Albany, Georgia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great wings, I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe would be five stars but as many reviewers noted it needs much more seasoning. Even after I took others advice and added more seasoning it still needed more. I will make this again but will season more aggresively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe would be five stars but as many reviewers noted it needs much more seasoning. Even after I took others advice and added more seasoning it still needed more. I will make this again but will season more aggresively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Its nice to see a true southern cobbler.Its simple and easy. This is the way grandma made it..Be careful not to go too heavy on the canned peach syrup or it will be too gooey.I usually double the recipe for a 13x9 glass dish.But I only use the syrup from one can of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
There is no need for baking powder when using self rising flour.This causes the cobbler to be too cake like. Peach cobbler should have a slight outer crunch.Come down south to Georgia,and we will show you how its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cup Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Thank you for the ideas! I used your recipe as a basis for my own likes and regular substituation. I couldn't stop eating the batter UGH! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowKeyYogi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Did not have any A-1 so I used John Boy and Billy's sweet and mild grilling sauce and it was spectacular. In fact it was so good I cut a section off of it and took it to my German mother and sister...They loved it. And let me tell you, they are very tough critics. On a last note the meatloaf sandwiches were out of this world!!...:) Really great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Bass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made this the other day, and it turned out pretty good! I used 1 can Cream of Chicken and Mushroom, and 1 can Cream of Celery. (and 1 can of water, my chicken broth was past date ) I sprinkled a little garlic salt and pepper over the chicken (not fully defrosted) before adding the rest, and cooked on low for about 7 hours. My husband added the biscuits while I was still at work, and thought a whole can was too much. I wasn't around to judge, but let me tell you 1/2 a can of biscuits was certainly NOT enough. I would use at least 1, maybe 2. Throw them in about 1 - 1.5 hours before serving It could definitely use some peas or other veggies, though the celery in the cream of celery was pretty tasty ( and I hate celery) I will definitely make again with additional veggies! :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Pan-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I was worried that the flour and onion mix wouldn't be enough flavor, and that it wouldn't stick to my chops, so i tweaked this recipe by doing the following: Pat the porkchops dry with paper towel rub each side with clove of garlic cut in half sprinkle each side with salt/pepper and rub in drag through the flour/soup mix mixture and fry as directed I should also mention I used veg oil instead of Olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Marsala

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Outstanding Recipe.... The only thing I will do different is having the center cut chops custom cut 1/4 inch thick so they get super thin when pounded out. This is a great entree for a romantic candlelight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Bass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Pumpkin Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was an absolutely perfect base to my first sweet bread. Because I am a more health-conscious cook and baker, I chose to alter the recipe just slightly to give myself less guilt for eating thirds. SECONDS. I meant seconds ;-) In lieu of the cranberry sauce, I chose 1/3 c dried cranberries (prepackaged) put into a small glass dish, adding 1/4 c very hot (almost boiling) simple syrup (1 part water, 1 part sugar), gently pressing cranberries into the bottom of the dish to keep them saturated and allow them to sit for 75 min. I altered the flour to 1/2 c + 2 Tbsp All-purpose flour and 1/2 c Quinoa flour. I lessened the salt to 1/2 tsp. Spices: 6 cloves, ground (my age 6 daughter likes to pound them in the mortar and pestel); 1/2 tsp cinnamon; pinch of ground nutmeg (the Quinoa already has a nutty flavor so omit if you choose); pinch of ground ginger. I also use 2 bananas (or 1 1/2 if they are fairly large). This bread tasted better each day that it sat. I don't know the rule but I leave it out for a few days in it's tin, covered w/plastic wrap. Delish. Thanks so much, Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowKeyYogi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Came out perfect! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Poppers I

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Instead of using corn flakes..I use potato flakes(instant mashed potatoes).Most companies that produce jalapeno poppers use this for the outside crust..try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rob's Hot Ham and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is just the best sandwich ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobsKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sylvester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trebant

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OMG this is my first time making chili and chose to go with this recipe because I was on a very tight budget and I wanted something that would be easy,filling,and quick to prepare. Well by far this was sooooo good and meet my family expectations. I used pinto beans and kidney beans also added a little texas pete hot sauce and a few sprinkles of sugar to take away some of the tomato paste. Followed up with buttered yellow corn muffins. Great chili thanks big time for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trebant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Hamburger

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My family loves this recipe. I followed the recipe and added 1 tbsp of liquid smoke, and a clove of fresh minced garlic. My husband asked for it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everapeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oakwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Being from the south, This is a great basic recipe for country gravy...or what we have always called milk gravy..and sure, you can alter with bacon drippings or sausage..but sometimes simple is better!Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good flavor, very simple. I cooked mine over charcoal and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekbot5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everapeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oakwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Grilled Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I added a tbsp of horseradish sauce and 1 tbsp of Frank's original hot sauce to the recipe. The combination of the flavors were surprisingly flavorful and delicious. My family loved it. It had just enough zing for my taste not the regular boring burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everapeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oakwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 86) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States