Alpharetta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is excellent. The only changes I made were using 2c white and 1c brown sugar, heaping my spices, and I made one loaf pan and one muffin pans' worth. I sprinkled plain crumbled walnuts on top of the loaf prior to baking. (Candied nuts, like walnuts or pecans, would also be a good addition.) The only change I would make next time around would be to double most of the spices. It was plenty 'spicy' as is, but I think adding a little extra would really push it over the top. This recipe makes great muffins for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Would probably be good on the grill too or as kebabs. I doubled the sauce recipe with exact measurements but the flavor of the soy sauce was a bit too dominant in my opinion. In the future, I might reduce the soy sauce and add pineapple juice in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I used only 1/4 cup sugar (I cannot IMAGINE how sweet this would be with the full 1/2 cup....it'd be like candy!)....a little extra olive oil, a whole yellow onion, only 2 cans tomato paste and maybe 3/4 cup water (I like a thicker sauce) and I doubled the meatball recipe to accommodate another pound of beef. This was very good. Cooking the meatballs in the sauce made them very tender. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Country Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made these this morning to go with Thanksgiving breakfast and they were great! The only changes I made was to make half of my sugar brown sugar and to substitute dried cranberries for the raisins because that's more Thanksgiving-y and it was awesome. I also used a whole heaping teaspoon of cinnamon. Next time, I'll use half whole wheat flour (I was out this time). They have a lovely orange color from the pumpkin and spices. For me, this made one and a half batches using a standard muffin tin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Beef Steaks With Blue Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Excellent! The only change I will make next time is to add the croutons after the steaks come out of the broiler for the last time because they got too crispy before the cheese was melted. Very good with the pan juices drizzled on top of the final product as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent stew! Family loves it. The only changes I make, subsitute 2 cups of chicken broth in place of beer, and add 2 more cans of different kinds of beans (kidney and navy beans in addition to the black beans and chili beans). One hour before serving add 1 cup of fresh chopped cilantro and let it simmer in the stew before serving. This is KEY to finishing it off!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjennings1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is good but needs more 'kick' so it is not too rich or too bland. I added two cups of fresh spinach while sauteeing the onion. When mixing all the ingrediants, threw in a half cup of walnuts, to give it some texture and crunch so its not too mushy. It was really good, almost like hot chicken salad in a pastry puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjennings1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These cupcakes were as good as described. I couldn't get the crystallized ginger at the store I was in so I didn't use it.....no problem. I didn't frost because so many people said they were great unfrosted and who needs the extra calories. They were great. Took them to a Halloween party. Will make them for Thanksgiving. Definitely *****. They took way more than 20 minutes to bake though.....more like 30-35.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Tastes like roux :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lee Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Extremely simple and foolproof. This was the only thing at my stepsister's baby shower to not have leftovers. I suspect that brown sugar would go just as well as the grape jelly (if you don't have grape jelly on hand) since it's there primarily for sweetness. People really liked this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Tomato Bacon Grilled Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
A very hearty twist on plain grilled cheeses. Made mine on the Foreman grill and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Firecracker Crackers

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I had some of these at a party for my stepmother and they deserve their strong reputation. The crackers won't get soggy whatsoever (it's witchcraft), but they're intensely flavorful and have a bit of a kick to them, which is of course adjustable. Two things: the ranch dressing is full of sodium, so opt for reduced or zero sodium crackers. Two, they can be a bit greasy to handle, so if you're serving them by themselves, you might want to have tongs and plenty of napkins beside them so nobody gets greasy ranch hands (ha! I said ranch hands!). Oyster crackers would be a better choice for soups. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Cookies 'n' Creme Fudge

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was quick and easy, but as my husband noted, it wasn't exceptional and it wasn't horrible. To be perfectly honest, I thought it was just plain gross. Since the only real ingredients (besides cookies) were white chocolate and sweetened condensed milk, that was all you could taste. This is also obviously not a true fudge, which I knew going into it and I didn't take away any points for, but it's worth noting. It was just too sweet and the flavor wasn't anything special. It needs more salt to offset the syrupy concentrated sugar in condensed milk. I will not be making this again and it will probably end up getting tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Me gusta! Great flavor and a snap to prepare. I preferred to sear my tomatoes a little bit longer, but this was excellent and made use of the abundance of cherry tomatoes from my dad's garden. This is a beautiful side dish as a bonus....it will liven up any dinner presentation! We will surely be making this again. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Not a fan. Should have went with my gut, but with all the good reviews I figured I would give it a shot. If you're into more complex flavors, don't even bother. Two stars only because it was easy. I hate leaving bad reviews, but we will not be making this again; sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
**WOW!** This was just what I was looking for yet far exceeded my expectations. Totally divine! I didn't measure a thing since I had 16 ounces of corn, but I used everything the recipe called for except I used whole buttermilk in place of regular milk. I brought it to a boil instead of medium heat because my cream portion was a little thinner than I'd like at first. This recipe doesn't need a single thing added. I served it with parmesan-breaded tilapia and English peas. My veggie-snubbing husband had seconds, and that's a guy who will spend 15 minutes picking every shred of vegetable from his food. Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Maple Glazed Chicken with Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
We really liked this. I must admit that I changed the recipe a decent amount to personal taste. I am not overly fond of Montreal Steak Seasoning, so I was looking for a replacement in the spice aisle and came across a mesquite maple seasoning by the same company and used that instead. I added a little garlic powder and a pinch of red pepper. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added about 2 tablespoons each of butter and brown sugar to my sweet potatoes, which I cooked in salted water. The glaze was excellent and all the flavors came together so perfectly. I think next time, I will use caramelized vidalia onion bits in place of the green onion and add a sprinkle of parsley for the color aspect and see how that turns out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
As written, four stars. Has a lot of potential. My husband says he would give it a three. It was kind of blah and flavorless. I recommend pre-baking for longer than called for, adding LOTS of garlic powder for flavor, adding a touch more honey and a pinch more salt, and mixing in a few swirls of olive oil (and brushing top layer) for crispiness. I will use this recipe again sometimes because it takes significantly less time than my standard recipe, but it could use a little help. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was good. Definitely too much butter and that's coming from someone who's trying to gain weight....it just separated from being too oily....but other than that, it was a good meal. It's basically a jazzed up honey mustard chicken, but I like the flavor curry lends and that the sauce forms more of a glaze. It was perfect served with white corn on the cob and broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShawnsChef

Quick and Simple Broccoli and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was really good to be so simple! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Although I prefer a true cheese sauce, I won't hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States