Alpharetta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach Cheese Manicotti

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Wonderful vegetarian dish. No changes needed. Freezes well. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Honey Mustard Chicken with Pretzel Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So good! I thought this would be best just for a casual weeknight dinner, but imagine my surprise when I discovered that this is a dish fit to serve to company! The only possible downside to note is that the pretzel breading is best when served fresh out of the oven. If allowed to sit, it tends to soften and lose its crunch. If you know you'll have leftovers, reserve the honey mustard sauce from the last step and don't put it on the chicken until you're reheating. I would recommend reheating in the oven at about 325 for 10 minutes, which should help restore some crispiness to the breading after being stored in a humid refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Gingered Carrot Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Oh my. I had this saved in my recipe box for the longest and looked forward to making it, but even still, this soup far exceeded my expectations. WOW! This is amazing. I will be making this again and again. My little brain cannot comprehend how these few ingredients combine into something so special. I followed the recipe but only had dried powdered ginger....I cannot wait to try this with fresh ginger! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These were definitely good, and I will make them again, but the meatballs need more seasonings and some salt wouldn't hurt, either. The sauce was good and was perfect over rice, but something was missing. Maybe adding a little ketchup next time might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Chicken Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Well, first and foremost, whoever said this recipe would take an hour and 45 minutes to complete is full of bull honkey. I consider myself a pretty efficient cook, but because I relied on the 'Ready In' time, my husband went to bed without dinner after a 14 hour work day. I'm not too happy about that. As far as the quality of the dish, I am pleased. This is a very hearty, thick chicken stew and the homemade dumplings are a nice touch, albeit a little bland. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of using chicken broth instead of water to simmer my chicken in, and I heaped the basil and thyme. I did not use potatoes due to personal preference....seems weird to have potatoes and dumplings together, especially since they look similar too. After I boiled my chicken, I used two forks to shred the meat, like you'd do with pulled pork, and I found this to be easier than trying to dice it all. This recipe would benefit from the addition of ground white pepper, but I couldn't find mine. For presentation, add a slice of steamed lemon and a criss-crossed sprig of fresh rosemary. I will make this again on a cold day, but if and only if I have some serious time to spare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Coconut Ambrosia Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Awesome. Didn't bother measuring, just eyed everything up to the appropriate amount. Can't go wrong. Only thing this salad needs is some chopped glazed pecans for crunch. Feels like it's lacking something without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Genius! Why haven't I thought of this? No peeling potatoes and you get some added flavor, texture and additional nutrients from the veggies....AND the recipe makes more leftovers! This is a virtually zero-effort recipes (unless, of course, you're like me and can't find your potato masher at your new house and have to mash everything with a spoon. Yeah, that totally happened.) This recipe is so versatile - I used frozen peas and carrots and added milk and sour cream. I left out the jalapenos so my 1 year old could enjoy some too, and enjoy she did....I couldn't reload the spoon fast enough! THANK YOU for sharing, we'll be making this regularly without a doubt. Goes great with salisbury steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was good! We just bought a house and the previous owners took the bake rack in the oven with them (??)....odd....soooo that leaves me trying to make dinner using only the stovetop until we can find a replacement. This did not disappoint. Only changes I made was to increase everything by a hair because I had 2.25 pounds of lean ground beef. I would not change anything about this recipe in the future, and I will certainly be making it again. Very good for a budget-friendly quick meal. I served it with "cowboy mashed potatoes" from this site. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We were making burritos tonight, and I had my husband run into the store to grab the ingredients. The national-name tortillas he ended up buying contained a full gram of trans fat per tortilla - and if you're going to eat more than one, like I was - you'll end up consuming several grams of trans fat. Not cool! So, I ended up searching AllRecipes and made this recipe, though I scaled down the recipe to just 4 servings. (Undaunted, he ate the other ones.) Since this was a 'tortilla emergency,' I was forced to substitute butter for the lard (which I wouldn't use anyway, even if it tastes best). I had to add just a touch more water to mix my dough, but the tortillas came out well....pliable yet crisp. By themselves, they weren't particularly flavorful, but with toppings they were great. It only took me probably 15-20 minutes from start to finish since I was only making four. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Flavor was good, but I agree with others....the sauce was just too thin despite my efforts to correct it. It did thicken after being removed from heat, of course, but it still wasn't to my liking. Once the leftovers were in the fridge, the sauce was about as thick as I'd like it to be, but then you have to reheat it obviously. Four stars for flavor, but I won't be making this particular recipe again probably. It'd be really good if the sauce wasn't so thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very yummy marinade. Added just a pinch of powdered ginger. Will make again; thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

State Fair Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is soooooooooooooo good! I will never eat bagged kettle corn again! This is so amazing while hot and has a crispy outer shell...the only thing I'd do next time around is add a little more sugar. Be extremely careful with the hot oil, of course....I wouldn't let children help with making this. 5 *****!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Plantation-Style Vanilla Lemonade

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made this to go with dinner (whole roasted chicken and sage red potatoes / carrots / green beans / onion)...went perfectly with the meal. Just enough vanilla flavor but recognizable as a lemonade. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I had only one chicken and not a lot of time. (Or at least not the 5-6 hours the recipe specifies.) I upped the temperature to 375 and roasted the chicken uncovered for about an hour and 45 minutes. It came out very juicy and tender - not dry at all. Perfectly cooked. Roasted chicken made at home is very economical and budget-friendly, so I will be including this recipe with our others for roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Why oh why isn't there a 10 star rating option? These will knock your socks off even without the frosting. So fudgy and moist and everything a great brownie should be. Perfection! Only thing I'll do differently next time is pour the batter into larger pans so they're not quite as thick (and thus reduce the baking temperature and time). Sprinkling in some miniature milk chocolate chips wouldn't be a bad idea either, they'll just need to be cut into smaller squares from being rich but that just means the batch will go further if you're serving them at a party or as gifts. Thanks for the recipe. My life is now complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I added an egg for additional moistness and I think the cookies would have been too dry without it, because they still weren't as moist and chewy as I was hoping. Next time, I might use oil instead of butter. The cookies themselves were not very sweet at all, so I would not recommend omitting the frosting. I piped my frosting AFTER baking and added more cherry juice, which still wasn't quite as cherry-y as I would prefer. Since these were going to have to travel in a container with other baked goods, I added a few tablespoons of powdered sugar to my frosting mix to make it thicker. Just make sure the frosting is mixed totally smooth and lump-free prior to piping. Will make again, but I'll be making more tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Roasted Winter Squash Seeds

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had some organic acorn squash seeds leftover from preparing my 10 month old daughter's baby food. Decided to roast the seeds rather than toss them and they were very good. I bet you could experiment with a variety of seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, parmesan cheese, popcorn seasoning, brown sugar or honey) for different tastes; plain with olive oil is perfect to me, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Cajun Catfish Supreme

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Baked Ziti with Sausage

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I didn't like the ricotta mixed in with everything. Think I would prefer it as a layer. I even used whole milk ricotta and I still found the final product gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was an awesome Meatloaf! I'm by no means a meatloaf fan and wanted to do something with ground meat I had left over. I've read the reviews and don't understand how everyone is using 1 to 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar. The recipe only calls for 2 TABLESPOONS of brown sugar. I didn't have any so I substitued Pancake Syrup as another reviewer did and it was awesome! We had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States