile dish that you could add almost any vegetable to (i.e. squash for a pop of yellow color, shredded carrots, etc.). However, I did not appreciate the taste of the canned tomatoes, which overpowered the fresh vegetables. Next time, I think I will use diced grape tomatoes and add those to the onion / eggplant mixture in the skillet at first. I also think doing a layer of cheese between the ravioli and veggies in addition to the one on top would be a good idea as the dish is so vegetable-intensive. Overall, though, this is a great meatless dish with much potential - and surprisingly, you won't even miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Excellent. Made exactly per the recipe with the exception of making more sauce and adding a bit more orange zest and fresh orange juice. I may never order takeout Chinese again. Something to note, however, is that we got about 2.5 restaurant-sized portions out of this recipe. If you're hoping for six servings as the recipe indicates, they will be small. This dish is good enough for company. Excellent over brown rice as well, just follow the directions on the package instead of the ones on the recipe of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is a classic recipe which is fine as written. However, like any similar dish using fresh fruit, your proportions often should be adjusted slightly based on the size of your fruit and the degree of ripeness. I slightly under-measured my sugar as my peaches were pretty ripe and used a tiny bit less baking powder. I also used a little less white sugar and made up for it with more brown sugar, just because that is my preference in a recipe like this. The only thing I wish I'd done differently is to spread the batter more thin over the top because it was a bit thick in places, but that's easy to do next time. All-in-all, a 5 star classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I liked the cooking technique....I used 2 lb of boneless skinless thighs. Could use even more seasoning, though. I added 1/2 a chopped onion and it could benefit from way more seasoning at the end. but meat was tender and tasted good over noodles and it was simple, so 4 stars in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very good and simple recipe, but quite sweet and kind of one note. It would be excellent and quick with frozen fruit. More like a fruited cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was excellent! I did have some red sea salt from Hawaii and used about 3 tsp on my meat (which was cut into large chunks). I sprinkled a small amt of liquid smoke (maybe 1-2 tsp) and used lots of cracked black pepper. No liquid, but it cooked down into it's own juices and the pieces closest to the edges actually got brown and crispy. Great for week night dinners. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza On The Grill I

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Loved it! I wound up using only 3 cups of flour. We'll make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cherry Cake III

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
this is excellent, but as written, the icing winds up cracking and gets a very stiff outer coat that breaks apart when you cut it. Otherwise it is yummy and so easy. I will try boiling the icing a little bit less next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
So good! So easy! What's not to love? I used varying proportions of ingredients to match our personal tastes, and I added onion powder and Heinz spicy ketchup in place of regular, which gave it just a little bit of a kick. I also added in a little bit of honey. I made this recipe with half tenderloins and half skin-on thighs and baked at 450 for 20 minutes, then reduced to 300 for about 35 minutes, uncovering the dish for the last 20 minutes or so. The step about simmering the sauce is completely unnecessary as the sauce simmers with the chicken as it cooks. The sauce is quite thin as other reviewers stated when it comes out of the oven, but 1) it will thicken as it reaches room temperature, and 2) the stuff is so good you could drink it, so I'm not complaining! Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Close, but no cigar. It's a good enough dip on its own, but no match for the kind found in restaurants. You will not find an exact recipe for the restaurant-style dip because the restaurants use a special kind of processed cheese purchased in bulk and melted for dipping with a few ingredients added. (This cheese is packaged for restaurants and, in my travels, has not been made available to the public.) This is satisfactorily close, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family has been making these since we were kids. My mom also substituted the English Muffin for bagels. Try it, you and/or your kids will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Lemon Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent! The breading was perfect and crisp and the lemon sauce was pleasingly tart and thick like a gravy. I used more butter than oil for cooking the chicken (meaning I reduced the oil) and only used one egg for breading. I only had beef broth, but that actually turned out very well and gave the sauce a nice color. You can easily use whole wheat flour in this recipe. We will be making this again; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Pancake Stack with Syrup

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
No complaints except for I reduced the amount of baking powder to about 2.5 teaspoons or so. The batter was very thick, more thick than my usual from-scratch pancake batter, which made it a little more difficult to make pancakes with evenly rounded edges. The syrup was waaaay better than the bottled kind (flavored with chemicals). I substituted pure vanilla extract for rum extract and added a pinch of salt and it was warm, buttery and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
No sense in hiding it: I'm really impressed with myself right now. I want to give me a pat on the back. But most of all, I want to go in there and eat that whole pot of collard greens I just made. All thanks to this recipe! Somehow, born and raised in Georgia....this is my first time making collard greens. Didn't like them for a long time, but I'm coming around now. And WOW are these good. In addition to upping the (reduced sodium) bacon to 8 strips, I added a little more salt, a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar, and probably two tablespoons of apple cider vinegar per reviews. That totally pushed these over the edge for me. I could hardly give them the 45 minute minimum to simmer....once I did a taste test, it was all over. In summary: MAKE. THESE. COLLARD GREENS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Yum. :) I actually chose this recipe because I was in the mood for something sweet, but didn't have a lot of ingredients at home and it was too late to go to the store. So, I had to improvise a little. First, I used a graham cracker crust. I had no fresh lemons, so I used a half cup of lemon juice. The only other alterations I made was to use 1 cup milk and 1/2 cup water, since the reviewers were divided on which was better. I used the proportions specified in the recipe for everything else and it came out great. Good ratio of meringue to custard. Ideally, it would have been more lemon-y, but that is a shortcoming provided by my lack of fresh lemons and zest, not due to any fault of the recipe. The custard was a bit thick and gummy for my liking, but it wasn't *bad,* per se. I will make this recipe again with a few tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States