Alpharetta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I hope this is good--I didn't use instant rice, and it is taking ALOT longer to get the rice tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
With the exception of adding carrots, onions and celery, I followed the recipe as written. My 5 year old said that this soup is better than mac n cheese. Enough said. I will add that I do agree with some reviewers - the soup is very rich. I think next time I will try using half and half instead of heavy cream. Although my husband and 5 yr old daughter absolutely loved as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaDre

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Can't wait to try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaDre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Fried Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe because it didn't taste like I made it from a box. I used a pkg. of cooked bacon, and stir-fried the scallion pieces before the egg, but otherwise stayed true to the recipe and it was fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe, even using St. Louis spare ribs that I bought for less than $10. I added applewood seasoning as a rub, a hearty splash of apple cider vinegar, honey, minced fresh garlic, and some extra tenderizing Worcestershire sauce. Off the chain! The meat was very flavorful and so tender it was falling apart. I'll definitely be using this cooking method as a base to make ribs more often. Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was really good. I added cinnamon and used half brown sugar. You could also substitute diluted apple juice for the cold water for a little more flavor. I used half blackberries, half diced fresh peaches and put it all straight into the oven (just baked it for a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is wonderful by itself, but can be turned into a very filling main dish by serving it on top of or mixed into a plate of whole wheat angel hair pasta with vodka sauce. Alfredo would be good also. Serve with a crusty toasted bread lightly brushed with olive oil and it's a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Tomato Bisque III

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I used a whole 6 ounce can of tomato paste and a little more cream, but this was divine! I served this with cheesy bread (a baguette halved and cut into 4ths with butter, garlic powder, and shredded mozzarella in the oven at 425 degrees until browned and bubbly), which would also make good cheese croutons for this soup if you cut it into bite-sized squares. As an FYI, the Muir Glen brand of organic canned fire-roasted tomatoes does not contain BPA in the lining as many other brands do. The acidity of tomatoes causes the thin plastic lining they use in cans to leach BPA, making it one of the strongest sources of leached BPA in foods. So it's good to buy Muir Glen if you can find it, especially if you have little ones at home like I do. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Economical, healthy, and tasty. Oh, and so quick / easy! I upped the white wine to about half a cup, added a liberal amount of lemon juice, and some powdered onion. Simple and good. I think next time, I'll grate a little lemon peel into the wine reduction to give it more of a standout lemony flavor. (I love lemon in seafood.) Served with garlic bread and the rest of the wine I bought for the recipe. It'd be a shame to let it go to waste. ;) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I have been eating this soup for lunch and dinner about a week and have lost three pounds already! I only need to lose 20 pounds. so this is a great start! I had tried a similar soup back in the 80's, but this one actually tastes much better! If you are the only one eating this, I would recommend halving the ingredients because it makes a HUGE pot otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Perfection! I followed the recipe exactly except for eyeballing the black pepper and onion. I also didn't use 1/3 cup of sugar....I did about 3 heaping tablespoons of sugar instead (1/3 cup is about 5 heaping tablespoons, so I cut it by a little less than half). I let it sit several hours in the fridge while I made my honey barbecue shredded pork for sandwiches in the slow cooker, then I had this and baked potatoes for the side dish. It made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Cordon Bleu Chicken Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe except this sauce. You can't make such a great dish and then top it off with canned soup! It is like putting ketchup on a porterhouse steak. Impossible to get away from cream soup glob and sour cream. Search another recipe for a better sauce. One that at least you can pour. Basic cordon bleu is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fresh carrots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chele's Halibut

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Awesome! Will make again. P.S., One reviewer said there was no point in using dried dill? You could definitely taste it. In fact, it was a definining flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome. I was so excited when it turned out so good. Olive oil flavor comes out so clear. Will try it with different variations. I am sure I will never BUY a mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
So funny. I was reading the reviews and how people change this recipe. I've been using it for years and it is THE BEST! I made it last night for a party and everyone was raving. The only change I make is adding a tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and tsp of vanilla to the apples (which also keeps the apples from changing color at all while preparing the caramel and the lattice crust) and I don't slice the apples, I pare them since I like smaller, random pieces of apple. I still pour the caramel VERY SLOWLY over the lattice crust, concentrating on getting it in the holes of the lattice, and I cook it for the full hour, covering the edges for 15 minutes during the baking if the edges are getting a little too brown. I've never met anyone who doesn't love this apple pie (and I never liked apple pie until this one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Like many other reviews have noted, i needed about an extra 1/3 to 1/2 cup flour. I did use bread flour and had good results. I would use this recipe again, made a nice, tender crust, not too thick or thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wallaby-Darned

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Fantastic! I followed other recommendations and used the apricot nectar (b/c the store I was in didn't have the peach nectar) and I used rum b/c I am not a vodka fan. It was delicious and everyone I served it to loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
there is a much simpler and better way to do this. I shot of frozen limeade, thawed; 1 shot of tequila and 1 beer. Make sure to mix the limeade before measuring out the shot & it's the perfect beer margarita. Foster's beer makes the best one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Excellent. Added merlot to the reduction. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States